We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage at...”
other travellers have booked this property
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coed-Y-Paen, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
FredTheCh...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage at a wonderful location”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I've stayed here several times, and each time is as wonderful as the last. The cottage is lovely and the view looking over the valley cannot be surpassed. It is great value for money and Janet and Mike are lovely hosts. The holiday is just simply and totally relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your review, you are always welcome and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahLidd...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend away”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an amazing stay at Forest Cottage. The cottage has amazing views, was beautifully clean and set in the perfect location. There are so many walks and places to visit. The owners Janet and Mike were fantastic. There was nothing that was not too much trouble for them. Our son is a keen clay pigeon shooter and Mike gave him a few lessons. He was so lovely and gave him so much encouragement, that he was beaming after each lesson. I would definitely recommend this holiday cottage and would really like to thank both Janet and Mike for a wonderful stay and making us feel so welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
We really enjoyed your company over the weekend and hope that we can do it again. Mike had as much pleasure teaching Josh as Josh did, he really is a natural. We both look forward to seeing you all again including Lola.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne H
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beautiful cottage with great hosts, we enjoyed our stay at forest cottage. If you want peace and relaxation this is the place to go. Looking forward to rebooking and visiting again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
It was lovely meeting you all and we shall look forward to seeing you again, you are always most welcome.
Kind regards
Janet and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, we loved meeting you all and look forward to seeing you again, you are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lucy123x2...
Powys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“absolutly perfect”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

booked the cottage as a weekend getaway and we are so glad we did . if you want piece and quiet then this place is perfect for you. the location is so tranquil with lots of different walks around and shopping and amenities not too far away . the hot tub adds a touch of luxury and the hosts are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble . The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing weekend . We will defiantly be back .what an amazing place . I cant recommend forest cottage enough .
thank you to mike and janet hopefully we will be seeing you again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
It was great to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed the cottage. We will look forward to seeing you both again, perhaps in the summer when the weather is kinder and all you can hear are the birds and the bees.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly J
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beautiful cosy cottage, surrounded by greenery - the perfect escape from our busy lives. Cottage is idyllic and has all you need and more - inc an amazing hot tub!
We stayed for just 2 nights with our two girls aged 12 and 7, as a last minute thing but we will be returning for a longer stay for sure. We threw on our wellies and enjoyed aimlessly exploring the countryside, just what we all needed - a break from the modern world and all its gadgets.
Mike and Janet were very welcoming and friendly and they were there to help if we needed them.
Would recommend to everyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Dear Kelly
Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased not only that you all enjoyed the cottage and gardens but we will be able to meet you all again. Next time hopefully you can visit some of the local attractions which I am sure the girls will enjoy.
Kind regards
Janet and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
five2017
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just what we needed - a peaceful weekend away - no interruptions - no distractions - apart from the stunning views... the cottage is beautiful - everything you could possibly need for a peaceful break away from it all...
Would definitely recommend and book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing