We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Gold Coast Resort(Carrara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Island Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gold Coast Inn(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveller rating
792
411
107
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
411
107
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa suiteexecutive packageplay golfthe executive loungejapanese restaurantconference venueconference facilitiesmetricon stadiumgreat conferencebuffet breakfastmountain viewshuttle bushigh tearoom serviceattended a conferencesurfers paradisekids playground
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We first stayed at Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast, some 26 years ago and continue to visit about 3 times a year. We love the resort surrounds and the Executive Lounge provides a quiet working environment with refreshments available during the day. All staff are excellent, particularly in the Executive Lounge.

But what has gone wrong - has management changed?
In a recent visit of several days we found that the room showers on the 19th and 20th floors were unserviceable. There was only extremely hot water due to a breakdown with the cold-water pump, thus there was no cold water to the shower, only intermittent cold water for 2 days. This issue had apparently been known for several days. One guest was told by a staff member that she could shower in the gymnasium. Quite disgraceful for a five-star hotel which had low occupancy and should have offered an alternative room immediately.

Canapes of an evening in the Executive Lounge have always been very good. Good range of quality food so that vegetarians and those with food allergies could always find something to eat. But what has changed? Maybe a new chef? The quality of the food has declined and was very ordinary. There was variety, but the food was tasteless. How embarrassing it must be for staff to have to apologise for food quality.

Recently a new food service has been introduced to replace the evening canapes. This comprises a three-tier, high-tea tray which provides a duplicated selection of six foods for two people. It was very ordinary with little choice and a vegetarian would find only a few olives or nuts to eat. There was no labelling to identify the ingredients in any of the food offered. My wife was only able to eat one item. The ‘assistant manager’ who is implementing the changes, seemed unable to understand the need to cater for customers requiring different food types including vegetarian and particularly those with food allergies. She seemed oblivious to the dangers of food allergies and the legal implications of an allergic reaction where no labelling care is given.

Royal Pines - it is not good enough. You have made a mess of the Executive Lounge service.

Will we stay at Royal Pines again? There are now many 5-star hotels on the Gold Coast that provide good club service. Maybe after 26 years, it is time to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieMac70, Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear alpha3,

I would like to thank-you for your feedback after what was clearly a disappointing stay compared to your previous visits.

Management has certainly not changed and unfortunately you stayed over a period where the resort experienced an issue with the cold water pump that services the 3 upper floors during the morning period which was probably the most unfortunate time it could have occurred. Despite assurances from our Engineering team, a separate issued occurred the following day again affecting the 3 upper floors.

As the Rooms Division Manager, I can confirm that the hotel occupancy was not low but running at capacity with a large conference in house which is why an alternative option was provided by way of our state of the art gymnasium. I would have absolutely no hesitation in offering an alternative room if I was in a position to do so. Whilst every effort was being made to rectify the situation, our job to try and be transparent about the estimated time until the service is restored and to at least provide some kind of option or alternative if a guest did not have the luxury of time to spare. I believe our One Spa facility was also offered as an option as both facilities were not affected.

Your comments regarding the new offering in the Executive Lounge are well received and we will continue to gauge feedback from a number of different sources over the next few weeks. We are often given suggestions that the offering should change and more variety be provided. It is in our best interests that we listen to the voice of our guests and have made many changes over the years based on our feedback received.

I will also forward your comments to the Executive Chef who takes great pride in how the resort caters for the ever growing number of specific dietary requirements. You may be very surprised to learn how prevalent these requests are so I am sure there can be immediate improvement in this area.

alpha3, after such a long history with the resort, we would ask that you understand that from time to time, the resort will try things, bring in improvements, new services, new packages, new menus, new operating hours and from time to time, new staff. This doesn't necessarily mean your last stay will be indicative of how things will be from now on. We are always looking for ways to innovate, evolve and improve in all aspects of what is a very large operation. We appreciate the feedback you have provided on this visit and do hope that you will try us again.

Yours sincerely,

Charles McArthur
Rooms Division Manager
RACV Royal Pines Resort


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I attended a networking business famil over the weekend and all I can say is WOW!!!!
I have driven past and not even looked twice, what a mistake. This resort has so much to offer
Golf, tennis, swimming, day spa, conference facilities, dining options (Italian, Japanese, seafood or buffet restaurants), canapé making or cocktail making classes or team building. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and all reasonably priced.
Great place for families, couples or friends
Highly recommend a weekend or even a day visit for breakfast, lunch or dinner, high tea or drinks at the very least

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank 449kylenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieMac70, Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 449kylenet,

Isn't that was a "famil" is all about?
A pleasant surprise is always nice but a "WOW" surprise is so much better.

With Ross Street being a very popular route between the north and south areas of the Gold Coast, it is often the locals that are most surprised (having driven past the resort) when they venture in for a visit. Thanks for highlighting some of what is on offer in the resort. Put simply, it is a very big operation, run well by a very experienced group of hospitality professionals who understand the business. We thank-you for for your high recommendation and encouraging others to venture in and see the excellent value the resort offers.

Sincerely,

Charles McArthur
Rooms Division Manager
RACV Royal Pines Resort






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Personable door to door service in the rain from Driver Andrew. Helpful and friendly conversation for us out of towners visiting for a conference. He went out of his way to get us to our destination. Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieMac70, Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Liz F,

Thanks for the review and welcome also to the Andrew Fan Club.

He is one of our most recognized team members on Trip Advisor and that doesn't happen by accident.. His friendly tour guide manner and genuine good will is clearly evident as he goes about his business of making visitors feel welcome. This weekend for example he is going to get up early on his day off and transfer our guests who are participating in the Gold Coast Marathon and Half Marathon over the race precinct on two separate runs for each group of runners,

Thanks Liz for sharing your experience with Andrew.

Yours sincerely,

Charlie
Rooms Division Manager
RACV Royal Pines Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had problem with our first room. Spoke to reception. Within minutes an engineering staff member had attended and noted the problem. Within 30 minutes we were offered two other rooms and shifted. The duty manager was friendly and professional. The restaurants and the menu choices were great ranging from the buffet to the Italian and Japanese restaurants. Not great golfers, we hired everything, and enjoyed the quieter back nine. The shuttle bus took us to other parts of the Gold Coast on most days so we didn't have to bother with our car. We stayed eight days and found that the staff remembered us as the stay went on - a welcoming touch.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Billr303h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieMac70, Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Billr303h,

Thank-you for posting a review following your recent stay and it is pleasing to hear it was a "Great Stay"

I am glad the issue in you room on arrival was resolved by the Duty Manager by offering a choice of solution. The Duty Managers are there to resolve such issues and we encourage our guests to please contact us and elevate the matter to the Duty Manager if there is anything that hasn't met your expectations or has not been resolved.

An eight day stay provided a great opportunity to sample some of the resort's delights and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Take Care

Charlie
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food at their restaurant was very disappointing Wrong meals were served then I had to wait for new meal as ordered then it was not cooked ( raw in the middle ) Oysters we had for entree with caviar were tasteless They ended up not charging us for my Salmon meal and giving me a free dessert Best part of the meal I had a reaction to the salmon as well We have been before and meals have been good although quite expensive Maybe new staff or chef or new owner It would put me off ever going there again

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Molkentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieMac70, Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Molkentin,

Thank-you for posting a review and highlighting the great views.

We were of course concerned to read about your disappointing dining experience. Considering you have been to the restaurant in question before this must have been very disappointing and a strike rate of 1 out of 2 makes it very understandable why you would avoid this particular outlet again. It is clear there has been a breakdown between the waiter and kitchen and the situation was never recovered properly which is also concerning.

Whilst this is unusual, it is also unacceptable for any one of our 4 restaurants at the resort, for this to occur and I have forwarded on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager to investigate. If it was a new waiter or a new chef, or even both, we need to get to the bottom of what happened as soon a possible to ensure it doesn't occur again.

A sincere thank-you for bringing your experience to our attention.

Yours sincerely,

Charles McArthur
Rooms Division Manager
RACV Royal Pines Resort


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews