We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First family camping trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights camping and had a fantastic time despite the really bad weather. The park is very well maintained and amenities where fantastic. Toilets, showers & the campers kitchen where spotless. It was so handy being able to pitch up beside the play area and know the children (age6/7)where safe and happy whilst the tent went up. The shop had all the daily essentials and plenty of treats too. The park was busy all day with children playing but it was amazing how quite everything went in the evening. Very happy with our stay and would most definitely return. Many thanks to all at Knockalla . Jo C

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated. So happy that you chose us for your first camping trip and despite the unfortunate weather you still enjoyed your time here. Hopefully on your return it will be much nicer weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Quite simply this caravan site and it's surrounding area are Heaven on Earth. I have been going here since 1996 - for a good reason. The site is exceptionally well maintained, there are never any issues with noise or such, the location is fantastic - the beach and location are absolutely awe inspiring. What more could you ask for other than a guarantee of sunny weather all year...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Seanie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of our site. We are delighted to hear that you have been returning to us for so many years, it is such a compliment. Yes if only we could guarantee the sunshine all year round!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over the July bank holiday weekend in our motorhome along with 2 other sets of friends also in motorhomes Despite some reservations from previous reviews about the grumpy owner who was supposedly rude to kids we found the site and it's staff nothing but excellent. We had 2 kids with us aged 6 and 9 who were free to run around the playground and even up to the site shop on various errands and there was never any bother. The site itself is extremely well run, very clean, great showers and nearly every pitch has great views. Despite not having great weather we had an excellent long weekend, lots to see in the local area, a beach to die for and a fantastic dinner at the golf club which I can highly recommend. We'll be back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank LulaG395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

So great to hear that the not so nice comments on here did not put you off coming to us and that you seen for yourself that they are the opinion of only a very few. We are thrilled you had such a nice time and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our 5th stay at this site , very we'll run site and the staff are friendly also very clean and tidy ,the wash room has had a make over with good hot showers. We hope to be back for the donegal rally next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Fantastic to hear that you have returned to us so many times. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at this site over the weekend of the Donegal rally. A really well run and spotlessly clean site with plenty for kids to do. Beautiful beach nearby and the stunning Knockalla mountain which overlooks the site is well worth a drive up to view the scenery. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Delighted you had such an enjoyable experience staying with us during the rally. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful spot, clean and well run caravan park. Colm does run a tight ship here. Most people would call it respect!!!!
Very family friendly and my son has aspergers and he adores it here. Nice touring pitches that never get too busy. FAB coastal cafe great wifi and views that have to be seen when having your treats from the homemade goodies. Play park grand and facilities nice and clean. Even horses and donkeys to feed not far away. Beach is fab and the walks or cycles to it are great. Lovely and quiet. Large sport field covered with net so as the balls don't get lost. Staff went out of their way to accomodate my both sons and us every day ;). Can't wait to book again for this summer holiday.

Room Tip: Book it before it books up
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review Tracy. It is our plesure to welcome your family back every time, hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had one night camping - first time with kids - they enjoyed the park which was beside where we pitched so they were happy while we setup!! Lovely little cafe on site - good full Irish fry!! Great facilities and just a short walk to the beach - views were outstanding!! We would hope to go back again soon - made very welcome!! Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jojolaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so delighted that you chose us to take your kids on their first camping experience and it was such a plesant one. Thank you and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsalon
7.7 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
395 reviews
8.8 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
273 reviews
11.4 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
470 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
395 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portsalon Luxury Camping
Portsalon Luxury Camping
#1 of 4 in Portsalon
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Magherawarden | Portsalon, Portsalon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Portsalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Portsalon
Also Known As:
Knockalla Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Portsalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing