We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise 60th Birthday”
Review of Quamby Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quamby Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hagley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise 60th Birthday”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Held function for 31 guests at Homestead venue.Event coordinator (Jo) orginised the lot (Menu,Seating, Menu,Drinks,Cake and table centrepieces.)First Class Jo.

Meals were great. Compliments to the Chef.

Service Staff made all guests feel at home and added to the evening. Special mention of Lucy (Service Staff) OUTSTANDING.

This function exceeded my expectation. Thank You

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    39
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding and thought the property was lovely.

The staff were very nice and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean.

However, the rooms are very noisy as they are not insulated very well from the hall ways and other people in the house. They should really look at insulating the room doors. If we were sharing the house with people we didn't know, it would be annoying cause we would be easily woken up.

Otherwise, lovely estate. Great golf course too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dman7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Attended a wedding here in March and I first have to admit that the friendly and helpful staff made this a very pleasant occasion. They could not do enough to make sure things went smoothly. It's a beautiful venue and the facilities are excellent for a special event. But I also stayed the night and, as a hotel, it fell well short of the standard I expected from such an expensive outfit. Our room was no less than $330 a night, and there were not even any facilities to make a cup of tea in the room. Breakfast ends at 9 a.m., which is not what I call relaxing after a late night at a wedding reception, and turned out to be a help-yourself continental affair in the hotel kitchen. May suit trekkers, but not jaded wedding guests. When I checked out, they wanted to make a 1.5% surcharge for using a credit card! Overall verdict - a brilliant location, excellent service, but overpriced and some noticeable gaps in facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My partner & I have just returned from celebrating our wedding at Quamby on the 25th Feb.

Quamby has recently been renovated & is under new ownership & the extra attention to detail is just shining through. We visiting several times before & after the renovations & its lovely to see Quamby being restored to it's former glory.

Our wedding was absolutely fantastic - a truly amazing day & I can't recommend Quamby highly enough as a wedding venue- but also as a beautiful place for a weekend break.

AS A BREAK:
Quamby is a beautiful old white 1830's building- a little bit "Gone with the Wind"ish. The website & the photos just don't do it justice.
It's surrounded by old trees & you can sit on the sandstone balcony & drink G&T's & watch the sunset.
We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms on the top floor- room 9 I think. We arrivied late but the staff were more than happy to serve us dinner (excellent) as well as cheese platters on the balcony. The room was lovely- consisting of a sitting room, bedroom & very large bathroom. We had a huge spa bath - great for a lazy champagne bath, the bed was large & comfortable & we had dessert ( a lemon tart so good I had it three times in one weekend ;-) delivered to our room.
To me- Quamby would probably work best as a romantic getaway or a bit of pampering after a wilderness trip in Tassie. It's quiet & romantic.

AS A WEDDING VENUE:
With that in mind - I hope you can imagine how lovely it was as a wedding venue.
We got married under a 150 year old tree, my dad walked me down the steps with the white homestead as backdrop , we had a great garden party, excellent catering & service at our reception & dancing afterwards.

Quamby appointed us a wedding co-ordinator- Jo Da Silva who really went above & beyond to help us. Planning a wedding from interstate ( we live in Melbourne) can sometimes be daunting & Jo was always quick to follow up & get back to us. We visited numerous times before the wedding for tastings & so on & we were both impressed with how on top of things she was. She also answered a rather embarassing amount of emails from me prior to the wedding- she was very patient!

We booked out the whole homestead ( 10 rooms) for our wedding party on the night of our wedding. Quamby arranged early check ins so we could all get ready on the day, they arranged early access to the reception areas, they helped us with decorations- they were calm & organised througout. I had friends from all over the world stay & they were all impressed with the rooms & the grounds.

Any small problems that did arise- fairly natural with a wedding- Quamby settled quickly & calmly.
Although we had quite a small wedding ( 60 people) it was quite DIY & details heavy & they really helped us stay on top of it without feeling stressed- I felt like we could just relax & enjoy the day & it all went just like clockwork.
I've received a follow up call from Quamby to check on how we felt about the wedding & great follow up service in returning lost items - for instance my IPOD which I was just too hungover to remember to pack ;-)

Happy to answer any PM's about this - espcially to any brides considering it as a venue. I work in travel ( & have done for over 8 years) & highly recommend Quamby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank wanderlusting333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at in a "standard" room which turned out to be a large room converted into a bedroom plus bathroom. They had carved off a metre down one side and put up a glass wall between the toilet and the pillow (not soundproof at all and the lack of privacy was awkward). There was a more substantial wall between the shower and the bedroom, but in the morning the shower was stone cold. There was no one to tell about the lack of hot water in the shower as reception was manned by a mobile phone with an emergency number beside it! As it was not an emergency we had to leave without telling any staff. The previous night our pre-booked dinner was cancelled. They said that they had tried to contact us; however, the staff had not suggested or booked anywhere else to go and on New Year's Eve and kilometres from any other restaurant this mean we missed the memorable meal we were hoping for.

Room Tip: Try something other than a "standard" room or don't stay at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LibAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife and I recently took the 6-day hike of the overland track from Cradle Mountain to Lake Sk Clair in Tasmania. As the walk departed from the Quamby Estate we decided to book one night at the Quamby homestead "pre-walk" with another night at the conclusion of our trek. This turned out to be a perfect decision as the two nights perfectly "bookended" our trip! James and his team provided comfort, attention, and care to detail in making our stay PERFECT! Tom (the chef) provides a menu to intrigue and delight ones taste buds (AND appetite!) If anyone is planning to take the trip across the overland track I would recommend that you "bookend" your walk with a stay at Quamby Homestead.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Lovely buildings and surrounds complimented by charming rooms and facilities as well as cheerful service, but the stay itself was disappionting. I left with the feeling this place is in some sort of transition.

Quamby came with a 5 star reputation which they just didn't deliver on - standards must have slipped. The room, while pleasant, was due for an upgrade, and the spa bath leaked, rendering it unusable. To be fair the manager was apologetic and ensured we weren't charged the spa room rate, but when you plan a trip and book a quality place like this, you expect everything to be working - it's not like you can just come back again tomorrow.

Dinner service in the restuarant was pleasant though not incredibly knowledgable, the wine list truncated and the menu (and meals that were ordered!) missing items. Nothing major - just a green vegetable here and a side there - but a place like this should care about this level of detail.

Major disappointment also was the breakfast. If I had known the "B" in Bed and Breakfast stood for cornflakes, weetbix, toast and juice, I wouldn't have bothered. No sign of the fresh fruit, crossaints and danishes advertised at the time of booking on the Quamby website. Again staff were helpful and apologetic, but it's not the customer's fault if you're having trouble sourcing supplies - and there's no excuse in the fresh produce department in this part of the world. Surrounded by berry farms and more.

Sorry Quamby, I acknowledge the effort that staff and management went to to try and right the wrongs, but in this industry (and at this price) the "wrongs" should be attended to before paying customers arrive.

Not at the top of their game.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagley
11.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
11.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
9.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
6.8 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.7 mi away
Entally Lodge
Entally Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hadspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quamby Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quamby Estate

Property: Quamby Estate
Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hagley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quamby Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quamby Estate is an iconic country manor situated on 150 acres of picture book landscape just 15 minutes on the Highway from Launceston in Tasmania's pristine and stunning Tamar Valley. A free shuttle service is available from the airport at selected times. This enchanting property is one of Tasmania's most prestigious and historically significant properties dating back to 1828 when it was the ancestral home of Tasmania's first-born Premier, Sir Richard Dry. Lovingly restored, Quamby Estate's charming Anglo-Indian designed architecture, period antiques and marble fireplaces combine modern luxuries to offer the complete country getaway. Extensive entertaining areas, a restaurant or private dining locations, library and a chef to showcase Tasmania's gourmet local produce will complete your Quamby experience. Quamby Estate's beautiful homestead features ten impeccably restored guestrooms and suites, luxuriously adorned with an eclectic collection of original art and antique furniture mixing the old and the new. Marble or stone bathrooms with heated floors and superior amenities, flat screen TV's, DVD players, complimentary continental breakfast, WiFi and in-house movies and heating units or fireplaces feature. Deluxe suites are also inclusive of spa baths. Quamby Estate boasts a tennis court, tree-lined laneways, hiking and bike trails, lakes and streams and an impeccably manicured golf course which Sir Richard Branson holds the Number 1 Membership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quamby Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing