We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't trust this place!!!!!”
Review of The Eltisley

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Eltisley
Ranked #1 of 1 Eltisley B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't trust this place!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself, my fiancée and my 6 month old baby had booked a room at The Eltisley to see my family around 6-8 weeks in advance. We had been for a couple of meals there in the past and it had been nice. We arrived on the day to find that there was a wedding there. Odd. I walked into the pub and was looked at as if I had taken a leak on their porch. I explained that I had a reservation booked, but once again I was looked at in a confused manner. I was told that my room was GIVEN AWAY to the wedding party, but not to worry, I had been booked into a premier inn at MY EXPENSE 6 MILES AWAY. With no apology I was told there was nothing they could do other than pay for the taxi there and back. As we were visiting family I'm not sure they had taken into account how many times we would need to go back to the hotel having a 6 month old baby. We politely declined this ridiculous offer as we weren't in the mood to lug our things to and fro. The staff were rude and unapologetic. DO NOT TRUST THIS PLACE!!!!

Room Tip: Couldn't say, didn't get that chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gethycymro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    3
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
13
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Anyone who has ever looked for travel accommodation in Britain knows it is often space-efficient, i.e. undersized, and on the expensive side. Sadly, this is one of the not so good examples. For £65.00 one gets a tiny, stuffy room (I wouldn’t want to know what it must be like when it is hot outside), a mouldy bathroom and a worn out interior (complete with holes in the carpet, missing light bulbs, etc.). These are nicely complemented by a non-existing breakfast (bar two glass pots of cereal and milk), no soap and hand towel, and the fact that trying to check out before lunchtime is a matter of chance, since nobody might be there to take your money. In restaurants, inns or pubs with rooms the latter are more often than not an afterthought with no one really looking after that part of the business. The neglect is usually rather obvious, as in case of The Eltisley. I really don’t like writing bad reviews but I am afraid here the verdict can only be: AVOID!, especially for that kind of money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterbilt_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eltisley hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for one night during a trip to Cambridge. We wanted somewhere cheap yet pleasant to stay which wasn't too far from the city - The Eltisley didn't disappoint.

Although we didn't eat in the restaurant, it was very busy on our arrival and looked lovely. We were promptly shown to our room which, to our surprise, was located outside in the garden. There were (I believe) six rooms, located in a row of wooden cabins. Very quaint.

Our room was small but simple and suited our needs perfectly. It felt very welcoming with its modern, chic decor and its warmth. I was delighted to find a mini fridge in the room with complimentary bottled water, milk and orange juice. The TV was very small with a limited number of channels but since it was only a short stay, TV quality wasn't essential. We also found a selection of cereals and tea and coffee facilities included in the price. We had a peaceful night's sleep in the comfy bed with lots of cushions.

I'm afraid it's the bathroom lets this accommodation down. It was a good size and clean however, I found the lack of hand soap rather frustrating. A bar of soap or a bottle of hand gel would have been hugely appreciated! Shampoo and shower gel was provided but it's not the same. The hot tap was also very frustrating because the water would come out after a short delay at great speed in a big blast which would splash over my clothes - not ideal!

Other than this, we had a very pleasant stay. If you're looking for somewhere simple and affordable just outside of Cambridge city to stay for a night or two then the Eltisley is ideal. I would definitely stay here again but I will make a point of asking for soap next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My supper at the Eltisly inspired me to comment for anyone looking for an affordable delicious meal served by friendly helpful staff in an attractive and comfortable setting beautifully decorated. I had the goats cheese to start followed by traditional fish and chips accompanied with mushy peas.All perfectly cooked and brilliantly presented with all necessary accompaniments.The quality of the fish was excellent and the batter crunchy as were the natural chips.The best I've ever had!
I was also very impressed with my nights accomodation at the Eltisely.
Very cosy comfortable room fitted out with all the facilities that makes a nights rest pleasurable and memorable.Attention to detail was impressive.Restful colours,quiet ambiance and service area stocked with mini fridge, fresh milk, mineral water, kettle, cerials with all relative crockery.
The temperature was just right and the shower had good pressure with good quality towels and floor mats.It was great value for the money.I highly recommend The Eltisly for a perfect nights rest.

Room Tip: All rooms equally quiet, well fitted out and welcoming with effective interior design. THE LARGEST I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Have popped in here twice for lunch over the past few months. The first time we both had a quick burger which was delicious. The service was fab, and there was a good choice of wine. Popped in there today for Sunday lunch - and it was even better this time. The starters ( Potted pork, and Salmon) were delicious - very filling too. The mains - (Burger (again), and Chicken with chorizo and bacon) were really, really lovely. The service is a little slow - but the staff are really friendly and are doing all they can to make your expreience enjoyable. We'll be back - and I can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eltisley, Manager at The Eltisley, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. The potted pork is a new addition to our menu, and it has proven to be very popular. We are really proud of our home-made burgers, they sure are some of the best in the area. I will definitely pass your comments on to our chef.

We hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Visited on the 14th December for a romantic meal and was left feeling really disappointed with the poor service. we were left waiting throughout the evening. drinks turned up promptly however after that it was a constant effort trying to catch someones eye for service. then the coup de grace was when it was time to pay, after finally waiting for an age for someone to collect our payment they forgot (i'm assuming) to return with our change! i didnt want to make an issue of it so we left, i guess thats how they receive their tips?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a lovely cosy pub with very friendly helpful staff but the food was a real let down. The nibbles we ordered were nice which consisted of tempura vegetables, halumi and breads with dipping oils. But the starters and main food were poor. If we hadn't been visiting for my grandmothers birthday we would have complained but we didn't want to spoil the occasion. They had run out of the main course we all wanted and also had no ketchup! We wouldn't have minded but we had a 10 year old with us who wasn't so pleased!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eltisley
3.0 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
6.7 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (Colmworth Park) Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales
The Prince of Wales
#1 of 1 in Hilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#1 of 1 in Papworth Everard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eltisley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eltisley

Property: The Eltisley
Address: 2 The Green, Eltisley PE19 6TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Eltisley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eltisley
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eltisley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Eltisley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing