We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a large Family Celebration of all...”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NDW79
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a large Family Celebration of all ages!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

20 of our family celebrated a 60th Birthday (week!) at Widcombe Grange and had a great time. The facilities are very good and the position is extremely convenient for both the North & South coasts of Somerset.
Peter & Beverley of The Big House Company were very helpful and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and the position
Liked least: wi-fi was a bit hit and miss
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
I'm so pleased you had a wonderful week and that you enjoyed everything that Widcombe Grange had to offer. Thank you for your kind comments about Beverley who works in our office, she is a treasure isn't she?

I'm sorry you found the wifi to be a bit hit and miss; because of it's very rural location the broadband isn't what we'd like it to be, but we are investigating other suppliers to see if there are improvements to be had.
With best wishes, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky975
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing House! Simply awesome”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Widcombe grange was fantastic, the house had everything that we needed and did not disappoint on wow factor when we arrived.
Despite the rain we found loads to do, from playing in the games room to trekking through the woods in our wellies! Rain or shine the swimming pool was lovely nice and warm and great to do a few lengths in! We will definitely be returning To the house and I would recommend anyone to book it to experience the big house and all it has to offer! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
The British weather can play havoc with your plans that's for sure, but I'm glad you found that Widcombe Grange had plenty to keep you amused! All of the entertainment in the games barn is a definate plus for those times. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location for large parties”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved Widcombe Grange - the best thing about it was the beautiful gardens with boat lake. It was perfect for a large crowd and it was lovely to have the archery come to us at the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Gardens
Liked least: Upholstery in sitting rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Activities at the houses, when possible, are a fun way to spend your time here, so I'm glad you enjoyed the archery and that you unleashed your Tom Sawyer in the boat on the lake! Thank you so much for booking with us. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArc201...
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved everything about this venue. Not only the breathtaking grounds, but also the owner, Peter Installation who made us feel exceptionally welcome. Widcombe Grange will be a great memory.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your review and your kind words about me!! We always hope that our guests feel right at home as soon as they arrive, so pleased you did. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wal...
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Big McStocker Weekend”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had the luck of the Irish when we found this place!
It had everything that we needed. As soon as we arrived and the big gates opened we knew it was going to be a great weekend.
There were 25 of us in total, spanning 4 generations. The oldest being 95 and the youngest being 1.
We didn't have to leave the grounds for anything. Food was delivered by Tesco at the time requested and then the laughter began.
We swam, went for a boat ride on the lake, walked through the fields, played rounder's, badminton, board games.
My mum had requested we do something as a family as she is unwell. I arranged it and it was everything she had hoped for.
Thank you to Peter and Beverly for making our weekend so fabulous. We would definitely recommend this to people and hope to go back again soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Widcombe Grange is a great house for family get-togethers like yours and it sounds like you had a marvellous time, which is what it's all about! Many groups like yours find that there is no reason to leave the grounds - your own little oasis! So pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous venue for a great event”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Widcombe Grange was a great venue for our extended family to celebrate our Golden wedding. The booking procedure and welcome at the property was very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the space and amenities which allowed a wide range of ages (1to 72) to enjoy a great weekend. The surrounding area offered places of interest and activities which meant different groups could appreciate time "off site" although the extensive grounds tempted us to stay put. We wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and amenities-pool, lake, games room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
I do agree. When you're somewhere, having a great time with friends and family it's hard to leave and your weekend is over before you know it! So glad you had a lovely celebration, do come and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn D
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for my 50th birthday celebration!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Widcombe Grange was the perfect mix of grandness whilst comfortable at the same time for the size of our party, 20 adults and 11 children, the kitchen was perfect for entertaining, it had all the equipment for catering for big parties, and the bbq. The bedroom layout and the number of bathrooms were perfect as it didn't feel that we were on top of each other. The kids loved it too with so many different garden areas for an egg hunt, the big swing and the heated pool. We were also lucky enough to have sunshine in April which meant we hardly left the house. Thank you so much for a great hand over and all your organisation.
Hopefully we will find another occasion to use the Big House Company again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience. Kids happy the grown ups happy!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it sounds like you enjoyed the house to the full. The pool, the lake and boat and the 22 acres make it a children's paradise, which really does mean that you barely have to leave the grounds. For the adults, there is all that, plus the coach house for games, the great kitchen and dining space for entertaining and plenty of room for chilling. We are so glad you had a great time. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing