We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Langton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Langton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Popped in here for a light lunch...my cheese ploughman's was amazing....five cheeses,large salad,bowls of grapes and creamy coleslaw , apples, celery... etc....my husband had a half baguette which came with the same salad and coleslaw and some crisps...again delicious....we will be back !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank myfamily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear myfamily19

Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

On a recommendation from the owners of a B&B we were staying at we took a short drive to The Langton. There was a large party in the lounge bar but the noise really didn't filter through to the main restaurant. We were given a free vegetable soup to start (which was a lovely surprise) and my friend and I both went for the steak. Absolutely beautiful and cooked to perfection! I went for the creme brûlée for dessert which was delicious! A little at the top end of the budget but we were happy to pay that little extra as the food lived up to the price. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Tracey R

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Was recommended The Langton Arms by family who had eaten Sunday lunch there. Decided to go over Bank Holiday for a lunch. Really enjoyable and delicious food. Great extensive menu and fantastic choice for the children. Found this great value for money (apart from the fact I was being treated), but genuinely great tasty food and well worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Claire B

Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear such wonderful feedback. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Visited recently for drinks and dinner with 7 others. The pub is located in a lovely quiet village with lots of parking available and plenty of room to sit outside on a nice summer day.

The bar staff were friendly and we were easily able to upgrade our table from 6 to 8 people without a fuss. The staff allowed us to drink outside without rushing us to our table with was a novelty after the usual London restaurant/ pub experiences.

The downside was that once we sat down we were informed that about 4 dishes on the menu were unavailable, considering it was 7pm on a Sunday night and only 3 other tables were booked this was a little disappointing.

The food we did order was well presented and we were all very impressed with the standard of food and the service that we received.

All in all this is a lovely pub and I would recommend a visit if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyvc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear lucyvc84

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to us. It is rare for us to be missing so many dishes from the menu, however on the day you visited we had served over 250 meals by 6pm! We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We took a beautiful Spring drive out from Poole to the Langton Arms this evening - it took us just 25 minutes, the last ten of which were though glorious countryside. Our party of six ranged in age from my 81 year old Dad to my 8 year old daughter. Approaching Tarrant Monkton was like driving back in time ( there was even a rally of old 1940s Austins in the field by the church opposite the pub ). The food was superb, the service was exemplary and to share a pint of Ringwood with my Dad in such beautiful surroundings made me happy beyond words. Owners of the Langton Arms, I can see why you have been on top of the game for so long and many thanks for an exceptional meal, your waiter in the front bar was wonderful with us all ( especially our children ). The prosecco was sublime and we could not fault this place. We will return and there is nowhere better in Dorset.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsetgifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Dorsetgifts

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Your comments have been well received by the staff and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We are on a gastronomic tour of the south of England. We ate at Hestons Hinds Head in Bray two nights ago but, frankly had a better meal here tonight. Great British pub food, well cooked with imagination, passion and flair. Nice veggie accompanyments too.
Lovely friendly atmosphere. A great (chance) find! We'll be back. Soon!
Mitch & Lesley, Warrington

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Mitch p

Thank you so much for your comments, the staff are all thrilled to receive such wonderful feddback. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Firstly, the location and the actual pub its self are just lovely. The staff are very attentive, the decor attractive. Unfortunately, it was all let down by the food. The menus were ok, but uninspiring. We had 3 starters (prawn cocktail, wood pigeon salad and crispy beef with chilli) - both the beef and the wood pigeon were ok, the prawn cocktail was so so. It was the mains that really disappointed. The fish was not fresh and my husband was feeling quite rough after the meal. My venison (for the first time ever) was not a steak as such, but sliced like a roast... well done, and tasted more like duck weirdly! I had to ask for condiments for it, and the red current jelly had little taste and looked like it came out of a jar. The other meals we had (pork belly, sausages) were ok, but nothing to write home about. All in all, the meal was a disappointment and we wouldn't go there again. (they also got two of our orders wrong, but rectified it quite quickly).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kiasusee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Kiasusee,

Firstly we can assure you that all of our food is fresh, and I cannot understand why your husband fell ill so quickly after his meal, as we served a lot of fish on Sunday and had no other problems. The venison you ate was described on the menu as Pot Roasted, clearly not a steak. I am quite puzzled that your palette tasted duck as the flavours of duck and venison are very different. We had nothing but praise regarding the pork belly on Sunday and our homemade venison sausages are always a winner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Monkton
4.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
474 reviews
8.6 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
158 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
926 reviews
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
6.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langton Arms

Address: High Street, Tarrant Monkton DT11 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Price Range: £117 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langton Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 17th Century thatched freehouse pub in the middle of a beautiful chocolate box Dorset village. Serving excellent homemade local food, real ales and good wines. We have two bars, a restaurant, function room, large safe children's play area and extensive gardens and courtyards. We also have six ensuite B&B guest rooms housed in a separate building at the rear of the pub. We hold a civil licence for weddings both inside and in our gardens and have been managed and owned by Barbara Cossins for the past 25 years. Recently voted Best Pub in Dorset 2016 y the National Pub & Bar Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Langton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langton Arms Hotel Tarrant Monkton
The Langton Arms Tarrant Monkton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing