We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, confortable and well located”
Review of Lazy Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Rong Samloem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good hotel with bungalows, maybe a bit pricy for the level of confort (similar to other improved guesthouses), but maybe you pay a bit for the remote location. Dining/entertainment area huge and so pleasant, with games and plenty of space for kids to run around, and for adults to find their hidden space. Dining was ok but nothing spectacular, although there was a good range of foods and drinks. Beach very long and beautiful, rough sea with great waves to play in for kids (under supervision). Missed a bit the blue and snorkling spot that can be found elsewhere in the region, but otherwise great place and so pleasant to stay with kids and/or with friends, or as a couple.

Room Tip: numbers go up with distance from main dining/entertainment area: if you need quitness or exercise, c...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pascal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Lazy Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We took the fast boat in the morning and by noon were swimming in the waves and making sand castles on the expansive and private beach. the hike from the boat dock in saracen bay is about a 20 minute (easy) hike to lazy beach. they arranged for staff to meet us at the dock to lead us back to the guesthouse. they had brought a hand tractor so were able to transport all our luggage back, making our walk hands free. kids got to jump on as well (all 9 of them) which made the hike that much more pleasant for everyone. the beach was beautiful although rougher than the saracen bay side but our kids age 5 to 10 all loved it. they have a great open restaurant/lounge and it was large enough and well designed that our 4 families could tuck into one side of it without worrying about disturbing other guests. they have a wide selection of games. food was delicious and generous portions. generator runs at night until about 1 am. a great extended weekend destination for families. definitely recommended!

Room Tip: we were 4 families who stayed two nights and we had identical rooms with 2 double beds in each. ours...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yvette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This place is incredible! If you suffer through the bumpy boat ride (at least it was like this for us) and walk about 20 minutes through the beautiful jungle with monkeys, you will be rewarded by a lonely beach and exceptional tranquillity. The bungalows are basic but very comfortable, the restaurant area is perfect to chill out and it is true that the food was one of the best we've had in Asia so far. Don't miss the walk to the sunset point, unforgettable! We will come back one day!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zuzana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lazy beach is an excellent resort. If you just want to lounge around all day and chill out, this place is perfect. We went in low season (June) so we had to get the speed ferry to the other side of the island. Then we did a 30 min walk through some really beautiful jungle to get to lazy beach. Watch where you are going, I was admiring all the nature around me and stubbed my toe on a root.

We were greeted by the staff when we got to the resort. They were all so nice and chatty! I have seriously never encountered any staff as nice as them anywhere before! In the main bar area there are loads of comfortable and swinging seats to lounge in.

The beach huts are fantastic. We stayed in number 18. It was really spacious with 2 huge double beds covered in really pretty mosquito nets that actually worked :) the bathroom was great too, (it had an old-school Asian toilet that you have to pour water into to flush).

Outside the beach hut we had a decked area with 2 hammocks and 2 chairs with a table. The hammocks were really, really nice. It was great lying there listening to the sounds of the ocean. There are lots of big geckos around the place, they are much bigger than the ones in Vietnam! But they are harmless and really colourful.

They have a huge menu, nice cocktails and a good wine selection too. Oh and there's phosphorous in the water too! You can borrow a snorkel mask and go swimming after dark. But be careful the sea was a bit choppy when we were there.

Room Tip: Number 18 was really nice but it was a bit of a walk to the main restaurant/ bar area. We did have a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinkiesfurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

To begin with, I wasn't carrying out high hopes for this beach at all. After all, when it comes to beaches, all we know is Fiji, Hawaii, Maldives, Thailand or the Bahamas. Cambodia? Never heard of it. A lot of people probably dont even know there are islands in this country, included me.

As we were at Sihanoukville and had one extra day to kill before leaving the country, we'd decided to give this island a try.

The initial boat ride was very bumpy due to high waves and strong winds, so I thought " Hey, how great the beach can be if the ocean condition is already sucky?!" I was thinking to myself its just another touristy trap during the ride, but soonly proofed my worries was completely unnecessary and wrong.

Can't remember how many times you went for a popular beach and got very disappointed? For expample: Crystal water? Overrated. Powdery white sand? You got yellow stone-ish beach, occasionally comes with stones, plastic bottle and seaweeds. Calm and shallow surface? You got unswimmable currents, strong waves or steep sea bed with huge crowds.

Well, this island is the only beach that exceeds my expectation by far.

You got everything you secretly wish for: crystal water allows you to see through the see bed, powdery white sand beach extends from the short to the ocean for about 100 meters, very calm and shallow water allow you to walk through and swim in. There is no one piece of garbage, no strange stones or algaes in the water - none, water is so shallow, broad and clean that you can literally stay in the whole day and feel very comfortable with.

The island is so simple, unspoiled, beautiful, authentic and quiet with only a few hotels around. When we arrived to the pier round about 10 am, there was hardly anyone out one the beach. Two of us were swimming and sun tanning about 2 hours, alone, like we owned the island. It was splendid!!!

Not sure how much longer can this island lay low and being unspoiled like the current day though. Go, before it's becoming too late!!! Period.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lazy beach is one of the most incredible places I have stayed. Its rare to find such an unspoilt beach, where the only sounds are the waves lapping the sea and jungle in the back drop. Paradise found!

Lazy beach is everything that you want to make it. You can come here for a really romantic getaway and enjoy peace and privacy. Or you can make it as social as you want through table tennis or drinks with other guests and the incredibly friendly staff who are so helpful and there to help you enjoy your stay.

Late night swimming is a must...as is a walk to the other side of the island to enjoy the forest and a trip at sunset up the hill to enjoy the views out to sea. Try as much as you can on the menu. The food is incredible. Choosing what to have is the difficulty!! I could have stayed a llt longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaelaLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here in may 2014, had a perfect bungalow near the beach. the beach is great , and not to many people and clean :) chris- gemma and ken did a great job , making you feel at home , the resturant serves good food, and a fine place to sit in the evenings. If you want more actions just walk aross to the other side of the island, its only about 20 mins walk.
A place to return too :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annemette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Rong Samloem
13.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
650 reviews
13.5 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 3 in Koh Rong
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sweet Dreams Samloem
Sweet Dreams Samloem
#1 of 20 in Koh Rong Samloem
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Beach Island Resort & Beach Club
The Beach Island Resort & Beach ...
#2 of 2 in Koh Rong Samloem
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
The One Resort
The One Resort
#2 of 43 in Koh Rong Samloem
241 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Koh Rong
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Beach

Address: West Side of Island, Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong Samloem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Koh Rong Samloem
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy Beach Hotel Koh Rong Samloem
Lazy Beach Hotel Cambodia
Lazy Beach Cambodia/Koh Rong Samloem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing