We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Welcome Return”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful patio area for BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful patio area for BBQ
Peaceful setting sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Beautiful patio area for BBQ
Peaceful setting
sitting area
cosy turf fire for the chilly nights
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Harry Blaney Bridge 3 min from cottage linking Fanad & Rosguille penninsula.
View of Mulroy Bay from cottage
Fishing boats for hire 1 mile from cottage
Spectacular unspoilt and secluded beaches
Adventure one surf school nearby
Fanad lighthouse
Separate sitting room/ games room
3rd bedroom with full size bunk beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portsalon, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
David M
Kilkeel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Welcome Return”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is my second review of Tailor's Cottage (please scroll down for my previous one from December 2013 for details). I just want to reiterate how brilliant this little house is for anyone wanting a bit of peace and quiet, a roaring fire, and stunning views of the Donegal countryside. Kathleen is a wonderful and accommodating hostess and will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is great. We're already planning to return later this year.

Can't recommend it highly enough!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goddessCo...
county down ni
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Tailors cottage is in an idyllic setting, its so tranquil its the perfect place to forget the stresses and strains of life and relax in the beauty that surrounds you. Kathleen really thinks of everything needed to make you feel welcome and at home in this quaint charming cottage. from Croissants and home made jam to fresh flowers you really feel that a lot of thought has been put into planning for your arrival. I travelled with my Husband and Grandson and we all loved our stay here so much that we intend to return ASAP, also a really nice personal touch was the bag of freshly dug spuds left at the front door for us Thanks soooo much Michael & Kathleen c u soon.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne2520...
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ever”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage made it feel like home,everything you would need was there.Comfy beds log burning stove and lots of extras left in the fridge by Kathleen(the owner).A basket full of lovely fresh croissants and milk and butter in the fridge.Fresh flowers in the sittingroom and hallway gave such a welcome to the start of our stay.The weather was wonderful,it matched the wonderful cottage and 360degree views.We would recommend Tailors cottage to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eburns49
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the place to chill out”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Thank you Kathleen for your kindness on our welcome Kathleen had fire burning flowers on table the essentials in fridge we had a lovely peaceful week just what was needed we brought our dog with us he enjoyed the beaches and walks all in I would recommend this little cottage as a peaceful reteat Kathleen is a lovely lady also the wee farmer left us potatoes which we appreciated you won't be disappointed go and enjoy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cosy quiet place to relax.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Kathleen met us on arrival and even provided the tea, coffee and milk to get us started.
Beds were clean and comfortable.
We even had peat and wood to light a fire.
Would highly recommend Tailor Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth415
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage in an amazing part of Donegal!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A beautiful cottage - perfect for a few nights away.

All correspondence was excellent.

The lovely breakfast treats and 'ready to light' stove fire were a lovely welcome!

Would love to visit again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drtim_ben...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent facilities.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a weekend for a family birthday. The cottage was fantastic - a warm welcome from Kathleen with a well-stoked fire already burning. There were loads of great extra touches like having milk, tea, coffee and orange juice already in the kitchen, and even fresh flowers on the table. The location is excellent and a great base to take trips around the area. Our only regret was not staying for a week - we will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing