We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
83
26
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
26
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar coming back rainy season most nights hot plate make reservations yogurt nice pool hour drive black sand beaches each morning hidden gem waves panama pedasi ocean grounds
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2017

My wife and I booked the hotel for 5 nights originally but ended up staying a further 3 nights. The hotel is situated right on the beach which is great for surfing. It has a really nice pool which we liked as the as the waves make it difficult for swimming in the sea. We took long walks on the beach each morning and evening and lazing in the pool during the day. We saw a leatherback turtle laying eggs on the first day which was really nice. The second day I hired a horse and went for a gallop along the beach. Although the beach is volcanic sand it is very fine. Lots of bleached driftwood along the beach too. We walked one evening around 5 kilometres to a cave also. One day we drove along the coast along a dirt road which goes on for miles and miles with totally deserted beaches. The manager, Aileen is really very nice and helpful too. If you are looking for a fairly untouched area of Panama this is the place to go. The room we had was with a sea view and very clean and comfortable with a nice bed and small refrigerator, TV, balcony, a/c and beach towels. Good hot water and pressure too.The restaurant was really excellent with a good and varied breakfast. help yourself to fruit, yogurt, toast and marmalade. After that they offer various cooked breakfast such as a delicious french toast and eggs, eggs Florentine etc. The dinner menu is very good and we ate there most nights and never disappointed once. There is a bar which has (thoroughly recommended) artisan beers and they are really good too. They even have the beer on tap. For a change there is an Italian restaurant just 2 minutes walk away where the food is also good. Pricing of the menu at the hotel is very reasonable and a good selection for both lunch and dinner. The hamburgers are great too. Felix is very nice and helpful and can arrange any tours you may want to do etc. Carlos at the bar is really nice and also Marta and Francis. In fact all of the staff were excellent. Sun loungers on the beach and a shady area with hammocks too. Nice sized parking area and a mini super just 4 minutes drive away with basic items. We would say that it is probably the best hotel in Cambutal beach. If you are up early you may see the howler and capuchin monkeys across the street. Also a nice group of humming birds around feeders each day. Lush garden and shower on the beach. A big thank you to all of the staff there.

Room Tip: Nice views from the upper rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MalagaBill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This was our third stay at this little piece of paradise. Every time we were here we thought it was perfect. But each visit has been even better than the last. The food, the people, the attention to detail! There are tours you can take, bikes you can borrow, you can surf and paddle and boogie-board to your heart's content. Or, if you're like me, you can camp out next to the beach bar, sprawl in a hammock, or just loaf on your patio or balcony with a good book and a beer. Heaven.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room, but if you like quiet, you might want to ask for one on the side furthest from the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutheranliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Such a welcoming arrival to the hotel. We were met immediately with smiles from the staff and a “hello” from Ailyn, the manager. Ailyn is a very much hands on manager who you will see all over the hotel and grounds. Her positive management style is obvious in the well trained and motivated staff. The property is spotless. The restaurant food is excellent and fair priced. Felix behind the bar will serve you up a cold beverage with genuine attentiveness. The lobby bar closes at 10:00 pm to ensure peace and quiet for the guests. We were lucky to have Frances wait on us during our stay. She is the best, always smiling and making sure everything is okay. The building is a beautiful hand crafted native wood structure with wood beams, ceilings and accents. And what a lovely setting looking out across the lawn to the beach and the regular surfers. The pool is large, clean and the perfect temperature. And at 3:00 pm daily the beach bar opens. She was nice enough to prepare us our own version of ‘rum punch’. If possible ask for an upstairs room as they come with the ocean view and small balcony. The beds are very comfortable, the sheets are crispy clean and oh... that walk in shower! Coffee is always ready by 7:30 am and breakfast is served whenever you request it after 8:00 am. It is always hearty, with eggs, fruit, toast, etc. For a change there is an Italian palapa restaurant next owned by a real Italian Francisco. Don’t bother staying overnight in Playa Venao…. Go straight to Hotel Playa Cambutal. After three weeks traveling all over Panama it was by far my favorite and I am not even a surfer.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as they have great ocean views.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChewelahBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We visited during what was supposed to be the rainy season. We lucked out with beautiful weather, so we were told. This hotel is beautiful! The staff is friendly and the food is delicious! I seriously can't wait to go back!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The hotel is located directly on the beach. Our room was very clean. Ilene, who runs the hotel made our stay exceptional. When checking in she asked what we were interested in doing: turtle release, horseback riding, off roading. She made it all happen at very reasonable costs. We ate most of our meals at the hotel and the food was good; portions large. We are looking forward to going back to Hotel Playa Cambutal.

Room Tip: there are only 10 rooms. 8 upstairs and 2 on the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abbe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews