We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay! Boston , MA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay! Boston , MA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2006

My husband and I spent a night in the Davy Brown Room during our tour of Santa Barbara Wine County. We absolutely loved the Ballard Inn! The staff was very friendly and helpful, definitely earning the additional 10% service charge! This charge isn't any different than resort fees and other additional charges at some resorts. There was a lovely wine reception in the afternoon with cheese, crakers, and more; a bed turndown service; plently of help with restaurant reservations; and a perfectly amazing breakfast! My husaband had pecan and banana french toast and I had an omlette with the most beautiful vegetables. The $215 + a night at the Ballard Inn got us much more than in Santa Barbara the following nights and was well worth it!

We did not eat at the restaurant however heard from others that the food was excellent. We ate at the Los Olivios cafe which was a 5 minute drive from the Inn and the food there was also wonderful!

If we ever get back to Santa Barbara Wine Country we will definitely stay at the Ballard Inn again!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BosLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    47
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
125
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2006

We loved The Ballard Inn!! We went with another couple and had such a great time. We also ate at the restaurant and it was fabulous. We got up early both mornings and took long walks around the area. It was so beautiful, there were green rolling hills, pony farms and it's really quiet. We would return to a huge buffet breakfast that was delicious. My husband and I are planning on going back next month and I'm really looking forward to it. It's also close to everything. Solvang is five minutes away and it's just a few minutes to tons of wineries. It's worth the splurge!!

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2006

My fiancee and I stayed in the Mountain Room over my birthday this January. We went to SB to soak up the local wine culture and had read the many good reviews of the Ballard on this forum. Coming from the perspective of those who have been further north to the Napa/Sonoma wine country regions on a similar budget, we felt that the room was greatly overpriced for what it was. As mentioned earlier, the mandatory gratuity on top of local taxes added a nice $65 to our final bill. The bed was uncomfortable and springy, and the room is terribly insulated! It's clean, but not by any stretch luxurious, unless a bottle of pellegrino on the bathroom sink (which isn't in the bathroom, but rather in the bedroom) counts. Additionally, they keep a comment book on the nighttable, and flipping through it gives a nice recount of some scandalous affairs that have occurred in that very bed. Super.

The restaurant is pretty good, I can see why it might be the best in the area, but the wine list leaves a little something to be desired. The breakfasts are filling and the roaring fires cozy. We made our own fun and did have a great time, but that had little to do with the Ballard Inn. It didn't intrude at all, it just wasn't anything special. For $368 a night, I think I'll take my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank melissalf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2005

We stayed at the Ballard for the first time recently, having eaten at the restaurant before. We booked the Vineyard Room, which I think is a little larger than the rest of the rooms, and the room was bright, very comfortable and impeccably clean.

The staff are young, friendly and efficient. Don't miss the chance to sample some local wines from boutique wineries that don't have their own tasting rooms.

Some nice touches - good quality coffee readily available, complimentary hors d'oevres for the afternoon "happy hour" and an eclectic selections of books, magazines and newspapers to browse.

One very slight gripe - the sound insulation in the Inn is not of the highest order, and given that the rooms don't have TV or telephones (I assume for this reason) - the staff could be more insistent on guests maintaining a "quiet time" in consideration of the other people staying there. We were disturbed on our first night by an increasingly noisy group of card players in the lounge directly below our room.

Cellphone reception is poor - not usually a problem, but without a phone in the room you might like to make sure that you're not expecting any important calls.

The restaurant is fantastic. Budi Kazali's food is awesome.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BurbankSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2005

The place is incredible. We've stayed all over the world and this place is the definition of bed and breakfast. The staff is incredible, the food is out of this world, its quiet, and the list goes on!

One must-do is sitting on the porch at sunset and enjoying the wine and cheese presentation. It's what life in the wine country is all about.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marina del rey, california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2005

Recently returned from a second trip to the Santa Ynez wine country and had the pleasure of staying at the Ballard Inn again. What a delighful experience. The Inn is well appointed with great attention to detail, the service friendly and attentive, and the food at the dining room is inventive and absolutely first class. They offer free wine and hors d'oeuvres at 4p.m., and a cooked to order breakfast is also included.
Anyone looking for a great place to stay with ambiance, cuisine and service all in one place, need look no further.

Helpful?
2 Thank minou90292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2005

Be sure to ask about the 20% gratuity before checking into this room. In addition to bed tax, be prepared for a 30% addition to your room rate. THis was very dissappointing considering that the staff did not go above and beyond to earn this gratuity. :(

Helpful?
15 Thank wino1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballard
2.6 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Property: Ballard Inn
Address: 2436 Baseline Avenue, Ballard, CA 93463
Region: United States > California > Ballard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballard Hotel Ballard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing