We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cradle Mountain Huts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hagley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cradle Mountain Huts
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cradle Mountain Huts”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just completed an enthralling Cradle Mountain 4 day walk hosted / guided by the Tasmanian Walking Company, which exceeded all expectations. From the admin and support staff to the guides, these guys are organised and efficient. Their base is in the grounds of Quamby Estate approx. 30 minutes from Launceston, which is a great place to shower and clean up after the walk or even bunk down if you wish. We only did a 4 day walk from Waldheim to Arm River due to time constraints, but were wishing we had the full 6 days. The scenery is spectacular and diverse, the environment is pristine (no rubbish). The guides Mitch and Alice were brilliant! They are young, fit (very fit) and vibrant, fountains of knowledge on the history and flora and pretty good cooks as well. The quality of food was far better than expected and the local wines tasted pretty good too. We didn't have any rain but were grateful for the hot showers and heaters at the end of each day. Brilliant trip, can't wait to go back and complete the rest of the track.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi tony p,
Thanks for such a great review – so pleased your walk exceeded your expectations, perhaps at some point in the future you could join us for a six day adventure.
Mitch and Alice are amazing guides who have great knowledge about the local flora and fauna and they are both great cooks as well.
To have the comfort of a private hut, hot shower, good food and wine at the end of each day is incredibly special and we are lucky to be able to offer such a unique experience in such a remote location.
We hope to see you back in Tassie at some point in the future.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
52
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I have done the Cradle Mountain Huts Walk and I loved it more than last time and can't wait to do it again. The guides (Mitch and Alice) are amazing, the food is superb and the location is absolutely spectacular. Keep doing what you are doing!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Mark Y,
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor - it's great to see that this is your second walk with us. Mitch and Alice are amazing guides and cooks and like you said the scenery is just so special.
Maybe we will see you down in Tassie for a third walk?
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Five nights in very comfortable huts with nothing heavier than a day pack. That's good enough but our guides also chilled our whites, decanted our reds and baked our daily bread, muffins and scones. In their off-cooking time they gave us expert guidance on flora, fauna (pademelons are so cute), geology, archeology and even some great history.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi KimRea,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Sounds like you had a great walk and enjoyed many different aspects of walking the Overland Track with us. Our guides are certainly multi taskers and multi talented. I am pleased you enjoyed their cooking as well as their interpretation of the trail.
We hope to see you back in Tassie for another walk at some point.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a trip I've wanted to do for years, and it exceeded all of my expectations. Admittedly, I was lucky with the weather, which was warm and dry throughout, and sunny on most days, so the spectacular scenery was shown in all its glory. The air was so clear on Day 1 that we got a clear view of Frenchman's Cap from the ridge between Fury Gorge and Waterfall Valley. There was such variety from rainforest to dry forest, alpine meadows to moss-filled gullies, mountain tops to waterfalls, that the walk never dragged, and there was always something new and exciting to see just around the corner or over the next ridge.

I have to credit much of my enjoyment to our two guides, Rob and Alyssa, who impressed the group right from the start with their extraordinary levels of confidence, competence, and knowledge, not only of the names of any of the mountains or plants we cared to interrogate them on, but also of history, Greek mythology, ecological politics, and a thousand other things. Their cooking, too, was impressive, and we dined restaurant-style every night.

The huts are welcoming and cosy, with comfortable beds, hot showers, sofas, and a clever eclectic little library that is (almost) the same in each hut, so that you don’t have to carry the weight of a book with you. The huts are located in some of the most beautiful and peaceful areas, and you truly can “feel the serenity”! The logistical exercise of building, maintaining and stocking these huts for six months of the year is an impressive feat in itself.

The trip is not inexpensive, but I have yet to meet anyone who thought it wasn't value for money. The purists may look sideways at the luxury aspects (as if anyone could call such necessities as a shower and a comfortable bed "luxuries!) and I shared a bit of good-natured rubbishing with public walkers on a couple of occasions! However, I am certain that if I had had to carry 20kg instead of 9kg, pitch a tent each night, cook my own (undoubtedly unappealing) food, and sleep on a sleeping mat instead of a mattress, then I wouldn't have had the energy at my (middle) age to enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi sapientpear,
Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review. I am really pleased you had a great walk with Rob & Alyssa – they are both great guides and we are lucky to have them as part of our team.
I agree the changing scenery along the trail makes for a really interesting walk. I was so surprised the first time I did the track at how each day is completely different.
To come into a warm hut each night with a hot shower and good food really make the evenings so comfortable and social. It feels like such a treat when you are somewhere so remote.
We hope to see you back in Tassie for another walk at some stage.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The 6 day Overland track with Cradle Huts is an awesome trip. Our guides Ben and Andy were amazingly multi-talented; being incredibly fit was just the start. They also had wonderful people skills, were knowledgeable about flora, fauna and history of the region, were excellent cooks and cleaners and entertained us with their guitar skills each evening. As others have said, the huts are very cosy and warm and the food is excellent (pull-apart home-made garlic bread on pizza night was a real treat).

Our party of 10 ranged in age from early 50s to late 70s, and there were certainly faster and slower groups (not necessarily based on age, and not necessarily with the same members each day!) but Ben and Andy handled this well, and with regular meeting points no-one ever felt left behind. There were lots of opportunities to get to know the other members of the group. And there were also times when you could be walking with no one in sight, a magical way to experience the wilderness. The scenery is amazing, from the patterns of tree roots underfoot all the way to the craggy dolorite mountains, and the glimpses of the history of the area are fascinating.

The walk is challenging even if you walk regularly. Even though much of the way has excellent boardwalks, there are still frequent sections where keeping your eyes on the ground is essential to negotiate tree roots, rocks, mud or puddles. The 10kg pack does get easier each day, especially when worn correctly (and this guidance was provided from the start). We had reasonable weather early on (luckily a magic day for five of us to climb Mt Ossa with Andy), with rain on the last two days. With the proper gear this isn't a problem, and you can really enjoy walking straight through puddles! The only disadvantage of the rain was trying to keep the camera dry. (It's a tough call for photography enthusiasts – the weight of a good camera and plenty of spare batteries, vs something light that you can actually keep accessible without too much pain.)

A lot of thought has gone into making this an extremely well organised and ecologically sensitive operation. Can’t wait to do Bay of Fires now.

Room Tip: There is no need to race to get the best room in the next hut - they are all pretty much the same, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizbriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Elizbriz,
Great to read that you had an awesome time on the Overland Track with us. Ben and Andy are both fantastic guides and we are very lucky to have them as part of our team.
To be able to have some quiet time out in the wilderness is so special and I love the fact that people can choose whether they are chatting with other group members or have some time out.
I hope you can join us for a Bay of Fires Lodge Walk in the future as it is very different but just as special.
Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

In recent years my husband and I have walked a number of guided hikes in a variety of countries. All are special in their own way because of the physical and cultural terrain we pass through. We were uncertain whether the standards we have experienced elsewhere would be matched in Tasmania. By lunchtime on the first day, after the challenge of climbing to Marions Lookout and hearing about flora, fauna and geological formations, we knew that our guides, Rob and Chris, are knowledgeable and capable. By the end of dinner on the first night we knew that the huts, their facilities, and the logistics of catering for people in remote country would meet our expectations.

Our only responsibility (apart from walking the distance) was to revel in the exhilaration of re-discovering this magnificent World Heritage listed wilderness. When we walked it 40 years ago it had not yet been nominated. The guides' interpretation helped us to see things we wouldn't have seen, identify things we wouldn't have recognised, and explained things we didn't know. It was, truly, another walk. Both guides are great cooks and good companions.

My congratulations to Tasmanian Walking Company for their Cradle Mountain Huts 'experience'. It was a joy to be able to 'tread lightly' in a wilderness area, and a privilege to be able to do it in relative comfort.

Room Tip: The accommodation is comprised of five twin bunk rooms, with just enough space for the necessities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-of-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Jo-Of-Melbourne
Thanks so much for your lovely review and I am really pleased you found our guides and accommodation to be world class.
You must have seen some interesting changes along the Overland Track having walked it some 40 years earlier. A little more board walk no doubt!
We hope to see you back down this way again at some point in the future.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It is hard to know where to start reviewing this whole experience.

I guess sometimes people will look at the cost. My conclusion? It is worth every cent of what you pay!

The scenery...stunning! I think that this is the most beautiful walk that I have done. Every day is different....every day is beautiful.

The accommodation....great. It is so great to get back to your hut each night. (I will come back to that)

All this is just the beginning. The guides are great. I know other reviews talk about these but they really are great. We had Nick and Kenna. These are great guys. They are patient, they are encouraging, they are sensational cooks. They work from dawn to night. There is nothing they could not answer and their love and passion for the Tasmanian wilderness comes out every day.

The food is great (I think I actually put wight on!!!). Wines each night are beautiful.

If you want to and you can...do this!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Peter142,
Thanks so much for your fabulous review – I am so pleased you had a great walk and felt you received value for money.
I couldn’t agree more the scenery along the Overland Track is just stunning and to settle each night into your hut is pretty special.
Both Nick and Kenna are incredibly talented guides and we are lucky to have them as part of our team.
We hope to see you back down this way at some point in the future.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagley
11.6 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
531 reviews
11.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
801 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
716 reviews
11.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
11.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Huts

Property: Cradle Mountain Huts
Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hagley
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Huts - Overland Track WalkDiscover the rare beauty and extraordinary diversity of Tasmania’s world heritage-listed Cradle Mountain - Lake St. Clair National Park. Walk the 60km Overland Track and unwind in the warmth and comfort of private hut accommodation each evening. A truly spectacular journey to revive the senses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing