We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort Away From The Hustle And Bustle, But Disappointing Conference Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just spent 4 nights here, for the 3rd time and I thought it was time I wrote a review.

I was on a conference with about 500 other people and my wife and son came along.

The room, service and smiles, exceeded our expectations. Top notch, as is the Japanese Tepannyaki restaurant, which I will review separately. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers Paradise or Broadbeach, but want a 5 star resort with a championship golf course, tennis courts, heated pool, excellent brand new Day Spa, a good choice of restaurants, then this is the place for you. To Surfers or Broadbeach it is a $25/$30 cab fare, unless you have hired a car, that is.

However, I would have to say that the 'in conference' food was very disappointing compared to previous visits.

Clearly this hotel would be a regular for conferences and I can therefore see no reason why food should be served, undercooked, overcooked or cold. We had all of these experiences over 4 days. My wife is a chef and was very disappointed and wanted to put on her whites and sort things out!

We know that service to 400 or 500 people is a real challenge, but most conference hotels take it in their stride and cope.

The normal buffet breakfast in 'Kalinda' restaurant was more than acceptable with a great choice and fresh. The Italian, Trattoria Amici, was OK, nothing special and I am lead to believe that the Fine Dining restaurant, Videre, was excellent, but we did not get the opportunity, in the time we had, to eat there.

I must say, I thought that $180 per night for the large two queen size bedroom that we had was fantastic value for money and our teenage son thought the room service food was excellent.

All in all, very good and if the conference food was on par with, say, the Marriott, I would have given it 5 stars.

Room Tip: We were on the 20th floor, overlooking the tennis courts and hinterland. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moorandmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear moorandmoor
Thanks for your review and your very kind words about the resort in a number of areas. it is concerning to read your comments about the conference food as our Executive Chef monitors this closely and the post conference feedback forms which ask our clients about the food quality, service etc.
If you could contact me directly on john_morris@racv.com.au regarding the occasions during your conference where our food was not up to scratch I would welcome the opportunity to get some more feedback and Chef is also keen to look more closely in to this.
On a more positive note it was great to read how much you enjoyed the resort restaurants and the overall value for money.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future
Kind regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you play golf you will love it becasue you wont want anything else but to be on a beautifull golf course.
This place is to golfers what staying in a ski lodge is to skiers... I get that
So if you love golf stay here you will love it.

Points.
staff are great.

I was in a king room on the 12th floor and it was great but not as great as I exppected for this motel although I am sure there are nicer rooms mine may have been a standard king,
the view was beautifull with the city in the distance (more on this after)
bed and pillows were so so, not bad but not great.
room service food is very good but small portions, the burger didnt seam too much bigger than a big mac and the fries no larger than a medium Mac serve whch was disapointing given that the tast was wonderfull, I really wanted more, this really is more a kids serv, in my opinion.
The steak was very good but the sides were disapointing.

rooms are nice but certainly wont wow you, although a high floor view will.
SO... if you golf stay there BUT dont stay here if you want to be able to walk to the shops in surfers paradise or have a stroll around the beach, cafes or shops, its too far from everything and anything.
The pool area isnt that great and there seems to be a lot of outside renovating going on so when you drive in it actually looks like you are driving into a service station for fuel.
1 last thing the lifts to the carpark didnt work so I didnt appreciate carrying luggage 5 flights of steps down to the car park. and didnt appreciate the sign on the lift saying it was out of order and to "use another lift" but no instructions as to where the heck another lft was??
Bad customer service!
also no room on balcony to sit and enjoy view.

if you dont golf, give it a miss.
If you love golf you will love it!!

Room Tip: get a high room and the view should be great from every side becasue it stands alone too damn far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Em B

Thanks for your recent review and the many positive comments you make about the resort. Apologies for the confusion regarding the car park lift - it was out of order for a couple of days waiting on parts and the communication should have been better
As you say, the view is beautiful from our rooms, with a sweeping Gold Coast skyline or hinterland views, Thanks also for your thoughts about the room service portion size I have discussed this with our Executive Chef to ensure the portion size is maintained consistently
Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for just a night. Arrived late and left early but this hotel made an impression on me. Lovely, helpful staff, clean and not too pretentious. View over the golf course from 16th floor was nice. Bed was great and the bathroom modern and large. Lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Nicole G
It was a shame that your recent stay with us was so short but great to read that even with a late arrival and early departure you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the resort with more time to spend in the future!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed for five nights at the Royal Pines at overall I was really satisfied. The hotel is well located and all nice spots at the Gold Coast are well reachable by car. I have not tested the Restaurants but the café has delicious coffees and sweets!
The room was nice and clean, spaceous too. Free Wi-Fi works great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordtraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear wordtraveller82

We appreciate your review about your recent stay at RACV Royal Pines and to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to return with some more free time in the future so you could enjoy some of the resorts restaurants!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for one night during June/July QLD school holidays. Twin room, which was very clean, well presented and spacious. On the 15th floor overlooking the pool we had gorgeous views of the golf course and beyond. There was some construction work to the left of our room near the pool and also work being carried out on the golf course in preparation for this years PGA, but the noise wasn't a bother for our short stay. We did the Segway through the adventure guys just outside the pool, which was lots of fun!
Breakfast was just fantastic, something for everyone, lots of choice and all fresh & hot, with lovely smiley faces from the dining room staff which is always nice!
Pool was heated and kids had it almost all to themselves as hotel was so quiet. We'd love to go back during warmer months and spend a longer break there!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank tallulahjemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear tallulahjemima

Thanks for your recent review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. As you point out, there is plenty to do and even more shortly as, in 2-3 weeks we will be opening our brand new purpose built gymnasium.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed as a family of four in April. We were upgraded to a room on the premium floors with a view of the golf course. They have great facilities that the kids made use of like the heated pool, spa and playground, we also did some of the Time Out Adventures activities - Ozbobbles (not as good as Zorbs but fun) and Segway. Staff were helpful and friendly. Its a bit out of the way if you don't have a car but very accessible by car and close to a train station also if you want to park and ride into Brisbane etc. They were building a gym and new reception at the time but we had no trouble with noise.

Room Tip: Upper floors very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KMMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear KMMN
Thanks for your recent review after your family holiday at RACV Royal Pines. As you say, the resort does have great facilities and, with a new gymnasium about to open there will be even more on offer. For the benefit of readers, the resort does run a regular shuttle coach in to the Gold Coast strip - about 10-15 minutes away - so while having a car is handy, the shuttle service ensures other options,
Thanks again
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great place to stay on a sporting tour with teenagers. The room was lovely and the view wonderful. So easy to check in and out. The kids enjoyed the access to the gym and pool. Buffet breakfast was provided as part of the deal and the food was great. Plenty of choices for fussy eaters.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_and_Trev0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sue_and_Trevor

Thanks for your review and great to read how much your teenages enjoyed the resort. If your sporting teenagers enjoyed the current gymnasium, they will really enjoy the new gym we are about to open - the largest on the Gold Coast it features the latest in fitness equipment, a variety of group classes, fitness assessments and great views out over the resorts gardens, pool and golf courses. Then, if guests feel tired after a workout there is always our brand new Spa - purpose built and getting rave reviews.
Hopefully see you back soon!

Kind Regards

John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benowa
3.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
3.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,671 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
496 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast

Address: Ross St, Benowa, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Benowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Price Range: £92 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RACV Royal Pines Resort stands at the centre of beautiful established gardens offering 331-stylish guest accommodation rooms and premium spa suites with expansive views of the hinterland, chic tropical pool, Gold Coast skyline or the golf course. RACV's flagship resort is a golfer's dream - offering a renowned 27-hole composite golf course and state of the art driving range, the course is proudly home to the Australian PGA Championship and Gold Coast RACV Ladies Masters. But if you're not into golf, never fear. Relax in the Day Spa, or grab a sun lounge by the outdoor lagoon pool, while the kids burn off energy on the pool's fun slippery slide or children's playground with jumping pillow, or have a hit of tennis on one of our five tennis courts. Time Out Adventures, our on-site adventure company, offers a great range of additional activities. Why not take a Segway Adventure Tour, walk on water in an Ozbobble, laugh yourself silly making a Bopping Heads music video DVD, or have a blast with Laser Clay Shooting. There's something for everyone at RACV Royal Pines Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racv Royal Pines Hotel Benowa
Racv Royal Pines Ashmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing