We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Gite Poppy perfect getaway”
4.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gite Poppy

Poppy Terrace Spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppy Terrace Spring
Poppy Kitchen Poppy sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good
12 reviews
Poppy Terrace Spring
Poppy Kitchen
Poppy sitting room
The river at La Chapelle sur Vire
Poppy Twin Bedroom
Poppy Double Bedroom
Playground at La Chapelle sur Vire
The gardens at La Reaute
Gites Poppy & Lily
Abbaye d'Hambye
Bicycling up to the village
Sunset Rainbow over Moyon
Abbaye des Hommes, Caen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Moyon, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kellieann...
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gite Poppy perfect getaway”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The gite is small and compact but everything you need for a good break away. It has its own little garden with seating and we made friends with the family pets doogle, spot and the tabby cat, who also quickly made themselves at home. The wood burner is a deff must for those evenings after a long day. This is a place you go to if you want a break away from it all, lovely scenery and very very quite occasionally interrupted by the beautiful horses in the field opposite. The little town of Moyon only about 5 minutes walk away has a butcher, convenience store, patisserie with fresh bread every morning, and a tobacconist. all you really need. the main town are not that far away st lo is a busy town but with plenty of large supermarkets to stock u[p on. only about a 40 minute drive away are all the wartime museums and beaches which are lovely for remembering those who lost their lives in the war. My children aged 17 and 14 had a great time walking with the dogs feeding the horses and generally exploring. i would recommended this to anyone who loves a break away but not too far from the bustling towns. Even though the weather wasn't always nice for us it did not stop us doing things we wanted to do even if the rain didn't last that long. All in all will definitely go back next year maybe even book gite lily next door for the parents ! thank you for our stay xx

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: enjoyed everything location spot on
Liked least: didnt like coming home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurley201...
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A great stay”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely rural setting. Everything we needed to make our stay both enjoyable and comfortable. Very good value for money. A friendly and efficient host.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Rural setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Retreat in French Counteyside”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Gite Poppy was a comfortable and cozy retreat in the French countryside. My two teenage daughters and my husband especially liked...
...the beds which were the most comfortable we've experienced away from home.
...the amount of space in the apartment with the two bedrooms upstairs and a sitting room combined with dining room and kitchen downstairs
...the quiet of the countryside with fields all around us (and three handsome horses which we could see from our front door), yet it was only about 10 minutes from the highways.
...our helpful host, Polly, who was easy to reach (being right next door), and who was happy to assist us and was friendly as well as fun and easy to visit with. If Polly wasn't available, her assistant, Claire, was just as helpful.
...the location in the center of Normandy made it easy for us to visit the beautiful and scenic Mont St. Michel as well as visit the Museum of Peace in Caen and the American Cemetery at Omaha Beach.
Thank you, Polly!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The beds and the beautiful location
Liked least: I can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairs201...
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gite in a great area to explore the delights of Normandy.”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This Gite is well equipped with all you need for a great stay. Good beds and pillows and linens. The kitchen has plenty of little extras for cooking and preparing your own meals, TV with Sky channels in English and DVDs (for kids also), books and a lovely outdoor area to enjoy the sunshine. A very helpful and friendly host and helpers made sure anything we needed was attended to and we enjoyed the rural outlook of the property a lot. A good base to explore the Normandy region.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Tranquility and host interaction.
Liked least: Gravel driveway.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ads951
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A piece of peace at Poppy”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

There is a corner of a foreign field that is forever England. The truism from Brooke written so long ago about a different corner of France remains true to this day, and that any Englishman fortunate enough to find himself welcomed in France is a lucky man. I was this lucky man for a few days earlier this year when I visited Gite Poppy near St Lo. OK, I was with my lover, and the weather held, but everything else was not left up to chance. The owner and her girls are a delight to be around, but only appear when greeted by a wave. I think that 'friendly' is the word I am looking for. And helpful. Two words.

I was really happy to find out that the description of the Gite is damn near perfect - remote, pretty and well-appointed, and providing the level of comfort and amenity that we wanted. It is cute, it is in the countryside (although the delicious bakery is only a short drive away) and it gave me the impression that time had slowed down to a perfect pace. The sort of pace where you no longer look at clocks to know that it is time for bed.

I have spent many, many happy holidays in France, from boy to man, and our stay at Gite Poppy was one of the best. Thanks, Polly, Merci, Eliane et Nina; you made our stay a truly memorable one and we will see you again.

As this is a review, here's the bit about the downside: Um... Er... I will have to go back with a much more critical eye for that.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Being woken up by sunshine.
Liked least: Being woken up by sunshine.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikegantz...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Perfect retreat from a busy world”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I have recently had the pleasure of staying in one of the two Gites offered by Polly Watt
near the village of Moyon....I managed to catch the tail end of summer and it turned out to be a relaxing yet productive break...
The Gites are situated in a tranquil rural spot just a two minute drive from Moyon, a pleasant little village with a couple of bars, a bakery and a small shop...
Saint Lo is close by too..which has everything you might need for a self catering holiday...
The Gites are in comfortable proximity to plenty of Normandie tourist attractions including
bayeux, mount st michel and the d-day beaches to name a few...
The Gites themselves are bright, clean and nicely equipped for cooking and entertaining etc.. They are well connected too with broadband wifi and television with an english skybox. The beds were impeccably turned out and were very comfortable to sleep in.
Polly (and her two very sweet daughters) were very helpful and were always on hand to recommend places to eat and local events going on around the area..
If you wish to explore Normandie i'd definitely recommend a stay here

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31Myriam
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Gite !!”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband , I and 2 friends stayed at the gite for 4 nights . The accomodations were very good. The gite was very clean, the beds very comfortable and the space was adequate for the 4 of us. The kitchen was well equipped. We cooked all our meals and enjoyed our wine and appetizers on the terrace. It was very relaxing after a long day of sightseeing.
It is located in a lovely area near the town of Moyon, we enjoyed the countryside with the horses roaming around. . Polly is wonderful and made sure that all our needs were met.
We had good access to all the beaches and the Mt Saint Michel.. It is a great area to visit as there is so much to see, we could have stayed longer.
If ever in Normandy again, I would definitively stay at Gite Poppy..
I will also add that the price was very good..

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: We liked everything. Very charming place..
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing