We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful oasis with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Libertad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent three nights at Bemberg during our honeymoon and loved it. Set in a beautiful garden, the house is cozy and full of charm. Loved the library, the food and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annemettemennecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    34
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
109
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Such a wonderful place to stay when visiting the falls or otherwise. An incredibly relaxing environment - with birdsong all around.

Also great to know that the money you spend here goes towards an amazing conservation project for one of the world's most endangered forests.

One of my favourite stays in argentina and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hela2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

This was one of those amazing experiences where everything you read told you it would be wonderful, but the actual experience beats anything you could have imagined.

I am like so many reviewers before me. The location is amazing, spread out away from the tackiness of Puerto Iguazu, this is a haven across wonderful natural land. It might sound expensive when you are thinking about booking, but it's real value for money.

The food is amazing, we're talking 5 star dining in the middle of nowhere! The Posada offers local items of interest. When you arrive, Emilio or one of the team will discuss options and you can choose from jungle walks, boat rides on the Parana river, bird-spotting walks, the hummingbird garden, a trip to Salto Yasi, and so on. It was so good at the Posada, we even reduced the amount of time spent at Iguazu Falls so we could enjoy more time at the Posada.

Naza was the resident naturalist/guide for our trips. Smart and passionate about her local environment, it was wonderful to hear from someone with so much passion for her country.

Rooms are very luxurious, grounds are very well maintained, and there is a great viewing platform to look across the Parana River to Paraguay. The platform is a great spot for a drink in the afternoon.

I can just picture coming back from Iguazu Falls at lunchtime, being served a late 5 star lunch (no bother from the staff that we were late), with hummingbirds literally buzzing the plants within 2 metres from us.

My only regret is not spending more time here. I would want a minimum 4 nights next time to soak up all it has to offer.

Thank to all the staff for their kindness and help during our stay.

Note that if you stay here, organise a private car through the Posada to take you to/from the Falls and airport. A little more expensive but very clean, ontime vehicles.

Room Tip: Get the Posada to organise your car transfers to/from the airport and the Falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The best part about this hotel is that you will inevitably have travelled considerable distance to get here and when you do it is a delight. Don't miss Nazareth's jungle walk early in the morning. She is a mine of information. The food is very good and the ambiance of the dining room convivial.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NumOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Posada Puerto Bemberg is a beautiful, peaceful place and just perfect for unwinding from a long flight. We enjoyed hiking the extensive forest trails with the terrific naturalist guide, reading by the pool, sunset drinks overlooking the Parana River, and a few excursions into the surrounding area. Our room was spacious and remained cool during the afternoon heat, perfect for naps. One of us is a hardcore birdwatcher while the other isn't, but the Posada offered enough diversity and creature comforts to keep both of us happy. The birding is excellent, and we saw several species that are less likely to be seen at Iguazu Falls.

Iguazu Falls is about an hour away, and the front desk can arrange a taxi to get there. We spent a whole day at the falls, leaving the Posada at 8:00 in the morning and returning at about 6:00 PM. It was a great day trip, but after dealing with hordes of tourists at the falls we were happy to return to the Posada's quiet seclusion. In response to some of the other reviews, I would like to note that the days of bargain travel to Argentina are over, at least for now, and prices for food and lodging in the area around Iguazu Falls are relatively high. Yes, the Posada is not cheap, but we felt that we got our money's worth. Because of the remote location, we ate almost all meals at the lodge during our five-day stay. The menu changed daily, and we learned to ask for the pool menu for lunch, just to mix things up a bit with basic sandwiches or salads. The food didn't always knock our socks off but, overall, we were happy with it. The wine list is impressive and we sampled many different wines, which we liked especially since Argentina's wine regions were not on our itinerary for this trip.

Bottom line: If you want action-packed travel and hit a few bars after dinner, you'll be better off staying in Puerto Iguazu. If you want to relax, enjoy nature and get pampered by attentive staff in beautiful surroundings, Posada Puerto Bemberg is the right place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alywaysplanningatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Before choosing here, we were deciding whether to go for the convenience of the Sheraton which is inside the Iguazu park, however had read some of the negative reviews and thought it would be a better experience to stay here away from the crowds and put up with the 45 min drive to the falls. The lodge itself is attractive and I wouldn't contradict the generally positive tone of the other reviews - it's fundamentally a comfortable and relaxing place to stay and we enjoyed our visit. So why only 3 stars? A number of reasons, all in the context of the price - we paid about USD 300 a night which is extremely expensive for Argentina. Examples of various shortcomings which we wouldn't otherwise mind so much really started to grate when we were paying so much and made us feel somewhat ripped off.

Accommodation:
Cheap towels, noisy air con (albeit effective), no mini bar or fridge in the room (there is a basket of soft drinks and water left in the room at very inflated prices - irritating when you have no option but to buy them because of the location).

Staff / Service:
Staff are young and are very friendly, however it is clear that they are inexperienced and English can be an issue. We tried on a number of occasions to ask some advice re whether it was possible to travel from the Argentine side of the falls to the Brazilian side in one day but no-one seemed to understand and just offered us the option of taking a driver for the day at a cost of USD 200 (which we did in the end). The website makes much of the extensive wine list but don't expect the staff to have a clue regarding recommendations and some of the wines from the wine list were unavailable. We had a feeling that no-one on site was really in charge.

Restaurant
As other reviewers have commented the food is not a high point given the price, and the menu doesn't change from lunch to dinner and was repeated every 2nd day. The food certainly isn't bad, but again overpriced which is irritating when you have no other option (the lodge is 3 miles up a dirt track from the nearest village). The coffee was borderline drinkable. Evening background music consisted of what seemed like several Lilly Allen songs and a couple of Norah Jones on a permanent loop.... day in day out.

We didn't take any of the additional activities as resented having to pay extra for nature walks or river cruises at inflated prices.

Despite the negatives, we did quite enjoy our time here, the pool area is very nice and it's a relaxing place to stay and Iguazu falls themselves are well worth the effort of visiting the area. Aggressive pricing and lack of management oversight just let the place down.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anon547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vayrac, France
Level Contributor
214 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I had been promised the following by our UK travel agent (W&O Travel - avoid!): "Situated amidst the jungle and a short distance from Iguazu Falls, Posada Pueto Bemberg offers a luxurious experience in the tranquil beauty of the jungle. The posada's main areas and rooms have traditional colonial architecture with fantastic views of the surrounding area." True so far, although the one "fantastic view" is not from the hotel but from a walkway and platform cleverly built to overlook the Parana river and the Paraguayan bank, behind which the sun sets. "The hotel can organize jungle treks, boat trips on the Parana river to nearby waterfalls and an array of other activities. The resident birding expert is Emilio White and tours with him are included in the program." We were to be severely disappointed. When we arrived in the late afternoon we were greeted by a nervous teenager who showed us to our room. Since there were only 4 other people staying in the hotel and we were there for 2 nights, it would have been good to have had sight of the manager at some stage. All we got was Mr White who came and told us that he was leaving for a few days and that someone else would take us on our "jungle trek". We had specifically booked this hotel because we wanted to see some birds of the Atlantic Rain Forest and had been told that this was a good place to see them (we had just been in the Ibera Wetlands where we had seen masses of different birds). Our guide, Nasa, was knowledgeable and enthusiastic but we were left with the strong impression that there weren't actually many bird species to be seen. The boat trip was a very expensive waste of time. It's advertised as "a private tour" for US$200 for 3 hours on the Parana river. A motorboat sped done the river with us and another couple. The only sights for 30 minutes were some bored-looking members of the Argentinian Navy guarding the middle of the river. We then went into an inlet and came close to a waterfall. In many places this would be a sight worth seeing but by comparison with the nearby Iquazu Falls was small beer. We had hoped to see some wildlife but had to be contect with a heron or two...and a lot of plastic and other rubbish. The boat then went back to the hotel. It had been a tedious 1.5 hours.

The staff were friendly and the food was good. And it is very peaceful, which is great if you want to get away from the crowds at Iguazu. But it seems to be trying to sell itself as an "ecolodge" with prices to match. The owners need to go to somewhere like El Rincon del Socorro in Corrientes Province to see how to cater for people who want to see wildlife and learn about the natural history of the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molepolole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Libertad
22.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
21.2 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#13 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
21.8 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#11 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
#20 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
22.2 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#6 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
20.6 mi away
Costa del Sol Iguazu
Costa del Sol Iguazu
#1 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge

Property: Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge
Address: Fundadores Bemberg s/n | Cataratas Del Iguazu, Puerto Libertad 3370, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Libertad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge is a jungle boutique hotel with personalized 5 star service. The Lodge is strategically located in the Misiones jungle, in a private natural reserve located 35 minutes away from Iguazu Falls. Trails, natural waterfalls, rivers, trees, native plants, birds and fauna of the jungle; characterize the environment of the Lodge that is certified as a sustainable tourism hotel by Rain Forest Alliance. The Hotel was built from an old house owned by the traditional Bemberg Family, which has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture. All spacious rooms feature large windows and a private patio, allowing the traveler to contemplate the jungle. They have been tastefully decorated maintaining its colonial style with a combination of natural and local materials. The hotel features a Gourmet Author Restaurant with international and regional cuisine, a pool surrounded by jungle, boating activities, trekking and jungle interpretation. The lodge has wi fi in the rooms and common areas, and outdoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Puerto Bemberg Hotel Puerto Libertad
Don Puerto Bemberg Lodge Argentina/Puerto Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing