We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super staff, fabulous food, disappointing accommodation.”
Review of The Langton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super staff, fabulous food, disappointing accommodation.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived in atrocious weather with 2 chocolate Labradors and received the warmest of welcomes to this very attractive country inn. All staff were delightful, attentive, thoughtful and kind. The breakfast was one of the best we've had. We were the only guests staying and so the doggies were invited to join us at our meal. A large corner table was crammed with a selection of fresh berries, grapefruit segments, a huge choice of cereals including 2 varieties of the delicious Dorst Cereals granola, a vast bowl of thick, creamy yoghurt, jars of nuts and seeds and HOMEMADE jams and marmalades. I think that was everything! There was an extensive cooked breakfast menu too with the usual eggs, sausages, bacon, tomatoes etc (including kippers and haddock if requested the night before) but we had the impression from the lovely lady who served us that we could have whatever we liked if Chef could find it in the kitchen.
Our room was a lovely size, just perfect with the dogs as it had a large lobby to accommodate their baskets comfortably, enabling us to shut the door and sleep unmolested. Otherwise the room was a disappointment. The furnishings were spartan, the room quite chilly and the low energy bulbs lent a Stygian gloom. It was impossible to apply make up in the bathroom for the lack of light. All such a dismal contrast to the bright, welcoming, coziness of the main building. This could easily be rectified with a few decent light bulbs, a splash more opulence and a little more flexibility on the heating. Having said that we will certainly return for the brilliant breakfasts and the EXCELLENT seven star service. Thank you to all the smashing staff who looked after us so well!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Phoebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear 999 Phoebes

Many thanks for your review. The staff who looked after you were thrilled with your comments. with regards to the rooms we have since your stay given all of our rooms a fresh coat of paint which has helped to brighten them up. We have two types of heating for the rooms, one is night storage heating which releases heat slowly throughout the day, but we also have electric radiators on the walls which can be switched on and off at your discretion and supplement the heating very well. I am glad to hear that you will be back and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    45
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
83
88
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived late afternoon, registered at the bar and were shown to our room which was in a converted outbuilding. From the front door we entered a passage way off which was the bathroom. The passage way had a wooden bench seat which we used to store our suitcase on, we hope this is it's intended use and a wooden corner shelf with tea making facilities, kettle etc. Our bedroom was average in size, had twin beds, bedside cabinets, small t.v. on a pine corner shelf (our remote didn't work), two fitted wardrobes which also contained a fan, ironing board and iron. Besides one of the beds was a dirty glass. It was a very warm day, part of a glorious summer which might account for the smell of drains in our bathroom. The bathroom was very large having a shower cubicle, wash hand basin and toilet. Sadly we found both the bedroom and bathroom to be a little basic and in need of updating.

After a drink in the bar we went into the restaurant for our evening meal. The amuse bouchée, a small cup of vegetable soup, was enjoyable. The meal was pleasant, with good service and a friendly atmosphere.

Breakfast the following morning was very good, superb fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, cooked offerings, toast with a variety of conserves and marmalades. Friendly and efficient service at breakfast.

When we originally booked this accommodation by telephone we were asked for our complete credit details. This was concerning it us. On checking in at the bar area, when we arrived the previous evening, we were asked to complete our details in the Langton's guest register. We were shocked and extremely concerned to see, next to our name, complete details of our credit card, including account number and expiry date. We asked the waitress at breakfast to ensure these extremely private and confidential details were deleted. We were informed that guests didn't see the register, but as we were asked to complete it in person we can only assume other guests also filled in their information, with the opportunity of seeing our credit card details. When we pointed out this fact we were also told the register was kept in a locked office, but it was actually propped up by the till in the bar when we checked in.

The previous evening after our meal we enjoyed a very pleasant walk around the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Owner at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Welsh40

I am puzzled by the fact that you say when you signed in your card details were present. We require the card details upon booking to secure the reservation otherwise we have no defense against being let down by guest who do not turn up. These details are kept in our room reservation diary, which is totally separate from our guest register. There is no way the card details you gave would have appeared in the registration book.

As for the dirty glass in your room I can only apologise for this. Our house keeper is normally very efficient and this must have simply been an oversight on her part. Again I apologise for the smell of drains in your room, we haven't had anyone complain about a smell in their rooms before. I would point out that we are in a rural location and local to several farms which could mean that someone had been muck spreading in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a lovely evening meal here with relatives who live nearby. Good atmosphere in the "bar" area where we ate, and the food was superb, if a little on the expensive side (but as is the case so often, one gets what one pays for!).
The room in which we stayed was clean and comfortable, if a little basic, but the price reflected this. The breakfast, as one would expect, was excellent.
Special mention should go to the service. From the moment we arrived to "check in", throughout the meal and at breakfast the following morning the staff were friendly, efficient and attentive.
This place is the 2013 Good Pub Guide Dorset Dining Pub of the year, and it fully deserves the accolade.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drcarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear drcarrera,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. The staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Have just come back from the Langton Arms today. Lovely setting locals friendly. We took our dog which was a bonus thank you to all the staff who gave her biscuits.

Nice room. One minor complaint the food is good a bit over priced and a bit too fussy for my taste would have been nice just to have had plain garlic bread and not smothered with pesto. Would be better if some plain dishes could have been served. The breakfast was excellent as just plain.

Overall excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Christine M

Thankyou for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit. On your next visit the staff will be happy to point you in the direction of some of our more traditional fayre such as Steak Pie or Beer Battered Haddock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenham
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This lovely pub-hotel, in a very picturesque village, exceeded all of our expectations, especially in the originality and taste of the food. The service was spot on, too.

Our room was comfortable and breakfast also very good. If you're looking for a peaceful inn with great food and drink stop right here - and don't miss taking a walk around the scenic village!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboLenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear JimboLenham

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. Your comments will be well received by all the staff. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you want a high standard pub / hotel tucked away in a picturesque Dorset village, then this it.
The accommodation is a purposely built annexe is comfortable an clean. The breakfast is excellent and is served with a smile...and a chat.
The evening meals are really good and the surroundings are lovely

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 have a bath as well as a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Bill186383

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have just been reading through the reviews and I wonder if some people have got the right pub. We stayed here a couple of years ago for our anniversary and over the years we have had lunches and dinners here too. It is spotlessly clean. The staff are professional and friendly. The food has always been excellent. Good quality and beautifully presented. We had our regular family pre-Christmas dinner here last year and have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Owner at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Kate S

Thank you for your support!

It has been brought to our attention that due to our partnership with a local farm and our close links to the farming community we are being targeted by anti-badger cull activists. We are sure that a lot of these negative reviews are related to this.

We feel the need to emphasize the fact that although our farm is overrun with badgers, and our livestock is being affected, we are looking for alternative ways to solve the issue and I feel it unfair for my pub and restaurant to be targeted in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Monkton
4.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
8.6 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
23.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langton Arms

Property: The Langton Arms
Address: High Street, Tarrant Monkton DT11 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langton Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 17th Century thatched freehouse pub in the middle of a beautiful chocolate box Dorset village. Serving excellent homemade local food, real ales and good wines. We have two bars, a restaurant, function room, large safe children's play area and extensive gardens and courtyards. We also have six ensuite B&B guest rooms housed in a separate building at the rear of the pub. We hold a civil licence for weddings both inside and in our gardens and have been managed and owned by Barbara Cossins for the past 25 years. Recently voted Best Pub in Dorset 2016 y the National Pub & Bar Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Langton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langton Arms Hotel Tarrant Monkton
The Langton Arms Tarrant Monkton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing