We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gym membership at the Park Royal”
Review of The Park Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Royal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gym membership at the Park Royal”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Firsly, it must be acknowledged how very good the staff are at the Park Royal Lesuire side of things.

However...for the second time classes were cancelled with no reason given. The first time I gave them the benfit of the doubt that it was a one off, this time though I do not feel so happy. Rumours circulating were that it had been booked out for another event. Paying quite a high premium for gym membership I was quite cross. The mirrors in the studio are cracked and have been for quite a while. But perhaps the biggest problem is the air conditioning system with in the studio, it make busy classes unbearably hot. On several occasions it has been mentioned to staff, and while they were sympathetic there was nothing that they could do.

I very much like attending this gym and have done for a considerable amount of time, but I feel that unless the 'higher up' managment treat their long term service users a little more considerately they may find that they start to loose hard won customers to other gyms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Nadia N,

Thank you for your feedback, however we were rather disappointed to see that you chose to use Trip Advisor in the first instance rather than contact me directly.

We are the only club to offer all classes free to our members and hotel residents. Although we make every effort to ensure all classes run at all times, occasionally we have instances such as sickness and other factors beyond our control where we have to cancel these classes. I believe this has been the case on only 3 occasions in the past year.

We are working with a specialist glazer to repair the mirrors whilst at the same time looking to minimise class disruption. The air conditioning is the optimum kit for the size of the room and will only be affected when the room is over subscribed.

I ensure you that we keep our members welfare as one of our priorities as we appreciate and value their custom. This is one of the reasons why I am actively involved in the club and why we have recently introduced quiz nights, members’ spa nights and other events.

We hope that this isolated incident doesn’t result in you terminating your membership.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    477
    169
    65
    28
See reviews for
256
448
42
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I regularly use the Park Royal for leisure, relaxation and a well deserved rest. I am always treated well, the staff (especially Lauren and Daniel on Reception and Michael in the resteraunt) are first class.....as is the service and food. I am a Breakaway Club member, and would recommend the same to anyone who can use the hotel (or its others) regularly.

I thoroughly enjoy a quiet Sunday night getaway, and will be spending many more in the coming weeks.

Thanks guys
Steve,

Room Tip: If you can get a South facing room with a balcony, you will enjoy (if it's out!) the sun soaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear BigSteve11,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review following your stay at the Park Royal – we are pleased to read that the high standards we have demonstrated to you on your previous visits have been maintained. We are delighted that you enjoyed both our first class service and food – all of your wonderful comments have been passed on to our team who were thrilled to read them.

As you mentioned, being a member of our fantastic Breakaway Club entitles you to brilliant offers at all the Q Hotels in the group. Be sure to check our website for more information on our other fabulous locations, which all boast s similar high standard of service and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future and thank you once more for your kind words.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We took a party of 10 very well behaved ladies for my daughter's hen 'do'. The spa and treatments were brilliant but when we decided to go for lunch to the Costa coffee bar attached we expected similar service to a Costa on the high street. How wrong we were! As it was all waitress service to very low tables, all the drinks slid off the tray soaking a couple of the girls. We ordered toated sandwiches and wraps with side orders of fries to make life easy, but these took over an hour to start arriving in separately, ie chips 20 minutes after the sandwich. The last of our party to receive food was almost 2 hours after we sat down! The waitress commented that the kitchen staff were 'inefficient and in a mood'. There were only 2 or 3 other tables occupied in the bar, so no great pressure on them. This was very disappointing and took up valueable 'spa time'.

Room Tip: Spa is excellent. Rooms looked tired and dated. Eat out if possible. Nice little pub down the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Joan S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel and we are happy to read that you and your fellow hens enjoyed your treatments in our fantastic Spa. We are sorry to read your comments regarding the service in our Lounge Bar however we must make it clear that we sell Costa coffee under licence and don’t operate a full Costa franchise operation. Guest feedback is very important for us to review how we run the hotel and how we can improve for future guests, so I thank you for taking the time to share your constructive comments. We will be reviewing our training in the Lounge Bar to ensure that the issues you experienced do not occur again in the future. Please accept our apologies and we do hope that this doesn’t put you off using the Park Royal again.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just stayed for one night very clean hotel, we paid 135.00 for dinner bed and breakfast,enjoyed our stay Staff very well trained well worth the money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wankchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Wankchop,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your stay and for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the excellent service you received from our well trained staff. We are delighted to read that you feel we offer excellent value for money.

We have 21 Q Hotels across the UK, all with a wide range of facilities and all offering the same high quality service and standards. Please visit our Q Hotels website for more information and for the latest fantastic offers. We hope to welcome you back to The Park Royal Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just spent two nights at this hotel, not sure I would stay here again though.

Room so hot, had ceiling fan on and windows wide open but didnt make any difference to the room temperature.

The Bathroom stunk of urine and had to buy air freshener as it was so bad.

Thought the room looked very tired and could do with a refurbishment.

The breakfasts on each morning were very good and good choice of food.

Dont think I would stay here again have stayed at better Q hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear midlandsgirl67,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the Park Royal hotel. We were pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast and the wide choice of food we offer – our Chefs will be delighted with your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with the temperature and apologised for any discomfort you experienced. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of the en suite do not reflect our usual high standards of hygiene and have been passed on to our Housekeeping team to ensure these standards are maintained. Guest feedback is very important for us to review how we run the hotel and how we can improve for future guests, so I thank you for taking the time to share your constructive comments. We do hope that this doesn’t put you off using us again and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the Sunday of the Jubilee weekend, in a standard room. The room was on the ground floor and had all you would need, and was clean enough, but I wouldn’t say 4 star. Possibly a good 3 star. Spa & pool was good, but too full of screaming children. Not relaxing at all. Staff on arrival were good, but evening staff seemed not so friendly (1 male & 1 female staff member). Staff the next morning were good, as was the breakfast. Hotel is well situated for M6 and Warrington etc. A generally good hotel I’ve stayed in a few times now, and will return, as I now know what to expect.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has rooms that face a field, the other the car park. Both sides are good as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountain48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear mountain48,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be well equipped and clean, and that you also found time to use our fantastic Leisure facilities.

We are sorry to read that you found a small number of our staff to be unfriendly – as you can see from previous comments; this does not reflect our usual high standard of customer service. We apologise for this and hope that your further encounters with the majority of our friendly and helpful team during your stay went some way to rectify any negativity you may have experienced.

Are you a member of our ‘Breakaway Club’ yet? It may benefit you as members get access to offers before they go on sale and also get access to great weekend rates. You can either join at the hotel on your next visit or via the Q Hotels website. These offers apply to all the Q Hotels in the group, many of which boast similar, relaxing locations in beautiful countryside settings all around the UK, together with fantastic facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April and used it as a base to explore the area and go to the Grand National. We got a short taxi ride to the station in Warrington and went to both Liverpool and Manchester by train. We used the spa facilites and had a wonderful relaxing stone massage. Would recommend booking treatments in advance. We ate in the bar area which was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a also a pub just a short walk away which served good value food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliWorks2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear AliWorks2holiday,

Thank you for your recent review of the Park Royal hotel. We are pleased you chose to use our hotel as your base for what sounds like a very eventful trip! We are glad you found the time to use our fantastic facilities and squeeze in a treatment too! Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendliness of our staff – they will be delighted with you comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. For your next visit, why not book one of our new Spa Ritual stays to make further use of the Leisure facilities and enjoy some more treatments! There are lots of different packages are available on our Q Hotels website.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton
19.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
14.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
16.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Royal

Property: The Park Royal
Address: Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Park Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Royal Hotel Stretton
Park Royal Warrington
Hotel Park Royal
Park Royal Hotel Warrington
The Park Royal Warrington/Stretton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing