We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely gite in a rural location”

Review of Gites Lily & Poppy

Front of properties, La Reaute
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of properties, La Reaute
Poppy Terrace Lily Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Front of properties, La Reaute
Poppy Terrace
Lily Living Room
La Reaute before renovations
The gardens of La Réauté
Gite Lily Garden
Poppy Twin Bedroom
Lily Double Bedroom
Lily Twin Bedroom
Poppy Kitchen
Poppy Living Room
Gites Lily & Poppy
Poppy Double Bedroom
Ground floor plan of Gites Lily & Poppy
La Chapelle sur Vire
Playground at La Chapelle
Omaha
Saint Lo Saturday Market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Moyon, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maggie S
Berkhamsted
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely gite in a rural location”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We found the gite easily using sat nav and the house was clean and comfortable. Well equipped to self-cater, warm with central heating and sky TV. Across the yard from the gite were fields with horses grazing The area was rural, with small villages within easy driving distances, with suitable restaurants for tasty very economical meals. Several supermarkets were nearby for shopping. The only negative point was that there was only limited hanging space for clothes, and one of the bedrooms did not have a mirror, and as senior citizens we found the seating in the main room too low for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having enough room to spread ourselves, and feel at home
Liked least: Settee and chairs in the main room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido189
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This corner of British Islands in France - and I'm Italian - is the best for vist Normandy. It's close to the landing beaches, close to Bayeux and Caen, not far from Mt. Saint Michel.
The house is equipped with everything you need: washing machine, pots and dishes, bed linen and towel, fireplace and wifi too. For an Italian like me the only thing missing is the moka for the coffee.
The place is pacefull and quite, clean and pretty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The silence in the night
Liked least: The bathroom near the kitchen and far from bedrooms
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJB2001
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, peaceful and spotless”
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Booked this with a bit of trepidation as last gite we stayed in was full of fleas! However, no worries here - everything was spotlessly clean and tidy. Lovely location, peaceful and close to the village so we could run/cycle there and back in 10 minutes with our croissants and baguettes. Pretty village too and lovely countryside.

Only downside was we could only stay one week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was as advertised, if not better
Liked least: no colander (so nothing to dislike!)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelamel...
Riverchapel , Co. Wexford Ireland
1 review
“Gite Poppy”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Dear Polly,
We would like to thank you for a lovely holiday in Gite Poppy.It is pretty, cozy and most importantly, is perfectly well equipped kitchen and other rooms. Service very friendly and helpful and in particular boys of Ireland (Conor and James). Beautiful surroundings very much a place for children, close to Moyon, where you can stock up on basic supplies (local bakery has wonderful bread). Close by is a wonderful sandy beach and worth to see the Mont Saint Michel city. We've been spending a wonderful time and in good conscience recommend this place to another family with kids. Thank you again from Angelika & Michael, Veronica and David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gite Poppy was very tidy and the insde was in 100% the same like on the photo.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicbob_20...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing and Peaceful”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was a great stopover location for our onward trip to Il de Rey. The owner very welcoming, friendly and full of advice. We were also allowed to book for four nights, which helped with our holiday trip greatly - rather than the usual Sat to Sat. The gite was very clean and well stocked. Although Poppy was quite small inside, there was plenty of outside space for kids with lots of energy to run around. They enjoyed looking at the horses and cows in adjoining farm. I felt very at home here straight away. It was a good location to explore the local area, Bayeaux etc.
We also appreciated the Sky TV, as the olympics were on at the time!


T

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the place and the open space outside.
Liked least: The small living room.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful French Countryside”
Reviewed 11 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

I had been threatening to rent a place in France for a week for several years and we finally took the plunge and rented Gite Poppy for a week. It was very quiet and comfortable and we really enjoyed it.

The property is located a couple of minutes’ drive from the center of the village of Moyon. Moyon is a short drive from nearest motorway, surrounded by rolling hills and picture post card French country villages. On the ground floor you enter into an open plan living / dining room furnished in comfortable and casual furniture. There is a comfortable kitchen with all of the essentials, and a small but functional bathroom – with a clothes washing machine. Upstairs are two nice sized bedrooms, with roof windows. One bedroom has a queen size bed and the other can be set up as a king size bed or two twins. The owner lives on site and was very friendly and helpful. She is from Britton and has lived and worked in France for over a decade.

As an American I was a little intimidated by paying by bank transfer – but it was actually quite easy. Polly sent me the wire transfer instructions, I took them into my local bank branch and the staff there took care of it (for a fee of about $45.) Polly confirmed that the payment had arrived within a couple of days.

Moyon has a small local shop with groceries, fresh fruit and vegies and wine, and a wonderful butcher shop next door (try the Lapin Terrine.) There is a wonderful bakery around the corner. There is a mid-sized Carrefour market in Tessy an easy 10-15 minute drive away.

There are a million things to see and do in the area including turning off the sat-nav and getting lost on the back roads and post card villages.

It was a very relaxing week. We found the rental very comfortable. It was so nice to be able to shop in the delightful markets and have a "home away from home" to take things back to.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing