We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Rong Samloem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Didn't actually stay here but walked over from Saracen Bay for a day. Beautiful, secluded spot with crystal clear water and no rubbish on the beach. Great restaurant with beautiful view over the bay, would love to go back and stay for a few days

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecallaw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    105
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
75
300
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here two nights (would have stayed longer, but they don't have TV and we had to get back to the mainland to watch the final of the World Cup). I can see how one could just stay...and stay...and stay... This beach place reminds one of why the simple things in life are the best - a quiet beach, some lovely trees, a simple and rustic thatched bungalow with the basics, a little deck with a hammock, super super relaxed vibe in the communal areas of the main hut (which is hands down THE best communal area I have ever come across in a hotel/resort/tourist accommodation). We loved the positive encouragement to do absolutely nothing but laze around. Small library of books to read, but something for everybody. I can't remember the name of the Thai curry that they have on the menu but ask for their recommendations and go with it - we ordered it for every meal - delish!!!!! I am torn, I want to recommend but then I don't want hordes of people going there and spoiling the place!

Room Tip: Bungalow 16 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristinahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

we spent 4 nights nights here and were sorry to leave. the beach is beautiful and it felt very private even though all the cabins were full at the time. we loved sitting on the beach or on our porch just relaxing. cabins are eco-friendly and no fuss (read: not fancy), but exactly what you need. and the food was fantastic! lazy beach was a perfect getaway spot!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 3sarah_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

As the title says the location was amazing and the scenery was beautiful. It was a very peaceful stay. However, more lights could be put in place for when walking around at night. Accommodation was basic but all we needed - two double beds and mozzie nets. Food was amazing and there was a lot of different foods to choose from at a good price. Overall a great stay, thank you!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Upsides. The location is stunning. It's a short private strip of white sand beach at walking distance from the bungalow rooms. Lazy is definitely the best adjective to describe this accommodation because this is a place where there's no much to do but idling about. In the big dining/relax/fun area you'll find tables, couches, chairs, hammocks and hanging beds and (providing you're not already having a snooze) you can spend time playing one of the many available board/card games or, if you feel like moving a little bit, volleyball and table tennis. The staff is very friendly and helpful and sometimes you can also engage them in playing with you.
Downsides. Food is not their best suit, we tried either local food and western one and in both cases we thought it was really blend especially considering that it's a bit pricey. If you plan to stay for a long time I recommend you to go to the other side of the island where food is much better. The bungalows are not the best in terms of comfort and cleanliness even more so if you consider that they don't make up your room. Also the rooms are very exposed to the local fauna, so if you are a bit squeamish this is not the right place for you because you might have to share your room with geckos, ants and other flying creatures. Last thing is the beach. Though the water was very clean compared to the other side of the island the actual beach was very dirty, full of debris of different sizes mostly local boats waste. To be fair i have to say that the 3 nights before there had been thunderstorms and really rough water so they might have not been able to clean by the time we got there.
Bottom line: For what you pay you get a good value back and the location is really unique. Don't choose this place if you expect standard comforts (air-con, wi-fi, shuttle service, electricity).

Room Tip: Don't think there's a good room you just have to adapt to a wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxl_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

when I am 90 in a nursing home, I will be plaguing everyone with 'the most beautiful beach that I have ever been at.....' This beach was PERFECT. The white sand, the water warmth, depth, clear, clean, .... the waves were fun to play in but not brutal. When the water was calm, snorkeling was great along the rock walls of the cove. Well worth the 20 minute walk to this part of the island.
Cabins were nice. Each had its own washroom, with shower. Heat was unbearable and we slept with the windows open, but there was a lock box, so its all good. The hammocks were great and if they had mosquito netting, I would have slept in them. They can be tied up at night so that they do not disturb your slumber when the sea breezes blow in.

The mosquito netting on the beds was really nicely done .... and the beds were king size, so lots of space for us (we were 3 people, 2 king size beds) Most convenient were the showers nozzles to get the sand off your feet before entering the cabin. Loved that little convenience.

The main restaurant/bar were nice, comfortable and the food was pretty good and had some variety. Staff were helpful and friendly.

.... but the beach.... after 10 pm we would go for a walk on the beach and you could see the bio-luminescent marine life...

Room Tip: the room was a wooden bungalow facing the beach on the first row (there is one behind) .... tie up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in February and loved it! The island is beautiful! It is worth the two hour boat trip which can be a bit rocky (take sickness tabs!) The staff were very friendly, was lovely to meet a fellow Scot! Bungalows are great, two big double beds with mosquito nets and the shower was powerful enough in the bathroom. It's basic, but then it is an island with limited electricity! There is no internet or phone signal, so good for those looking to relax!

The food was AMAZING. We enjoyed everything we tried! Was good value for money.

We explored the other side of the island by walking through the jungle one night, this was scary, so I'd take a torch!

The beach is lovely, it always felt like we had it completely to ourselves. Our Bungalow looked onto the beach. You could hear the waves at night.

The climb up to sunset point is worth the walk, it's not too far. Got for photos at sunset, take some beers :-)

Ask Tai about the cork trick!

Scott and Sarah the Scottish couple

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Rong Samloem
1.2 mi away
The Beach Island Resort & Beach Club
The Beach Island Resort & Beach ...
#2 of 2 in Koh Rong Samloem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sweet Dreams Samloem
Sweet Dreams Samloem
#2 of 18 in Koh Rong Samloem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
13.5 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Robinson Bungalows
Robinson Bungalows
#4 of 32 in Koh Rong Samloem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
The One Resort
The One Resort
#2 of 32 in Koh Rong Samloem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort
Secret Paradise Resort
#1 of 18 in Koh Rong Samloem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Beach

Property: Lazy Beach
Address: West Side of Island, Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong Samloem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Koh Rong Samloem
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy Beach Hotel Koh Rong Samloem
Lazy Beach Hotel Cambodia
Lazy Beach Cambodia/Koh Rong Samloem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing