We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unexpected and real!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kambutaleko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambutal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kambutaleko
lazio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“unexpected and real!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Incredible view over the Ocean in a silent and nice hill just crossed the road. The rooms are big and there is a fan, just what we needed. I used to read Robinson Crusoe laying on one of their beautiful hammocks, and I really had the impression of leaving one of his moments. The owners are warm and kind, absolutely not invasive, as the leave upstairs. The shyness of their daughter tells you all about this place. There's plenty of animals, plants, scents, and magnificent views. We will never forget sunsets views from Hotel Kambutaleko.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isoladieea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

A beautiful place, situated on top of a hill with magnificent views on the local beach. I stayed there for almost a week with my boyfriend and we really liked the relaxed atmosphere of this family-run business. The owners are a lovely couple who is originally from the Basque country having built their little oasis in the sleepy village of Cambutal. Contrary to a lot of foreigners living in this place, they are really close to the local culture and can give you great insider advice or help with anything you need - you'll definitely be in good hands.
All the rooms are immaculately clean, recently renovated and comfortable - they are simple and nothing if you look for luxury (or an AC...) but for me it felt just like home within a few hours. The prices are also very reasonable. There are 6 rooms in total, from dorm to private room, all of them have their own bathroom and in some of the more expensive beachfront ones there is also a small fridge which is super handy in a place without supermarket. Unfortunately we didn't stay in one of these and a common fridge or even cooking facilities would have been awesome. That is probably the only thing I missed during our stay.
There are a few nice restaurants providing different options for lunch and dinner in Cambutal Beach but we had a bit of a hard time finding something for breakfast. So especially if you are here to surf, I recommend to bring a big stock of biscuits and muesli bars if you don't want to starve yourself until lunch ;) As Cambutal is a very remote place you don't even have a supermarket, so make sure you are prepared for this if you plan on staying for a few days.
Altogether, Kambutaleko is a great little hotel and perfect for some relaxed days far away from everything that I can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have a little fridge but cost about 15 $ extra a night - might be worth it unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Kambutaleko was a great place to relax after surfing. Great view, nice hammocks & a very friendly Spanish guy who was staffing the hotel while the owners were out of town. He showed us the local surf spots & made us a nice breakfast of tea/coffee & fruit. Also gave us rec's on things to do and places to eat. The room was clean and comfy. My only gripe is that there was no fridge for our groceries/beer. But that's okay, because it was exceptional value! Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicBennyLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I read the reviews before making my reservation and my expectations were set too high. When we made the reservations they didn't warn us about a few important things. We arrived at night after it rained. The road to Cambutal is in good condition, but the road that takes you up the hill to the hostel is all MUD and the car could not go all the way to the top as it would slide (When we made the reservations they did not warn us about this!) So, we had to leave the car in a Restaurant/Bar right down the hill (by the way, the next morning one of the tires was flat). When we finally arrived to the hostel, there was a large group of noisy people already staying at the hostel. Not very welcoming a bumpy arrival after 11:00 pm and you just want to go to sleep. Our alarm clock in the morning was again the noisy large group hanging out right out of our room and window at 6am. Take into account that since it's a small place and you won't get much privacy with people hanging out right outside of your door or window. They also told us that a simple breakfast (seasonal fruits, coffee, tea, cookies) was included, but when we arrived the guy in charge (as the owners were out of town...) said if there is fruit then they'll serve breakfast :S So we were uncertain if we would have breakfast the next morning. Luckily, we had papaya and tea. The closest store is 20-30 min away, so make sure you bring enough food! Another important thing is they didn't warn us about mosquitoes! Chitras specifically. Even with the strongest mosquito repellent we were itching all night and day so we couldn't sleep very well. So, we ended up leaving a day earlier from what we had reserved. I'm sure our stay would've been nicer if the owner would have been there, but even though so, it is a MUST to warn customers about these seriously important details if they want us to have a nice stay. This is a "heads up" of some of the details you must take into before making a reservation at this hostel or any other place.

Room Tip: Take into account that since it's a small place, you won't get much privacy with people hang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yasmin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This place is for everybody !! Kids, couples, friends, family... And you feel very comfortable !! I spent 10 days with my best friend, in holidays, it was amazing... the sunrise from your bed, monkeys around the house, afternoons with a book in hamac, I met people from everywhere in the world, i really enjoyed !!! The breakfast is free and different everyday, the room is regularly cleaned, matress really comfortable, the owners are available and really friendly !!! I really loved this place and I suggest to stay more than one night to really feel and appreciate the life in Cambutal...

Room Tip: room number 3 is for me the best for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Our booking wasn't made, but we could prove it by email. Then they realised it was their mistake, and they offered there own room upstairs for us. This was a great and new room, but there was no water from the tap yet, which was a bit inconvenient. We got an extensive breakfast to make up for us not being booked. The other night we stayed in a room downstairs. This room was really hot which made it hard to sleep.

Hotel Kambutaleko is a small walk from the beach, which isn't explored yet by many tourists. There are a few restaurants nearby. It's hard to make the climb to Hotel Kambatuleko, especially by car! When you walk at night, it's very dark so don't forget your torch!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel with my husband, my cousin, and our 3 young children. We really enjoyed the place : great view, great people (the french woman and her spanish husband are really friendly and helpful), great location. The rooms are really clean, well furnished with all necessary (even a fridge, which is really helpful when traveling with young children), the breakfast is fine. The hamacs on the terrace are really comfortable. The beach down the road is really great. You can walk on the beach for hours and go at night to see turtles and turtles eggs on the beach. You have 3 or 4 cheap and good restaurants down the road (but the owners are planing to open one at the hotel), and a small supermarket in the village (but don't expect to much from it, you'd rather bring your own cooler box if you can). The landscapes there are just amazing. We wish we had stayed longer there ! I think this is the best value option in Cambutal. They can also provide with a baby bed. From the terrace we were lucky seeing monkeys in the trees surrounding the property

Room Tip: Ask for one with sea view of course !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambutal
6.6 mi away
Surfcamp Guanico
Surfcamp Guanico
#1 of 2 in Tonosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sansara Surf & Yoga Resort
24.2 mi away
Hostel Venao Cove
Hostel Venao Cove
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Luna Negra
Luna Negra
#3 of 5 in Cambutal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Finca
La Finca
#4 of 5 in Cambutal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kambutaleko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kambutaleko

Property: Hotel Kambutaleko
Address: Playa Los Buzos, Cambutal, Panama
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Cambutal
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cambutal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Cambutal; You can discover isolated beaches of black sands, old forests, excellent surfing spots, snorkeling, sports fishing, walking tour or on horseback near the national parc Cerro Hoya. Observations of tortoises, monkeys, birds, dolphins or whales. The car does not go very far from this side, here is the last beaches at hand of the peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing