We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glyn Isa Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The reviews are true,this family run house is a great place to stay,great hosts,a fantastic location and nice breakfast..
We stayed for 4 nights recently as we wanted to visit North Wales.
Our room had a four poster bed and was clean and airy,breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for Elizabeth.If we go back to North Wales Glyn Isa will be the place we go back to.
Riley the family pet is also great..I spent a happy 20 mins or so throwing his frisbee for him.. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ridgebacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Glyn Isa Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Glyn Isa is in a beautiful setting and is a charming house. However any great expectations we harboured were soon spoiled by the standard of cleanliness .Obviously the bedding had not been changed from the previous occupants as this was brought to our attention by the presence of a sock in the bed, following this stains on the sheets were also noted.
Unlike a previous reviewer we did bring this to the attention of the owner........ however the fact was denied with some hostility
for £90.00 a night clean laundered sheets should be the least one should expect and if such standards cannot be maintained then they should not be in the B & B business

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank disgusted34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Glyn Isa House is a lovely 17th century country house near Conwy, Wales. The rooms are spacious and lovely, the breakfast is wonderful and it's very convenient to lots of castles and attractions. Elizabeth is friendly, helpful and a wonderful hostess. It was a fantastic week-end.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcole111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thank you to Elizabeth and Darren at Glyn Isa Country House in Rowen.
We had booked a last minute breakaway (Friday and Saturday) and stayed in The Captain's Room which was absolutely gorgeous and situated in the front of the property overlooking the gardens.
Everything about our stay was idyllic. The house was very tastefully decorated and we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was very nice and thankfully very hot (nice warmed plates) and my husband thought a poached egg to perfection.
Only regret was to leave so soon, hopefully to return for another treat.
The local at The Ty Gwyn on a Friday night (Welsh singing) was brilliant and made to feel welcome and lovely food.
Definately recommend a stay.

Room Tip: The Captain's Room is a must
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debchall4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from another short break at Glyn Isa. As usual we received a very warm welcome from Elizabeth and shown to our room.This time we stayed in The Captains room which is at the front of the house overlooking the beautiful garden. The room had a magnificent four poster bed and a sofa which was great for relaxing on after a day out.Breakfast was freshly made to order and a perfect start for the day ahead. Please stay at this Country House, you will never be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Captains room is at the front of the house and is beautifully furnished.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We enjoyed a three nights break at this lovely place, and we enjoyed every moment of our stay.
One morning Elizabeth kindly arranged for us to have breakfast earlier on the day, as we had made previous arrangements to travel on "The Welsh Highland Railway", and that was a great help, because of the timing and the mileage involved that day.
The house is very nice indeed, and is in a good location. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable, and a lot of thought had gone into the decor generally. Our breakfasts were enjoyable, and kept us going until a meal later on in the day. Elizabeth is a charming hostess, but unfortunately we did not get to meet her husband Darren. And Riley who is the family dog is delightful.(Hopefully we will have a return visit sometime).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wonderful couple,(Elizabeth and Darren) very welcoming, seems like nothing is to much trouble for them .Darren even made up a log fire in the sitting room on the two nights we stayed. The house is beautiful . Riley can come home with us any time,.We will be booking again. Thank you for a nice weekend.

Room Tip: we stayed in the captains room but I would think any of the rooms would be nice
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
0.5 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
3.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,631 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coed Mawr Hall Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn Isa Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn Isa Country House

Address: Rowen | Conwy, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House dates back to 1626 and is set in 10 acres of gardens and land at the foothills of the Conwy mountains just over 3 miles from the medieval walled town of Conwy in Snowdonia National Park. This is our own home and we personally offer our guests graceful accommodation and hearty Welsh breakfast accompanied by a very warm welcome. We are well positioned so that you can take advantage of all this magnificent area has to offer. All our rooms have an en suite bathroom, king size double beds, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, free to air satellite channels, complimentary toiletries, iron and hairdryer. We have a lovely guest lounge and although we are not licensed, you may take your drinks in there and sit by a roaring log fire after a long day's sightseeing. Sorry, no children or pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glyn Isa Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn Isa Country House Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing