We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly kind and generous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castelchambres, Chateau de Malves
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly kind and generous”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Situated in a quiet little village outside of CArcasonne this hostel is a secret treasure. It is a beautiful setting. Line and her father went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. They even carted us around to find a remote vineyard and drove us into Carcasonne.

Thank you guys. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NayoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here last month over Easter, and the location is truly fantastic. Located just down the road from Carcassonne (you can get here by bus, get in touch with the hostel beforehand for detailed instructions), the views you get are stunning.

The general atmosphere and quality of the hostel is brilliant, unfortunately you can't get into the main section of the chateau, but there's a surprising amount to do nearby and a grocery store next door, and the quality of the accommodation is the best I've experienced in a hostel, for a very reasonable price.

You can borrow a bike for free (just sign a form). I did this and took off down the road to the castles at Lastours which is a brilliant ride and a great trip, then went to Limousis to see the famous caves. This section is a tough ride but well worth it and the trip back down the hill is AMAZING!

Everything Line can do to help you, she will and the whole place has a really relaxed atmosphere. I'd definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmoleyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

One of the best hostels I stayed in over a 3 month stint travelling Europe and staying in numerous hostels!! The staff were amazing and so accommodating. I don't speak any French and I thought that I would struggle. "Line" (pronounced Lina) was so friendly and helpful. As I arrived on a day when there was no public transport available, she offered to pick me up from the train station which was such a help. She also loaned me a bike free whilst I was staying there which was great for exploring Carcassonne and the surrounding villages. If you're an active person and enjoy this side of travelling then there is no doubt that if Carcassonne is on your destination list, stay at Castelchambres!!

The hostel was always clean and the amenities worked well and were also clean and hygenic. The free WIFI worked really well too which is handy when needing to book future hostels, train tickets, etc..

If you are travellling to Carcassonne without a car, I would suggest a little forward plannig if you decide to stay at Castelchambres. The public transport is nothing like it is in the big cities and you may find it a struggle to get to the hostel from the train station if you arrive in the evening or on Sundays. That said, if you drop the staff an email, I am sure they would be as accommodating as possible to help you out with getting from Carcassonne to the hostel. I really can't give enough praise to the staff for how great their service is. If I am ever lucky enough to do more travelling in France, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Everything was great, a good price/value ratio, the woman in the reception was quite nice, and the double room was big and clean. The bathroom was made for having a bath more than a shower, so relaxing...
My only critic would be that the property should indicate better that you need to cross the city center of "Trebes" (following the "Marsellette" pannels) to see for first time the pannel of the village where it is: Malves-en-Minervois. We got a bit lost trying to find the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaetaMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is a delightful and charming small hostel/hostel in the quintessential of French villages. After problems en route from the Dordogne with our car, we arrived late to find the staff and owners very helpful and still waiting to welcome us, to point us in the direction of food, and set us a table in the beautiful courtyard just in time to see the sun set. The next day, after a lovely breakfast, they helped us find accommodation the next night after a last minute change of itinerary.

The rooms are clean and simple but stylish. The staff are very friendly and the location peaceful and beautiful. Be sure to check out the graffiti wall in the garden park - a surreal surprise in such a small place. As for the church bell - can't say we noticed it after a few glasses of the excellent local wine and such a warm welcome.

We'd very much recommend Castelchambres highly and hope to be able to visit again in the future, with more time to spend lazily in such a relaxing and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Wonderful wonderful hostel. I would definitely stay here again. Everyone was so nice and the rooms are beautiful and clean. The staff was wonderful from start to finish from rides in and out of carcassonne and to the train station!!! The breakfast was delicious!! I hope I can stay here again!! :DDD Thank you again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Wonderful place in a quiet town. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and accommodating. The guests and regular patrons of the restaurant were all very pleasant and friendly people as well. I highly recommend Castelchambres.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwitiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malves-en-Minervois
1.4 mi away
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
#1 of 1 in Villalier
214 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
6.2 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
300 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
6.8 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelchambres, Chateau de Malves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelchambres, Chateau de Malves

Property: Castelchambres, Chateau de Malves
Address: avenue du Chateau | Carcassonne, 11600 Malves-en-Minervois, Conques-sur-Orbiel, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Conques-sur-Orbiel > Malves-en-Minervois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Malves-en-Minervois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castelchambres, Chateau de Malves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelchambres, Chateau De Malves Malves-En-Minervois, France - Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing