We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of Class !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tir y Coed Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A touch of Class !”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night weekend stay here in Feb and it was fantastic from start to finish. We were upgraded to the stylish and very comfortable Rowen Suite which was like a Hip Miami hotel room in this beautifully styled house in the Conway Valley. We eat there both nights and the food was excellent. The hosts Ian and Alan were warm hospitable and great fun. Can't wait to go back !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
180
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife Sharon and I stayed for two nights. The place exudes quality - in the service, the house, the decor and the food. Alan and Ian were our hosts and very welcoming and attentive, super guys.
We like staying in small boutique hotels and this one is a little oasis in wild north Wales, I honestly cannot fault it but more than that, it is the sort of place that I look forward to returning to when I am next in the area.
Thank you again Ian and Alan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidredbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights a couple of weeks ago. This is a beautifully kept country house in a lovely and peaceful location. Alan and Ian are the most wonderful hosts and their attention to detail is second to none, setting the scene each evening with candles at the tables for dinner, to the presentation of the most wonderful food. We went hoping for some well earned rest and relaxation and as soon as you walk through the door that is exactly what you receive. Alan and Ian are the ultimate professionals and it shows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieinyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Northamptonshire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the 'Rowen suite' for a long weekend. This suite is a reasonably large room with a good superking sized bed,a sofa and an entrance lobby that also serves as a wardrobe/ dressing area with a super large mirror and opulent lighting, very attractive. The picture windows from this room to the suberb rear garden and the hills beyond are really lovely (you can enjoy the view from your bed!). The bathroom however did not really reflect the experience of the rest of the house. We thought the shower cubicle very small (even for those slimmer than us, it was tiny and cramped) and we did mention it to the owners. The shower had black mould on the sealant and the shower caddy was broken, hanging off a part of another broken fixture (also mentioned but not fixed during our stay). We hope that this is sorted out as it detracted from an otherwise excellent experience.

Ian and Allan are great hosts. The food and wine list is excellent, local produce is used and you can look forward to a really tasty, varied and fresh breakfast in the morning. Rowen is a pretty village and Tir Y Coed is a charming and beautifully kept house.

Room Tip: Rowen Suite has plenty of room in the bedroom but a small shower cubicle. Good views and big comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altrincham, cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We can highly recommend this boutique style country house hotel as being a perfect venue for a celebration. The accommodation throughout was beautifully maintained, the furnishing and decor professionally accomplished and the attention shown from start to finish by the two owners absolutely top notch.

The food was beautifully prepared and served which included a really delicious breakfast each morning.

The hotel is set in its own, well maintained, grounds and is convenient for places such as Conway and Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens and much more.The hotel would also be lovely for any length of stay..

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely in individual ways. We should know as we took them all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soapyarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We enjoyed a couple of nights stay this past summer in the lovely Tir y Coed house, with two rooms for our family of four. Overall had a great experience, although it is the kind of property that was more reminiscent of "old UK" tourism for us than the newer, more modern experience we were seeing.

Rooms were nicely appointed but a little cramped, and you had to be careful going down stairs into the bathroom, moving around, etc. The shower holder in the room my wife and I shared was so incredibly, ludicrously high we couldn't believe it; I'm 6 foot 2 inches, and could barely reach it! Apparently there are a lot of Scandanavians staying there, but they must all be 7 footers...

Breakfasts were very nice and the one dinner we had was good, although not particularly memorable. The owners were very helpful and friendly, and the location of property was perfect for us for trips to a lot of great sights in the area. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Tir Y Coed and would highly recommend this place. From the warm welcome, to the great local recommendations, comfortable yet luxurious surroundings not to mention delicious food and drink. We cannot thank Ian and Alan enough for a wonderful wonderful stay we will certainly return and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
10.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
9.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
728 reviews
10.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
677 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.3 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir y Coed Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir y Coed Country House

Property: Tir y Coed Country House
Address: Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tir y Coed Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir y Coed is a haven of peace and tranquility. Surrounded by an acre of mature landscaped gardens on the edge of Rowen, one of the Conwy valley's most delightful villages and just within the boundarys of the Snowdonia National Park. Most bedrooms have views over the gardens and vary in size and style as would be expected in a period house, Each room has either an en suite bath or shower room, T.V., refreshment tray and clock radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tir y Coed Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir y Coed Country House Hotel Rowen
Tir y Coed Country Hotel
Tir y Coed Country House Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing