We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
83
26
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
26
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar coming back rainy season most nights hot plate make reservations yogurt nice pool hour drive black sand beaches each morning hidden gem waves panama pedasi ocean grounds
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This was our third stay at this little piece of paradise. Every time we were here we thought it was perfect. But each visit has been even better than the last. The food, the people, the attention to detail! There are tours you can take, bikes you can borrow, you can surf and paddle and boogie-board to your heart's content. Or, if you're like me, you can camp out next to the beach bar, sprawl in a hammock, or just loaf on your patio or balcony with a good book and a beer. Heaven.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room, but if you like quiet, you might want to ask for one on the side furthest from the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutheranliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Such a welcoming arrival to the hotel. We were met immediately with smiles from the staff and a “hello” from Ailyn, the manager. Ailyn is a very much hands on manager who you will see all over the hotel and grounds. Her positive management style is obvious in the well trained and motivated staff. The property is spotless. The restaurant food is excellent and fair priced. Felix behind the bar will serve you up a cold beverage with genuine attentiveness. The lobby bar closes at 10:00 pm to ensure peace and quiet for the guests. We were lucky to have Frances wait on us during our stay. She is the best, always smiling and making sure everything is okay. The building is a beautiful hand crafted native wood structure with wood beams, ceilings and accents. And what a lovely setting looking out across the lawn to the beach and the regular surfers. The pool is large, clean and the perfect temperature. And at 3:00 pm daily the beach bar opens. She was nice enough to prepare us our own version of ‘rum punch’. If possible ask for an upstairs room as they come with the ocean view and small balcony. The beds are very comfortable, the sheets are crispy clean and oh... that walk in shower! Coffee is always ready by 7:30 am and breakfast is served whenever you request it after 8:00 am. It is always hearty, with eggs, fruit, toast, etc. For a change there is an Italian palapa restaurant next owned by a real Italian Francisco. Don’t bother staying overnight in Playa Venao…. Go straight to Hotel Playa Cambutal. After three weeks traveling all over Panama it was by far my favorite and I am not even a surfer.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as they have great ocean views.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChewelahBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We visited during what was supposed to be the rainy season. We lucked out with beautiful weather, so we were told. This hotel is beautiful! The staff is friendly and the food is delicious! I seriously can't wait to go back!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The hotel is located directly on the beach. Our room was very clean. Ilene, who runs the hotel made our stay exceptional. When checking in she asked what we were interested in doing: turtle release, horseback riding, off roading. She made it all happen at very reasonable costs. We ate most of our meals at the hotel and the food was good; portions large. We are looking forward to going back to Hotel Playa Cambutal.

Room Tip: there are only 10 rooms. 8 upstairs and 2 on the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abbe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Yet another year spent in cambutal with great people at this hotel. The staff especially Eileen and Frances go out of their way to make it special and The management (Albero and Haley) are keen to ensure that the hotel provides you with what you need; good food, surf boards, boogie boards, kayaks, and trips out. Thank you to everyone

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MisseyMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews