We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely way to dine”

Green Olive at Red Hill
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Main Ridge
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: All day tapas menu with matching wines from our sustainable farm, olive grove and vineyard on the Mornington Peninsula. Opening Hours : Open 9am to 5pm every day. Christmas Day & Boxing Day Closed
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A lovely way to dine”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We came here during a girls weekend. One of the girls stumbled upon it a few weeks before and said that we would love it. She wasn't wrong! We sat out on the deck overlooking the vege patch, small lake, ground level trampoline and the undulating hill. Children were playing and families were relaxed. It was Devine. I'm definitely coming back with my kids. The food was great. We shared various plates with a few glasses of wine. The owner's dog is well acastommend to the crowd. There is a produce store. We had a terrific lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    133
    38
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beautiful place, very informative staff and there was a very nice variety of things to purchase and taste

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Views and Pretty Plates”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The funny thing about beautiful places is that they manage to compensate for small disappointments - and there were only minor disappointments at Green Olive.

We arrived just after 3pm hoping to miss the lunch time crowds which by all accounts we did. We ordered two glasses of the Kelpie Ridge Pinot Noir and 5 tapas dishes: honey pumpkin salad, beetroot bruschetta, roast lamb backstrap, minted lamb meatballs and the soft chevre cheese plate. This came to a total of approx $42 per person, which I thought was pretty decent value up until the dishes arrived. While the tapas dishes were very tasty, we thought they were far too small for what we paid and certainly not worth $30 per person (the wine was $10 a glass). The meatballs were a stand out for us - just a pity there were four the size of marbles for us to sample...

Outside of the food, the service was pretty quick although the staff did seem generally flustered by the amount of people they had to serve. The vineyard itself is really beautiful though, and once we'd finished our meal, it was lovely to have a bit of a wander and soak up the fresh Mornington air. There were quite a few families there (I'm guessing the horse rides and trampoline are a big drawcard) so it wasn't the most peaceful it could have been, but overall it was certainly a lovely experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwaySlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing measly portions overpriced left hungry”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Owners need to seriously take note of these reviews. Meatballs were raw in the centre, food was not chef quality any average cook could make these dishes. There was not enough portions for 2 as tapas is a sharing concept. There were no exotic or expensive ingredients so why the exorbitant prices?. Main ingredient was bread..?? Such a beautiful property but left feeling hungry and worst of all felt ripped off!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kims016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great outdoor area. Very relaxing for a casual snack. Great service too. Well worth a visit. Great products to take home too - try the capsicum relish - yum!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaH274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Olive at Red Hill also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Dromana, Mornington Peninsula
Merricks, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Green Olive at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing