We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night coach tour stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Park Royal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2 night coach tour stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My friend and I think we would have enjoyed our stay more if it had not been Friday and Saturday nights. The hotel is very big and caters for weddings. Quite a few of that wekends wedding guests obviously stayed both nights and the noise of drunken revellers and their foul language (especially at 2.15am on the Sunday morning ) was not acceptable. However this hotel offered us the best range of choice for both our evening meals than we'd had all week. But breakfast was one of the poorest especially the bacon and eggs which had been kept warm for far too long, Bacon like leather and solid fried eggs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenner873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Wenner873
Thank you for your review of your recent stay and for the positive feedback regarding the food at evening meal. We have taken on board your comments about breakfast and are reviewing what we offer and how we mainmtain quality during busy breakfasts.
We are sorry that you were disturbed by people going to their rooms late at night and whereas the team try to control people when returning to their rooms it isnt always possible to do so.
We hope we can welcome you back in the near future
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    458
    166
    62
    28
See reviews for
250
434
40
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel last weekend as an anniversary celebration with my boyfriend. We loved it. Check in was smooth and pleasant and we had been allocated a lovely QStar room with minibar, bathrobes, nice toiletries etc. The room was large and clean.

I had a massage in the spa which was great, the therapist was really friendly and it was very relaxing. Afterwards we both used the spa facilities, it was quite busy but that wasn't a problem as the pool is a proper 23m pool and there was space for everyone. There is a nice steam room and sauna and a jacuzzi which were lovely to relax in. I used the gym on the Saturday morning, there are 2 - one for cardio and one for weights, it wasn't too busy and I got all the machines I wanted which was great. We used the pool facilities again on the Saturday afternoon and it was a lot quieter.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was lovely, the £26 allocation you get on a dinner package is plenty for 3 courses and the service was attentive. On the Saturday night we got room service which arrived promptly and was hot and fresh. Breakfast was great both mornings, it's a hot buffet but everything is fresh and there is toast, fruit, yogurt, cereals, muffins, pastries, continental etc. Sunday they were incredibly busy and I had to wait a while for my poached eggs but the staff were great about this.

On the Saturday we went to Chester Zoo and the hotel sorted tickets for us, the zoo is an easy 20/25 minute drive from the hotel.

All in all a fantastic stay in a great hotel!

Room Tip: The QStar rooms are a lovely upgrade for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovehotels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear ilovehotels6

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a concise and complimentary review regarding your recent stay at The Park Royal. We were delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and got to use so many of the facilities.
As you mention, the hotel is ideally located for Chester Zoo, however we are also an equal distance from Liverpool and Manchester making us ideal to discover the 3 North West cities.
We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice hotel close to the Daresbury /Warrington technology park (15 mins drive). general areas and rooms immaculate. Evidence of general refurbishment going on to keep customer areas pristine. breakfast was excellent however the evening meals a little on the pricy side for what was delivered. I had sausage and mash with seasonal greens however they were doused in a strong minty sauce which detracted from the reg. A colleague had a steak which was very stringy. When he raised with waitress he was informed she would speak to the chef. No offer of removal from bill. A pity because it took the shine off an excellent visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterMJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear MisterMJL

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we were delighted to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your meals and chef is looking into why you would receive mint in with your Sausage and Mash as this isn’t a traditional accompaniment. We started using a local breeder for all of our steaks last year to improve on the quality you get from larger producers, we are sorry that the steaks didn’t live up to their reputation on this occasion and have spoken to the farm regarding this.
We hope that this hasn’t put you off using us in the future and I would ask you to contact me personally on your next visit so I can say hello and apologise personally for the shortfall in standards
Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just been for a spa day at the Park Royal. All the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The spa area was really clean and the massage was amazing. The relaxation room was the perfect place to chillout before my treatment.Will definitely be
coming again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank boffchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear boffchops
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review regarding your recent Spa day at the hotel – your words certainly describe everything we aspire to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon – have you registered on our website for our spa deals? These offer some of the best value.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for just one night on business. It seemed to get a good rating from TA reviewers and was close to where I needed to be.
I had asked in advance for a quiet room and on arrival was told that I had been allocated a room at the back of the hotel.. Seemed like a good idea, until you realise that there is a busy road right behind, and the double glazed sash windows are not very good at reducing noise.
The room was excellent though.
I ate dinner with a colleague in the restaurant and whilst OK, it wasn't really 4 star. The menu read better than the food tasted. I was a bit disappointed. The breakfast was good.
I suspect a room at the front would have been quieter, and if I had eaten out for dinner, as I normally would, I would have rated it much higher; probably 5*.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear tomandtrudy

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the hotel and we were sorry to hear that we didn’t live up to your expectations. As you mention, we get very good feedback on the hotel usually and I’m sorry that we fell short on this occasion.
We will always endeavour to allocate the room that best matches the needs of all our guests, please be sure to mention at reservation your need for a quiet room and we will endeavour to allocate a room in advance.
Best regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in march for a birthday treat. We arrived at 10.30 so we could take full advantage of the spa facilities, and were able to check in to the room straight away which was great. Hotel was lovely and clean. Staff were all friendly. The food in the hotel was Fantastic. Spa treatments were great also some of the best I have had. Would definitely recommend this hotel and shall be back in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Vicky F
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent Spa Break with us and thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We can’t wait to welcome you back in the near future – have you tried any of our 20 sister hotels? They all have the same emphasis on excellent service and high quality food.
We look forward to welcoming you back, just don’t leave it too long!
Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Home from a lovely relaxing spa day. Couldn't fault anything. My friend booked it as a groupon deal and we experienced great value for money, the treatments were so very relaxing, and all of the facilities were well presented and kept clean and tidy. Staff all pleasant and polite too. Will definately return for another spa day in future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Ange R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent Spa Day, we were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable day.
Why not make it that little bit longer and take advantage of one of our overnight Spa Breaks next time?
Either way, we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton
19.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
21.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,676 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Royal

Property: The Park Royal
Address: Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Park Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Royal Hotel Stretton
Park Royal Warrington
Hotel Park Royal
Park Royal Hotel Warrington
The Park Royal Warrington/Stretton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing