We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Tangmere Military Aviation Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tangmere
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
669 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Took my old Dad to see some of the old planes he used to build when he worked for Dehavllins. He had a great time down memory lane.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    122
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LEATHERHEAQD
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderfu”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Easy to find just follow the brown signs. On arrival we were greeted by several gentlemen smartly dressed and very welcoming. Outside there are several jet fighters including two harriers all being kept in good condition despite being outside Once inside it is a mass of historic information about the area. All the staff are very knowledgable and keen to enhance the visit by explaining the various exhibits. Half way round coffee was very welcome in the museum cafe. Inside there is a Spitfire and a hurricane but for me the star of the collection is the lightning interceptor which is just enormous brute power. Plenty of other aircraft to look at as well as having a go on various simulators. A day is not really enough

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First time in about 20 years.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have not been here in a very long time but so much has changed. There are many, many things to see and the exhibits laid-out clearly and logically.

Most of the museum is undercover so weather is not an issue and it really is very good value, even the usually expensive gift shop is realistically priced!

Make sure you allow at least two hours, ideally more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Attraction, Well worth a visit...”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

On our visit to Chichester at the weekend , we decided to visit the Tangmere Aviation Museum and we are so glad we did. The museum is packed full of interesting displays and the planes where brilliant and so well kept. You see all the documentarys on the tv but this place has the living breathing objects and some of the historial artifacts they have are really one off's and will not been seen anywhere else. I would recommend this Museum to young/old/families and couples. And make sure as you walk round you listen to all the recordings and Videos as they really are interesting and make you feel proud of all the heros that put there lives at risk to protect our country. The staff/volunteers where all really friendly/helpful and knowledgable and a huge asset to the musuem. And a big Thanks to Rae and his collegue(whos name badge was covered so cant name and shame him, lol) for giving us the guided tour/letting us sit in the hunter cockpit and answering all our stupid questions... :-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benitachell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A part of memorable RAF history tucked away in West Sussex”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

HappyHarry: that small video room that you refer to was my fathers' office from 1953 to 1957!
A wonderful history of Tangmere as a fighter base;the RAF/SOE operations that took place from this historic location and aircraft through the ages.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful in providing supplementary information making my visit all the more worthwhile; and even more so as I slowly recognised the building that I had last been in in 1957. Whilst most of the RAF buildings are no longer standing the Officers and NCO married quarters are still in use (but no longer MOD).
RAF history is tucked around every corner in and you should allow 3 or 4 hours+ to see and enjoy what the museum has to offer - and the cafe!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seraphsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tangmere Military Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tangmere Military Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing