We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery ”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Alveley
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

4 meats - Turkey,Beef,Gammon and Pork and a 16 mind boggling choice of Vegetables all superbly cooked.
Very polite and very pleasant staff, a place that makes you want to return.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 37alecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We had a stopover with Brit stops in our campervan,the field was good and flat and we were offered a hook up which was free cause we had spent money on meals.they have wooden pods and a static caravan to let which was very noisy up to about 11pm,we didn't use showers but I think they really need an upgrade and they were dirty,for others paying £15 a night it would have been an issue.The meals we had was very good although the two vegetarians with us thought there wasn't enough choice for them also service was very slow due to lack , of staff but the staff did their best and were very friendly and Pauline was especially helpful.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Three of us called in on bank holiday Monday following a walk in the country park.

We went inside and ordered our drinks and we all we decided on the carvery. The staff brought our drinks out to us as we were sitting outside taking advantage of the lovely weather.

The carvery itself is absolutely excellent value. The generous chef put so much meat - pork, turkey, gammon and beef - on our plates that it was a struggle to fit the vegetables on. There are many types of potatoes, vegetables plus a pie and light or dark gravy.

Everything was cooked like a proper roast dinner, including the meats which were tasty and succulent.

This is far superior to the well known chain carvery and at £7.99 per head absolutely excellent value.

Plus the staff who served us were very polite, efficient and friendly.

Can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blurredgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Took the grandchildren for an early tea we saw the playarea from the road so decided to give it a go the.we all had the carvery which was very good and well priced .unfortunately the playarea was so dangerous we couldn't leave the children to play on there own i had to remove broken glass smashed mugs and nails there was litter everywhere .the play equipment was so in need of repair such a shame

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Gaynor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Despite the table being booked in advance, nothing was ready when we arrived. A few tables were then pushed together and laid up. Waiting staff somewhat indifferent and food average. There is a gastro menu, but the food we had was quite average. Would not return.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Shatterford, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.