We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day at Ballard Inn”
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Day at Ballard Inn”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

The Ballard Inn is a wonderful bed and breakfast in the quiet town of Ballard. The location allows you to visit many of the wineries in the area. The rooms are clean and decorated nicely. Our bathroom was extremely small and the sink was in the bedroom. The main issue with the inn is the service charge. We were in the wineries during the day and basically paid $25.00 dollars to be served breakfast for two.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LATraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    47
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
125
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

This was a perfect place for a wine country visit. Very centrally located for wineries in the Los Olivos area as well as Solvang which is only 3 miles. Very easy and plentiful parking right behind the rooms, Quick and easy check-in with very courteous service at the front desk. The rooms all have individual characteristics and decor, very tastefully done. Beds were quite comfortable, bathroom was spacious enough.. There are NO TV's which is one way of keeping down the noise but they do have wireless internet access in each room, so bring along your laptop if you want in-room entertainment.
We enjoyed their wine tasting bar (which featured several good Pinots not found in the typical Solvang tasting rooms) and the oer' derves served from 5- 6 pm. They were quite good - not just cheese and crackers but some very nice selections. They had nice seating spaces in the area to enjoy them too.
The hotel has a first class restaurant, which is considered by many to be the best in Santa Barbara county although we didn't have dinner there. Next time we will. However, they did serve a full breakfast (specials cooked to order) which was included in the total room price, and it was very good.
We paid $ 275 for our room, which is pricey but considering the "extras" you get with that (free internet access in rooms, ouer derves, full breakfast) it wasn't a bad value...

  • Liked — Quaintness - quality of service - tastefulness
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RMillerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I really liked the Ballard Inn. I love high end hotels, but there isn't anything at all in the Santa Barbara wine country. Baccara is 45 minutes away and the Four Seasons is even further. The Ballard Inn was the next best thing.

Some reviews say that it's pricey. Well, I could have stayed in the Marriott by the 101 freeway for $189 or Hadsten House (really a motel) for around $200. The Ballard Inn was $245 including breakfast and what a great breakfast! Well worth the price difference. The most important thing for me when not in a high end hotel is the bed. It was very comfortable! The staff were friendly, but unobtrusive. The food was excellent (gourmet french toast, smoked salmon and green onion scramble, excellent mini-pastries and Peet's coffee) as I expected from a restaurant rated 28/30 in the ZAGAT guide.

It is an Inn, which means you are basically in a converted country house, not an ultra-private luxury hotel, but it's done as well as it could be and was still very quiet. I didn't care about no TV or DVD - there's food and wine all around! Just make sure to look at the rooms online and decide the right one for your style - I would have hated to be in the flowery Mildred room - but some may love it!

Definitely consider this if you need somewhere to stay in SB wine country.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, Great food.
  • Disliked — sink in bedroom rather than bathroom (but I understand the space issue)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

This is a very nice place to stay, but on the pricey side. There aren't a lot of places in the area to stay, so if you need to be in Los Olivos (as I did), it's either this or Fess Parker's (stayed at Fess Parker's last year and tried to get it again this year but they had a two night weekend minimum, whereas Ballard let us stay just one weekend night, which was good of them). Our bed was very soft, but we were told it was a new mattress, so perhaps it was just not what we were used to. The breakfast was prepared well, and there was a decent selection of offerings. The Inn is in a residential area and not walking distance from shops or cafes.

  • Liked — Professional and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Bed was too soft
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pomegranate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

My wife and I did not stay at the Inn. We recently ate in the restaurant. We thought the food was outstanding. The service was certainly a compliment to the meal. Several caveats: 1) We thought the atmosphere was a little stark. If it was our place, we would attempt to give the room a more cozy feel. The walls are white and the materials reflect sound. We could not help but hear the conversations from the tables around us. In one case, it was just way too much information. In short, one loud person in that room can easily disrupt the dining experience of the whole restaurant. Perhaps rearranging the tables would help. Perhaps installing booths or dividers would help. Perhaps putting more sound absorbing materials on the walls would help. 2) The restaurant is not inexpensive. Please keep in mind that it is a fine dining experience. We felt the prices were not out of line with other restaurants in its class, however. 3) There is no child's menu. We brought our two seven year olds. They did fine ordering off the regular menu. In summary, it was a nice evening. I am glad we ate there. However, I am not certain that we would return if we were in the area again.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahler6th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, CA
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2008

If you are looking for a place to regenerate your mental batteries then this is the place. The relaxing atmosphere great food and excellent wine were complemented by a friendly staff and comfortable beds. We couldn't ask for more. We had two rooms, one for the kids and one for my wife and I. My youngest is now hooked on B&B's. She liked all the pictures and interresting things around the inn. The breakfast is one of the best I have experienced as it was made to order. The atmosphere lends itself to reading and relaxing or talking - as there are so many interresting things around to talk about. We spent a our morning visiting Rusnak Winery and then went to Solvang for the rest of the day. The tour of the facilities, wine tasting and lunch at Rusnak made us feel very special. All-in-all this destination makes a great getaway for romance or with the family for some quality bonding time without the x-box etc...

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Asphault_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay over Memorial Day weekend. It's quiet and comfortable with very good service. Our room (the Alamo Pintado Room) was very accommodating, (OK the Victorian period chairs were a little "stiff" but the king bed was exceptionally cushy), and although I initially missed the television, I get over that pretty quickly. The setting is perfect for a relaxing weekend, and the breakfasts are amazing. (Ask me about the French toast with chocolate sauce and I'll go on forever.) Do plan on having dinner in their exceptional restaurant, with the expansive wine list you'd expect in the region. It's somewhat pricey, but you get value for your money and the kind of meal you'd likely pay much more for elsewhere. We'll be back.

  • Liked — The food!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballard
2.6 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Property: Ballard Inn
Address: 2436 Baseline Ave, Ballard, CA 93463-9711
Region: United States > California > Ballard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballard Hotel Ballard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing