We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it!”
Review of The Langton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Stuckton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We love it!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Although it's about 40 minutes' drive from home, we like to think of ourselves as regulars here - at least once or twice a month. We were at the New Year's Eve party, we've had a staff skittles night for 30+ people, we have eaten late Sunday lunches and evening meals with friends and family. The food is always excellent and the staff knowledgeable and attentive but it's the little details that really please us - tap water almost as soon as you sit down, home-made bread, very tasty amuse-bouche soups before the starters arrive, fresh vegetables from the garden, home-made chocolates with coffee and very reasonably priced (and very agreeable) wines. Bar or restaurant, the food and service are outstanding - and I hear there's an in-house butchery on the way!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyOsmondUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    45
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
89
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Went down to this pub and was not disappointed. Food was excellent, staff really helpful and very friendly, rooms were great and the village itself is a wonderful setting with thatched cottages a plenty.

Would deff recommend and stay again. They very much have a can do attitude that is a pleasure to see. Excellent in every way and very dog friendly for those with 4 legged friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Called in for Sunday lunch after viewing a house, one of the best Sunday lunches I have ever had, the carrot and marmalade purée was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Visited the "stables" restaurant for a new years meal with some friends. The food was excellent and the staff made my guests and their children feel very welcome in the pub. And the complimentary home made bread was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I came here for lunch one day and was in awe at the wonderful food (you must try the steak pie) so I booked all 6 rooms for 1 night for my colleagues and myself as we were working near by. The staff are just soooo friendly and accommodating. The food is out of this world and the settings are as picturesque as you could wish for. Certainly the best place I've stayed and will definitely be back at every opportunity!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asympa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Had an excellent Christmas lunch, lots of choice and good selection of local produce included in the 2 or 3 course Chritsmas menu. Friendly staff, good service and a game of skittles all made a great christmas party. Didn't realise this place had so much to offer, will definitely return in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The food here is amazing, best food we have had in years. Really nice touch was the complimentary soup and bread starter. The service is really friendly and efficient. Really pretty gardens and nice decor inside. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Monkton
4.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
436 reviews
8.6 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
152 reviews
23.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
131 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langton Arms

Property: The Langton Arms
Address: High Street, Tarrant Monkton DT11 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langton Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 17th Century thatched freehouse pub in the middle of a beautiful chocolate box Dorset village. Serving excellent homemade local food, real ales and good wines. We have two bars, a restaurant, function room, large safe children's play area and extensive gardens and courtyards. We also have six ensuite B&B guest rooms housed in a separate building at the rear of the pub. We hold a civil licence for weddings both inside and in our gardens and have been managed and owned by Barbara Cossins for the past 25 years. Recently voted Best Pub in Dorset 2016 y the National Pub & Bar Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Langton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langton Arms Hotel Tarrant Monkton
The Langton Arms Tarrant Monkton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing