We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jug & Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lea B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just had Sun lunch after a walk. The pork roast dinner was great value and few people will finish it. Plenty of meat, roast and mashed potato, Yorkshire pud and 5 different vegetables. Beer was pretty good too. Will definitely plan another walk around the pub.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    24
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have stayed here before, and enjoyed our stay so much we went back. A lovely cosy pub with a real log fire. We had a different room to our prior stay, (each room is individually furnished, making it very homely and not at all like a generic hotel room) it was still lovely and comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and so was our evening meal. A lovely local village pub atmosphere, with various games being played by visiting pub teams. Excellent!

Room Tip: Each room is individually furnished, so giving a homely atmosphere. Not at all like a generic hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My partner booked for my birthday,on the 10 november on arrival we greeted by a very pleasant landlord, who even though it was to early for the room and the pub was very, he straight away offered to show us to our room. We decided to have a drink and lunch first, the food and the service was top notch, the beer went down a treat. We were then shown to our room, which had a four poster bed. Everything was lovely and clean, very comfortable and cosy.Staff and locals were very friendly.We will definitely book again and recommend to our friends and family. Anyone who can find any faulds with this Inn are obviously not well travelled, because this is a 220 years old and will have some minor defects, which does not detract from the wonderful nights stay we had there.Many thanks to all the staff see you all soon.Mick Bignell and Lesley Davison

Room Tip: Loved the four poster bed and room, but we are going to try room 4 next time because looking from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleydavison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The pub is nice and cosy with open fires and good real ales. The evening meals we had were very nice as were the breakfasts. The room was quite comfortable although the bathroom could have been improved with a few tile repairs. Our main gripe was with the lack of service quality; we had to ask for loo rolls, tea bags and milk, none of which had been stocked into the room before we arrived. After we had been out for the day we came back to find the bed hadn't been made. Little touches that go a long way towards making a long awaited weekend away more memorable! Added to this the fact that everybody at breakfast had to ask the landlord for teaspoons(!) and when we settled our bill we weren't asked if we'd had a nice stay means that we wouldn't stay again or recommend it to our friends for anything other than a drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuthatch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Friendly staff, good pub grub but please, please offer something other than chips!!!! The bedroom offered no outlook other than a flat roof, but comfy beds and clean bedding. Sadly the very poor hygiene standards in the bathroom, dark hairs and grime on the floors, sink, toilet, bath ensure we won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jayh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a decent little pub for a meal and overnight stop but room 2 which we had is right over the kitchen and a very noisy extractor fan which went on all night. If you book here, try to get a room without this outlook!

Room Tip: see above and check before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
410 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We've eaten here a number of times over the years and have been reasonably satisfied with the food - nothing special but pub grub at moderate prices. So we ate here again on a busy Saturday night. We both ordered fish and chips; one standard portion and small portion. At a price of £9.50 for the large portion and £7.00 for the small portion we expected that the size of what we eventually got would bear some relation to the price we paid. Sadly not. The small portion was less than half the size of the larger one - my wife counted 4 medium sized chips and the fish was tiny. It got worse. I guess the chef had put the two portions in the frier for the same time so the small portion was cooked OK but the large one was quite cold inside.
No-one came to ask if the food was OK, the bar was crowded so we ate most of the food got up and left. The reason they get two stars instead of one is that they have a good choice of beer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
3.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.7 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug & Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug & Glass Inn

Property: The Jug & Glass Inn
Address: Main Road, Lea, Matlock DE4 5GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Lea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jug & Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country Inn, set in Derbyshire's white peak. Offering a range of real ales, and locally sourced food. The Jug and Glass Country Inn is an ideal base when visiting the peak district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jug & Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug & Glass Inn Lea, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing