We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B-no-B”
Review of Trewern Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trewern Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Nevern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It's strange as I'm usually more careful than this. I mean B&B should mean breakfast is included, but alas there seems a proliferation of places that squeeze the last drop out of the weary traveller and charge for what should be there anyway. On this occasion I made the mistake of missing the added charge when I booked. If I hadn't missed it, then I wouldn't have booked, it's as simple as that. It was good enough at the original price, but poor at the inflated price. Mind you, I don't mind paying when it's worth it. But on this occasion I didn't think that the 'breakfast' fayre was anything worth writing home for. Indeed, if I had realised that we were paying extra, then we probably would have given it a miss. It's not all bad; as the staff were lovely and the car park ample, and I slept well on the bed. Although we were bemused by the brackets fixing the headboards to the wall. We wondered if they were there to stop someone passing them out of the window onto a waiting lorry, or to stop them rattling during passionate moments. Maybe it was a design intention, simply due to the type of beds and the the type of headboards simply not 'marrying' and as such the only thing left to do was to 'hang' the headboards onto the wall.

TIPS:

(1) don't use the plastic cups/beakers in the bathroom inside the plastic bags, it was quite apparent that our beakers had been washed out and placed inside the bags, yuck. (2) Newport Pembs is nearby and has some lovely places for eating out

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dyntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Trewern Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Trevern Arms during a bank holiday weekend. We had chosen it because it had a family room for 5, the sort of things we always struggle to find, but we had not read any review. So we were positively surprised by the quality of the accommodation and the settings of the inn. It is situated in a small village, in the middle of welsh nature, close to a river and also close to the road between Fishguard and Cardigan, so easily accessible. The rooms are very comfortable and ours had actually two separate areas (parents / children) and a bathroom. It was overlooking the river. The only thing with the room was that it was just above the kitchen, so noisy during meal times (ventilation and water), but this background noise did not bother us much. There is a comfortable pub and separate restaurant, a large parking and staff have been consistently and genuinely good to us. When we broke down on the parking, threatened to cancel our short break and head back home, they spontaneously helped with booking a taxi, hiring a car, and even transporting us and proposing to push the car on the last day. We really felt special all along our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on the bank holiday weekend. Had a great time, the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice plenty of space and spotlessly clean. Also two nice easy chairs, which where very comfortable. We had two evening meals which we both thought where very good, tasty and the portions size was spot on. The breakfast was excellent with really thick tasty bacon.

We will defiantly be going back. Also it is worth a walk across the old bridge into the very small village of Nevern. The church is well a visit, very impressive inside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrellmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for three nights while visiting family in Wales. Hotel supposed to be four star! Room fair size. Bathroom carpet stained. Not very clean. Mirror on dressing table dirty. Wire hangers in wardrobe. Bedroom carpet also stained. Took family to dinner was to be a treat. Quite expensive menu. Food tasteless, greasy. Not present attend very well. Dirty wine glasses on table. Complained to manager who did not take criticism very well. He did however, refund part of meal. Was to be a treat for family, night spoiled by poor service and very poor quality food. Definitely would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to view room before accepting. Cannot comment on other rooms. If the rest are the same quality...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Really loved staying here, all the staff are very friendly and can't do enough to make you feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and tidy. There is a good choice on the menu, and decent portions. The locally sourced sausages are extremely tasty. Thanks to Kevin and the team for a lovely stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank hughierhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here last year and had really been looking forward to our stay.
Loved the location, the village, the exterior, and the bar.Lots of character, beautiful.
We had dinner there in the eve, which was a bit disappointing as quite bland, and we regretted our choices of desserts as tasteless. Didn't taste much like 'fresh and homecooked', more like microwaved and out of a bag.
The service during dinner was not the best, nor very friendly either.
We had to wait for ages before someone came to take our orders, and then again had a long wait, though we did notice that locals who sat down later han we did, were served long before us The waitress didn't seem very interested in talking to us, she preferred to spend her time talking to same locals she clearly knew well.
As for the room, the bed was large, clean and comfortable, the room was great, nice and lots of space. Lovely and warm, just the right room temperature, all through the hotel.
We didn't like the bathroom. First of al, it was carpetted all through, which we found quite unhygienic,and damp, especially with water coming out of the shower.
Worse though was the state of the shower, where mould was growing everywhere, esp around the showerhead.
Also, all upstairs firedoors were held open by wedges, which can be quite dangerous in case of a fire. This is clearly a Health & Safety issue.
All in all, we did had a pleasant stay, thanks to the beautiful surroundings, comfy bed,
just a pity about the bland food, uninterested service, and the dirty shower.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here with a family of 5 in the hotel's large family room. It was spacious, clean, and had a great shower. We didn't eat in the pub for dinner but I did have a pint of local ale and it was well kept and the staff were all around friendly. Breakfast in the morning was great and served quickly. Fishguard ferry port is about 25 minutes away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Yank83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevern
8.3 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
432 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
23.1 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
298 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
124 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trewern Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trewern Arms Hotel

Address: Nevern SA42 0NB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Nevern
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nevern
Price Range: £55 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trewern Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A picturesque and ivy-clad 16th Century Inn, situated deep within a secluded valley and set in its own grounds astride the banks of the River Nevern. Here you can relax in the peaceful surroundings of a bygone era. Of course the standard of comfort and service is all you would expect in our modern times. There is fantastic fishing on the River Nevern, just across the road from the Hotel and some of the best walks in West Wales around the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park or Preseli Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trewern Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trewern Arms Hotel Nevern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing