We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, good food and a comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tir y Coed Country House
Ranked #2 of 5 Rowen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the 'Rowen suite' for a long weekend. This suite is a reasonably large room with a good superking sized bed,a sofa and an entrance lobby that also serves as a wardrobe/ dressing area with a super large mirror and opulent lighting, very attractive. The picture windows from this room to the suberb rear garden and the hills beyond are really lovely (you can enjoy the view from your bed!). The bathroom however did not really reflect the experience of the rest of the house. We thought the shower cubicle very small (even for those slimmer than us, it was tiny and cramped) and we did mention it to the owners. The shower had black mould on the sealant and the shower caddy was broken, hanging off a part of another broken fixture (also mentioned but not fixed during our stay). We hope that this is sorted out as it detracted from an otherwise excellent experience.

Ian and Allan are great hosts. The food and wine list is excellent, local produce is used and you can look forward to a really tasty, varied and fresh breakfast in the morning. Rowen is a pretty village and Tir Y Coed is a charming and beautifully kept house.

Room Tip: Rowen Suite has plenty of room in the bedroom but a small shower cubicle. Good views and big comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeanandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We can highly recommend this boutique style country house hotel as being a perfect venue for a celebration. The accommodation throughout was beautifully maintained, the furnishing and decor professionally accomplished and the attention shown from start to finish by the two owners absolutely top notch.

The food was beautifully prepared and served which included a really delicious breakfast each morning.

The hotel is set in its own, well maintained, grounds and is convenient for places such as Conway and Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens and much more.The hotel would also be lovely for any length of stay..

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely in individual ways. We should know as we took them all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soapyarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We enjoyed a couple of nights stay this past summer in the lovely Tir y Coed house, with two rooms for our family of four. Overall had a great experience, although it is the kind of property that was more reminiscent of "old UK" tourism for us than the newer, more modern experience we were seeing.

Rooms were nicely appointed but a little cramped, and you had to be careful going down stairs into the bathroom, moving around, etc. The shower holder in the room my wife and I shared was so incredibly, ludicrously high we couldn't believe it; I'm 6 foot 2 inches, and could barely reach it! Apparently there are a lot of Scandanavians staying there, but they must all be 7 footers...

Breakfasts were very nice and the one dinner we had was good, although not particularly memorable. The owners were very helpful and friendly, and the location of property was perfect for us for trips to a lot of great sights in the area. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Tir Y Coed and would highly recommend this place. From the warm welcome, to the great local recommendations, comfortable yet luxurious surroundings not to mention delicious food and drink. We cannot thank Ian and Alan enough for a wonderful wonderful stay we will certainly return and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Alan and Ian are wonderfully gracious hosts, who pay close attention to every detail and make your stay feel personal and warm. The food and service are very good; cocktail hour adds a nice touch and is fun to just relax and chat with Alan. The dinner offered is very good, worth the price, and served in a lovely and intimate dining room. The room is nice, good size, and well equipped; but is not nearly as luxurious in its furnishings as the rest of the house. The tiny shower is a drawback; my wife took baths. The bed is comfortable and there is no noise heard from the other bedrooms. Breakfasts are great and serviced with friendly conversation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This country house hotel owned by Ian and Alan is a most delightful place to stay for a few days. Full of antiques, tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable, the attention provided by the owners is second to none.

The food could hardly be bettered, from as lavish a breakfast as one might wish to a truly excellent dinner menu with superbly cooked food by Ian. Considering the menu and the quality of the food, the cost is very reasonable.

Alan is the front-of-house man and the maitre-d and a most delightful chap, always happy to have a chat.

A well-stocked bar where drinks can be enjoyed either in a comfortable lounge or on an attractive terrace. The grounds are like an arboretum and worth a stroll around.

We cannot credit that any guests could fault it and would certainly return if we were ever again in North Wales.

Peter & Pauline

Room Tip: Ground floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 625839PeterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

we had a lovely short break of three nights at tir y coed country house in sept '13. Alan and Ian were wonderfully welcoming hosts with outstanding customer service skills. our room, like the rest of the house, was very comfortable, beautifully decorated and clean. the breakfast and the dinner were of excellent quality. we would certainly like to stay there again, and highly recommend it to anybody thinking of staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KTR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
10.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
10.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
9.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,720 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir y Coed Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir y Coed Country House

Address: Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range: £131 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tir y Coed Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir y Coed is a boutique B&B and the house is a haven of peace and tranquility, ideal for a romantic break or a family get-together. Surrounded by an acre of mature landscaped gardens on the edge of Rowen, one of the Conwy valley's most delightful villages and just within the boundary of the Snowdonia National Park. Most bedrooms have views over the gardens and vary in size and style as would be expected in a period house. Each room has either an en suite bath or shower room a T.V. super-fast broadband (but no mobile signal, as we have mountains everywhere) as well as all the other stuff you'd expect to enable you to make yourself at home. Think fluffy white towels, feather and down duvets, proper coffee and big comfy beds. It is possible to dine in the evening by prior arrangement and we will be happy to discuss food options and preferences with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tir y Coed Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir y Coed Country House Hotel Rowen
Tir y Coed Country Hotel
Tir y Coed Country House Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing