We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victorian Barn
Nearby Hotels
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eastbury Hotel(Sherborne)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Inn(Gillingham)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
100
17
7
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
17
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolvictorian barnhot tubgames roomhigh standardplay areafamily and friendslong weekendjasmine cottagelarge grouprelaxing weekendbeatrice houselovely weeksurrounding countrysiderural locationbeautiful settinga lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Reading the reviews I can't believe we stayed at the same place. The location, although remote, is beautiful and the properties are clean with nice modern bathrooms however the fixtures on the whole were cheap and I can't believe that anyone who stayed previously tried to cook anything using the utensils provided in the kitchens. There were building works on site that we weren't told about and this became a bit of a theme as they also failed to mention that they charge £5 to use the washing machine plus it is kept under lock and key. This might not have been such a problem if reception had been manned when stated. Although Penny was friendly we found her husband to be incredibly rude when asked for anything at all. We also thought we booked a week however they failed to explicitly point out that over christmas you don't get a week but the 'christmas period'. Ended our family get-together on a very sad note a day early. Also given that the properties don't allow dogs the owners have dogs that wander about the property and there was quite a bit of dog mess. We have stayed in a lot of self-catering properties as our family live very far apart and we found the Victorian Barn to be very wanting.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsSmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our lovely property. I am some what bemused at your comments. I am a four star graded establishment and you are the first and only guests that have ever commented on the equipment in the kitchen.
I think the reason for your complaint is the fact that you booked from 23 December until 29 December but for some reason thought you were booked until 30 December. You were previously offered a week from 22 December until 29 December but declined. We also offered alternative accommodation on the night of 29 December but you again declined.
Although we have two properties under renovation this certainly did not affect your stay as the whole project closed down for two weeks and these properties were on the opposite side of the barn and accommodation where you were staying. I take offence to the fact that you said my husband was rude as he gave you the key to the washroom on every occasion and showed you in when you arrived and was always courteous. You may remember that we did not charge you for any of the washing you did during your stay, which was every day and the reason for locking the door after your use was so that we could offer this facility to other guests.
The reception times are posted at the reception and there was someone there at those times with the one exception on Christmas day.

When you left at 1pm on 29 December I instructed the cleaners to clean the property and it was an absolute disgrace. I do not usually comment on the state of properties left after a holiday but it took 5 cleaners two hours and the kitchen was a filthy.
Once again I am sorry you felt you did not enjoy your stay but we at the Victorian Barn feel we went out of our way to make your Christmas wonderful and all the requests by email before your stay were accommodated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed for a short week-end break in The Byre during November 2011. The Byre was warm and cosy and had everything we required. When we arrived the stars at night were fantastic and we couldn't stop gazing at them. The children loved the fishing, and spending time in the pool, hot tub and sauna and would like to have stayed longer. We checked out in the morning but were able to use all of the facilities for the rest of the day - bargain! Hope to return in the warmer weather when we can sit by the lakes and catch the fish. Not much luck this time but I have a lovely picture of a just under 20lb common carp caught by the fishers next to us on the middle lake on Sunday, 20th November. Thank you Penny for all your kindnesses and for making ours a very lovely stay. Looking forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Victorian Barn it was a pleasure to see how much your family enjoyed their stay even though it was very short. I am also pleased you were able to take advantage of the facilities including the lakes and hope to see you in the future for perhaps a longer stay when you can have another try at the lakes. There are certainly some very big fish in the specimen lake and also lots of smaller fish in the other lakes so they are breeding. Hope to see you soon Kind regards Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Porter family had a great time, we stayed in the Hayloft for 11 nights. Although the location is remote, there are some great family places to visit within a 30 miles radius.

On the two mornings it rained, the pool was the ideal retreat. At times we were the only family in the pool which was great :-) but it was never too busy. The accomodation was a very high standard. We are already planning a return visit......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review after your recent stay in the Hayloft within The Victorian Barn. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

the garrard/ and graham family stayed in leopold. a wonderful place to stay in. beautiful setting and views spectacular. spotlessly clean and home from home comforts. if you want 4* plus accomodation then this is the place to stay. superb.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Victorian Barn and I hope to welcome you back to stay again in the future.

Regards

Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent a lovely week at the Barns and thoroughly enjoyed the location. As a large family gathering of 3 families including 4 grandchildren aged 3 and under, the property (Beatrice) we stayed in was ideal. With a very large lounge area and 4 well appointed ensuite bedrooms the space was ideal. The pool (perhaps a degree or two warmer for the babies would have been better), the hot tub, large trampoline and well stocked fishing lakes proved a winner. Penny and Dereck, the owners, were most welcoming and eager to make our stay as relaxing as possible, (PS loved Katie the dog). Don't be put off by the previous negative reports as for a family holiday in the countryside on a farm this is an ideal location. You will need a Sat Nav or an OS map to find the farm easily and if coming from the North travel via Salisbury and ignore all other Sat Nav routes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazraznorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Victorian Barn.

I am glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves and I loved the photo, such a close up.

We love recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

Penny and Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews