We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Recently spent two nights here and found it to be peaceful, comfortable and friendly. Breakfast was very good. The surrounding area, with many thatched cottages, is very attractive and there was a pleasant circular walk starting in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Kay256

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and am grateful to you for taking the time to review us. Hopefully you will remember us if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
79
86
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were a party of 5 visiting this lovely pub for lunch. It was our first visit, albeit we have lived less than 30 minutes away for many years. We had a table in the bar area of the pub as the restaurant, I think, was booked by a large party. This was fine as there was more atmosphere and we were close to a window.
The menu was very interesting with several appetising starters and numerous main courses, with plenty of variety. 3 of us had the crab and onion rissoto for starter, which was absolutely incredible- by far the best rissoto I have ever had- while one other had the salmon roulade, which they said was very tasty albeit very filling. We had each first received a small appetiser which was a lovely small cup of hot vegetable soup. Home made bread was also available.
For main courses two of us had the twice-baked cheese souffle, again an excellent dish, which came with a small mixed salad and hand cut chips. One person had stuffed chicken which came with a delightful creamy sauce, and small helpings of roast potato, and vegetable puree which whilst a bit rich was very much liked. One person had venison sausages, with a lovely gravy and mash which was reported as being excellent, and the fifth person had steak and kidney pie which they said was good. A mixture of vegetables were also provided in separate dishes. For deserts we shared one helping of the sticky toffee pudding and a selection of home-made ice creams which were very good. All in all a fantastic meal. Service was attentive without being rushed and we left with the Langton Arms firmly cemented as our new favourite place for a meal. The pub is located in a beautiful village, a little off the beaten track, which would be a lovely location to sit outside, weather permitting. Local walking trails are also available, for those who may ant to walk off some of the added calories !

Booking is essential at this place, especially at the weekend it seems.

Room Tip: Booking a table for lunch on the weekend is essential. Several people were turned away while we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris53kualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear chris53KualaLumpur

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. What took you so long to visit us?! We will look forward to your next visit.

To clarify our booking policy: We do accept tables without reservations, but booking is highly recommended as we are often fully booked many days in advance of the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Popped in here for a light lunch...my cheese ploughman's was amazing....five cheeses,large salad,bowls of grapes and creamy coleslaw , apples, celery... etc....my husband had a half baguette which came with the same salad and coleslaw and some crisps...again delicious....we will be back !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank myfamily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear myfamily19

Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

On a recommendation from the owners of a B&B we were staying at we took a short drive to The Langton. There was a large party in the lounge bar but the noise really didn't filter through to the main restaurant. We were given a free vegetable soup to start (which was a lovely surprise) and my friend and I both went for the steak. Absolutely beautiful and cooked to perfection! I went for the creme brûlée for dessert which was delicious! A little at the top end of the budget but we were happy to pay that little extra as the food lived up to the price. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Tracey R

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Was recommended The Langton Arms by family who had eaten Sunday lunch there. Decided to go over Bank Holiday for a lunch. Really enjoyable and delicious food. Great extensive menu and fantastic choice for the children. Found this great value for money (apart from the fact I was being treated), but genuinely great tasty food and well worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Claire B

Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear such wonderful feedback. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Visited recently for drinks and dinner with 7 others. The pub is located in a lovely quiet village with lots of parking available and plenty of room to sit outside on a nice summer day.

The bar staff were friendly and we were easily able to upgrade our table from 6 to 8 people without a fuss. The staff allowed us to drink outside without rushing us to our table with was a novelty after the usual London restaurant/ pub experiences.

The downside was that once we sat down we were informed that about 4 dishes on the menu were unavailable, considering it was 7pm on a Sunday night and only 3 other tables were booked this was a little disappointing.

The food we did order was well presented and we were all very impressed with the standard of food and the service that we received.

All in all this is a lovely pub and I would recommend a visit if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyvc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear lucyvc84

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to us. It is rare for us to be missing so many dishes from the menu, however on the day you visited we had served over 250 meals by 6pm! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We took a beautiful Spring drive out from Poole to the Langton Arms this evening - it took us just 25 minutes, the last ten of which were though glorious countryside. Our party of six ranged in age from my 81 year old Dad to my 8 year old daughter. Approaching Tarrant Monkton was like driving back in time ( there was even a rally of old 1940s Austins in the field by the church opposite the pub ). The food was superb, the service was exemplary and to share a pint of Ringwood with my Dad in such beautiful surroundings made me happy beyond words. Owners of the Langton Arms, I can see why you have been on top of the game for so long and many thanks for an exceptional meal, your waiter in the front bar was wonderful with us all ( especially our children ). The prosecco was sublime and we could not fault this place. We will return and there is nowhere better in Dorset.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Dorsetgifts

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Your comments have been well received by the staff and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Monkton
4.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.6 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
23.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langton Arms

Property: The Langton Arms
Address: High Street, Tarrant Monkton DT11 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langton Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 17th Century thatched freehouse pub in the middle of a beautiful chocolate box Dorset village. Serving excellent homemade local food, real ales and good wines. We have two bars, a restaurant, function room, large safe children's play area and extensive gardens and courtyards. We also have six ensuite B&B guest rooms housed in a separate building at the rear of the pub. We hold a civil licence for weddings both inside and in our gardens and have been managed and owned by Barbara Cossins for the past 25 years. Recently voted Best Pub in Dorset 2016 y the National Pub & Bar Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Langton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langton Arms Hotel Tarrant Monkton
The Langton Arms Tarrant Monkton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing