We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quamby Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quamby Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hagley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at Quamby prior to and after our Bay of Fires walk in Tasi, we found the accommodation very nice and enjoyed our time very much, the first night we stayed in standard room and found it very small and the bathroom a little unusual. We upgraded to the delux room on our return which was much better and more roomier. The staff graciously set up a beautiful dinning table in the lounge with an open fire ready for us to enjoy with our guests an amazing dinner. Thank again xoxo

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfowler1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    37
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
86
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed at Quamby twice know. Once ofr our Wedding Anniversary and just this weekend gone for a wedding. The Main house is so beautiful and warm. The rooms are amazing! We have had two different rooms and both were excellent. We had a few holes of golf and the ground is superb, the old trees are beautiful and the garden's surrounding the Estate are well maintained. The food and wine is of excellent produce and great choice. We love Quamby Estate. Will stay again... The staff are wonderful..

Room Tip: After our two stays here I enjoyed the Higher floors as our preferred room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Beautiful premise, terrible service. Our small room was right next to the dining room so we were woken at 630am by people having breakfast. When we complained, we barely received an apology and were told to put it into writing. The service at dinner and breakfast was poor with long waiting times. Non attentive staff and breakfast was pretty miserable. Other guests were also vocal by the significant lack of service. The premise needs to be managed much better. Do not stay in rooms 5,6 or 7.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sezza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quamby, Manager at Quamby Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Sezza11,

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate your honesty and feedback. Your points raised regarding the noise from your standard room have been noted and we are currently determining options to rectify this issue. Please note that room 7 is a Deluxe Suite and not one of our standard rooms. You are welcome to view this very spacious and luxurious suite on our website.

Our objective and our history has been to offer wonderful service and I have been proud of the team, their service ethic and the feedback we have received so we do find your review to be disappointing. I am sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations. I do believe should you stay with us again you will enjoy the high level of service that a seasoned and knowledgeable traveller would expect of a property such as Quamby Estate.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We go to Tasmania quite often for golf and holidays. First time we went to Quamby to stay.

Beautiful place to stay. But do not book the standard rooms, unless you enjoy the toilet in your room. Quite quaint NOT!

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999fez999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quamby, Manager at Quamby Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear 999fez99,

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate your feedback. Our standard rooms are intimate and have been designed to offer couples a queen bed, flat screen TV, DVD player, ipod docking station and separate ensuite featuring a modern opaque glass wall. We understand your preference was to upgrade from the standard room offering and apologise that on that evening we did not have the room availability to meet your request.

I am sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations and hope you will stay with us again perhaps in our delightful Superior or Deluxe Suite options.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our stay at Quamby was luxury plus. The beautiful house and grounds allowed us to relax and return to a previous time in history but with all the modern conveniences that we have become accustomed to. Every staff member was welcoming, attended to detail and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The fine dining with Tasmanian produce was "top notch". The deluxe room with a four poster king size bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was expansive. The location of Quamby allowed us to explore the northern area of Tasmania by conventiently chosing a different locale each day within a short driving distance. The Tamar Valley wine trail was one highlight. A high recommended place to stay and relax for a few days.

Room Tip: Our quiet room was about 8 steps from the dining room - no long drive home after dinner out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Quamby Estate is a place where you are immediately made to feel welcome, the staff go above and beyond the call of duty for their guests. I could not have ever imagined a fairytale wedding as i had without Quamby Estate. There were so many things that made our day perfect in every way, the surroundings, the weather, the staff, the food, the reception area, the garden party, and the wedding co ordinator Jo Da Silva, a woman that was born to do what she does, nothing was ever to much to ask. Perfect, perfect, perfect!! Moire Strochnetter-Keefe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here one night after doing the Cradle Mountain Huts guided walk of the Overland track. We had a very wet week on the trail, and were looking forward to a relaxing night before travelling home. This was perfect - huge luxurious bedroom, luxurious bathroom with spa to soak in, delicious dinner in elegant dining room, a good sleep and cooked breakfast in the morning. Go for a spa suite - ours was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgsSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagley
12.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
9.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
12.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quamby Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quamby Estate

Property: Quamby Estate
Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hagley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quamby Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quamby Estate is an iconic country manor situated on 150 acres of picture book landscape just 15 minutes on the Highway from Launceston in Tasmania's pristine and stunning Tamar Valley. A free shuttle service is available from the airport at selected times. This enchanting property is one of Tasmania's most prestigious and historically significant properties dating back to 1828 when it was the ancestral home of Tasmania's first-born Premier, Sir Richard Dry. Lovingly restored, Quamby Estate's charming Anglo-Indian designed architecture, period antiques and marble fireplaces combine modern luxuries to offer the complete country getaway. Extensive entertaining areas, a restaurant or private dining locations, library and a chef to showcase Tasmania's gourmet local produce will complete your Quamby experience. Quamby Estate's beautiful homestead features ten impeccably restored guestrooms and suites, luxuriously adorned with an eclectic collection of original art and antique furniture mixing the old and the new. Marble or stone bathrooms with heated floors and superior amenities, flat screen TV's, DVD players, complimentary continental breakfast, WiFi and in-house movies and heating units or fireplaces feature. Deluxe suites are also inclusive of spa baths. Quamby Estate boasts a tennis court, tree-lined laneways, hiking and bike trails, lakes and streams and an impeccably manicured golf course which Sir Richard Branson holds the Number 1 Membership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Quamby Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing