We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic Setting, But misses as Romantic B&B” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic Setting, But misses as Romantic B&B”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary in Central Coast wine country. Beautiful area and great wineries, but we needed a romantic B&B to make the trip perfect. The Ballard Inn has been highly rated on many sites, and it is a perfect setting but with great opportunity for improvement. At $300+ per night most of us frequent travelers would expect robes in the room and plenty of plush linens. Not at the Ballard Inn. One bath towel per person- sorry ladies. No ironing board for people coming across the country? No TV in the room? OK, I can live with that. No mini-fridge in a room in wine country? Who doesn't want to stash the perfect Sauv Blanc or Viognier in the fridge to have a perfect glass while preparing for the evening?
And ask for the manager? She won't be back until Monday. The expected scheduled wine tasting at the Inn Saturday night? Canceled. No offense intended, but you would expect to have a manager on duty and maybe even access to the owners. Not here. Lot of other B&B's I would recommend well before this one. Too many disappointments here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    47
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
125
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Every time we are in the area we have stayed at many different places none of which have been a favorite, but the Ballard so far is the best place we have stayed. The rooms are clean, but older. The bed was comfortable and we liked the Pelegrino in the room as well as the cookies at the nightly turn down. The appetizers in the evening were very creative, tasty and plentiful and breakfast was very good. The Ballard Inn advertise complementary WiFi, however, two people could not use it at the same time and once you stopped using it even for 1 minute you would have to log back in. This caused a slight issue in the morning when we were both trying to log in to read our local paper and check email. Overall it was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the mountain room which was at the end of the hall and looked to be one of the more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CADream1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have been back to the Ballard Inn four times, and we find it one of the most special inns that we have ever stayed at. The rooms are comfortable and interesting, there is complementary WiFi, and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The main building is beautiful, with a large common room that is a pleasant place to talk; we have met some very interesting guests there. Great coffee and sparkling water are available most of the day, and delicious cookies appear on the pillows every evening. One of the main pleasures is the happy hour every day that includes wine and a nice spread of cheese, fruit, and some other appetizers. The wrap-around porch has rocking and deck chairs and makes a relaxing place to just sit and breathe in the fresh air. Cell phone reception is spotty at best, but that just adds to the relaxing atmosphere.

We have used the golf package for the River Course at Alisal and the dinner package that includes a dinner at the Ballard Inn. What great experiences! The meals have always been comparable with the best that we have had in any of the major cities that we have visited. The location is within minutes of tasting rooms in Los Olivos and the many vineyards around the St. Ynez Valley. Within 0.5 miles in one direction is a farm with miniature donkeys, in the other are miniature ponies. Solvang is a fun place to look around and get some great Danish pastry. We look forward to returning for a 5th visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveler033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Ballard Inn is my favorite place to stay in the Santa Ynez Valley wine country. It's a modern bed & breakfast with old world style. The rooms are spacious and many offer king size beds. The restaurant is outstanding - Chef Budi (who also owns the inn) has a well deserved reputation for high end food. Go for the weekday package that includes $100 toward dinner - you won't regret the room or the meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The staff was courteous, the food was absolutely incredible (that's what happens when a master chef owns the place!), and the rooms were beautiful. I'm not sure what else to say, except it may have been the best B&B I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Ahhh! That's likely to be your reaction upon entering the Ballard Inn lobby. Quietly upscale and catering to those in love, the property is immaculate and comfortable. We've stayed in several rooms; each has it's own charm. This has become my birthday weekend destination for a few years now. Simply lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

we tend to stay here about once a year or so. We like to stay in different rooms. this time it was the mountain room. Large, we a fire place and small balcony. Staff was very friendly, good wines and snacks in the afternoon and very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcuscgr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballard
2.6 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Property: Ballard Inn
Address: 2436 Baseline Avenue, Ballard, CA 93463
Region: United States > California > Ballard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballard Hotel Ballard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing