We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant quality food in a local Pub”
Review of Jug & Glass Inn

Jug & Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Lea
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Jug and Glass offers traditional food at reasonable prices.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant quality food in a local Pub”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A nice family atmosphere - with really fabulous steaks, one of the best I've ever had. Equal to some expensive restaurants. Too many chips, but some would like that. A very nice pub with nice people, good service & great food. Would recommend and re visit when in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality food delivered with great care!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a meal for eight family members celebrating the safe return of one of our member from service in Afghanistan. The service was superb, very attentive and nothing was too much. We must have driven them mad asking for more water every few minutes but if we did they never showed it! The food was of a good standard and all served piping hot and at the same time for a relatively large party was impressive. The wine list whilst not extensive had some good alternatives. Thank you, will definitely recommend to friends. One thing I did observe was the portions were sometimes too large, if it were my restaurant I'd watch those margins!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely country pub in a delightful village, recently undergone a refurbishment without spoiling the character & old world charm of this listed stone building. We opted to sit outside as it was warm & sunny, the hanging baskets & tubs where lovely. The steak pie was delicious tender pies of beef with melt in the mouth short crust pastry teamed with chips & mushy peas, my husband tucked into fish & chips which where equally as good, can't wait to return to try an evening meal & traditional Sunday lunch, the snacks look too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Contryside Pub and Beer”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A large group of friends and I (15 of us) visited this Pub at the weekend for some late afternoon drinks. Beer was exceptionally good. I myself kept to the Real Ale, sinking 5 pints of Mansfield over a couple of hours or so - excellent pint, free from sediment and reasonably priced. We also regularly ordered portions of chips that were amazing, consumed within a matter of seconds!

Nice outside area, seating with a friendly local atmosphere.

Would not give this one a miss.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SFCVDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much Improved after departure of previous landlords”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As noted by a recent reviewer "the old managers could just never be bothered and it showed" - which despite this being our "local" we had stopped visiting 4 or 5 years ago.

It is now being run by the owner (the previous managers were tenants) so we thought we'd give it a try and were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and warm welcome that we and our two dogs got. Sadly the restaurant was still being recovered so no food as yet.

We did ask about dogs before entering and can report that well behaved dogs and children are most welcome but with a few very reasonable rules ( eg not in the newly carpeted area or on the furniture).

We will definitely enjoy having a pleasant and welcoming local again after an absence of 5 years or so

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jug & Glass Inn also viewed

 

Been to Jug & Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing