We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The rooms are very small and the food dreadful, but the views and the estate just beauiful”
Review of Quamby Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quamby Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hagley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The rooms are very small and the food dreadful, but the views and the estate just beauiful”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we just gasped when we approached the estate it was just incredible, the views and the grounds were for walking of which we did, The rooms were very small and no chance of anyone else in the bathroom room for one only, very cramped, I went for a walk whilst my hubby showered and got dressed, now the big problem.....we ate dinner at the estate and it cost $120.00 for 2 courses and my word the first course was indescribable, we only hoped it would get better but the main course was just awful....$120 down the drain not worth complaining cause we were the only ones in the dinning room, waitress popped in now and again.

Room Tip: Don't eat here we just didn't want to travel into town and wished we had. if you like a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    39
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in March. Room was lovely and the house was very interesting. The staff were very young and were delightful but not enough experience or maturity when you are paying top dollar. The young staff tried their best. No Manager in sight for the Friday and Saturday night. Dinner on Saturday evening was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Quamby homestead was absolutely beautiful and a wonderful place to stay for a couple of nights. The estate grounds were also wonderfully well kept and a pleasure to stroll or take one of the bikes around. Service was nice and the rooms were clean and warm. Real log fires were kept on in all the sitting rooms which was a lovely touch and amazing to come home and a glass of wine from the bar after doing long walks around Cradle Mountain. The continental breakfast that was included was adequate, nice bread and standard condiments with fruits and cereals.

I would highly recommend Quamby to anyone.

Room Tip: I think the 'standard' room might be near the dining area which might not be the ideal room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie_608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Quamby sets such a high standard with the beautiful restoration of the building and the careful maintenance of the grounds. I really enjoyed my spa room and the free wifi made it easy to work without any hassles. A light breakfast is included which was also fine. I think the accommodation is good value if you get the internet rates. Like others I was disappointed with the food service. as a non-meat eater the menu options were limited and my adapted meal arrived lukewarm looking much less attractive than the standard option served to my neighbours. I was dining alone and the courses were rushed which seemed strange given we were all house guests with no where else to go!
Congratulations Quamby on the wonderful accommodation and setting, just the food service that needs attention.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here prior to joining the Cradle Mountain Huts - 6 day overland walk. It was a lovely experience, I was upgraded on arrival. The room was warm, beautifully appointed and the whole property is like stepping into the past ( but with all mod conveniences). The staff make you feel like a welcomed old friend, and nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal was wonderful and so was the breakfast, much more than the continental breakfast, I had expected. Excellent value!

Room Tip: I was in Room ( at the top of the stairs, Canopy Bed and Bath in the room as well as ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were upgraded to a spa suite (not that I'd ever use one!) the room was beautifully furnished, luxury bathroom, 4 poster bed oodles of space. The house has a few reception rooms filled with antiques and old world charm. A cute little bar with open fire and a magnificent dining room. Unfortunately the service lets them down. We ticked 8am for our cooked breakfast - arrived at 8.15 to find our breakfast had been cooked and waiting for us! We were reminded we asked for 8am and treated like naughty children. We were unable to have museli first as our cold cooked breakfast was placed before us! Very strange way of treating paying guests, I felt like I was back in boarding school!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 9 were delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quamby, Public Relations Manager at Quamby Estate, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Lolly61,

Many thanks for your recent review of Quamby Estate. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed our beautiful, spacious rooms and it certainly makes a difference having warm, cosy fires moving in to the cooler months.

We have spoken with our team about your breakfast experience and as a result we have reviewed our training processes to ensure that any new casual staff are aware of our high level of customer care noting that guest service timing is indicative only. We pride ourselves on offering an excellent level of service and our priority is to ensure our guests enjoy a relaxing and luxurious getaway. We hope to see you back at Quamby Estate again to experience the wonderful service we normally provide.

Warm regards,

Quamby Estate Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We came from the mainland to have our wedding ceremony and reception at the beautiful Quamby Estate. We chose Quamby beacuse of it's exclusivity and the fact that we could have an intimate wedding, undisturbed and out in nature. Our family and bridal party stayed at the homestead for two nights and enjoyed everything that Quamby had to offer, the fanastic service and beautiful grounds. It was so easy to organise everything from a far, with the events coordinator Jo Da Silva answering all my questions in the lead up to and on the day of the event itself. The homestead staff were wonderful in being on hand for anything we needed on the day and were friendly and accommodating. Our guests loved the menu for the wedding and noted that the food was some of the best they have ever had. We chose Tasmania for this reason, and Quamby always uses exceptional Tasmanian produce. I can't thank the people we worked with for decorations, photography, our dj, celebrant and guest transport enough.They all knew the venue well and made it the most relaxing wedding ever. I would highly recommend Quamby as a wedding venue (particularly getting married under the big hornbeam tree). Happy to provide any advice to those couples looking for options.

Room Tip: If you are the bride and groom, choose room number 12. This room is semi-detached from the rest of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mealzybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quamby, Public Relations Manager at Quamby Estate, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mealzybug,
Many thanks for your wonderful review. Your wedding was a stunning occasion and we were thrilled to look after you and your guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quamby Estate in the future perhaps to celebrate a special anniversary.
Congratulations once again.
Warm regards,
Quamby Estate Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagley
11.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
11.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
9.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
6.8 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.7 mi away
Entally Lodge
Entally Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hadspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quamby Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quamby Estate

Property: Quamby Estate
Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hagley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quamby Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quamby Estate is an iconic country manor situated on 150 acres of picture book landscape just 15 minutes on the Highway from Launceston in Tasmania's pristine and stunning Tamar Valley. A free shuttle service is available from the airport at selected times. This enchanting property is one of Tasmania's most prestigious and historically significant properties dating back to 1828 when it was the ancestral home of Tasmania's first-born Premier, Sir Richard Dry. Lovingly restored, Quamby Estate's charming Anglo-Indian designed architecture, period antiques and marble fireplaces combine modern luxuries to offer the complete country getaway. Extensive entertaining areas, a restaurant or private dining locations, library and a chef to showcase Tasmania's gourmet local produce will complete your Quamby experience. Quamby Estate's beautiful homestead features ten impeccably restored guestrooms and suites, luxuriously adorned with an eclectic collection of original art and antique furniture mixing the old and the new. Marble or stone bathrooms with heated floors and superior amenities, flat screen TV's, DVD players, complimentary continental breakfast, WiFi and in-house movies and heating units or fireplaces feature. Deluxe suites are also inclusive of spa baths. Quamby Estate boasts a tennis court, tree-lined laneways, hiking and bike trails, lakes and streams and an impeccably manicured golf course which Sir Richard Branson holds the Number 1 Membership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quamby Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing