We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars on the Lyn Penninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Llyn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Dinas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After going to Dorset with my husband, we wanted to have a few days in Wales with my daughter. We decided on Pen Lyn based on previous comments and were not disappointed. Brian and Jane could not do enough for us and met us with tea and cake at our arrival. Our rooms were like something out of a Hollywood movie and Jane even brought me special gluten free biscuits each day to go with my rooibos tea. The bathroom had both a bath and shower which is unusual for a B and B and the beautiful decor in both rooms were very tranquil. You get a lovely view from both your room and the dining room (of the hills and the animals) and the colours are vivid! The breakfast was to die for, with fresh fruit salad, organic farm eggs,organic mushrooms for me and bacon and black pudding for the others. We were near many National Trust beaches and gardens and very close to Pwhelli and Abersoch. It is an ideal break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank risa_d019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Really enjoyed our week on the Lleyn Peninsula. The cottage in Trefor was a great base and was very comfortable in all respects.It has been tastefully renovated and offered everything you might need. The owner met us there to show us round and was very helpful.The location next to the stream was pretty and we had the occasional sheep pay the garden a visit! There was a convenient shop and cafe just around the corner and the beach was only a 5 minute walk, great for picnics. The main road is only a mile or so away so it's easy to get around this most beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateH451973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Pen Llyn is the most luxurious B & B that we have ever stayed in. I would describe it as a boutique B&B with every luxury that you could wish for. The hosts Brian and Jane are lovely friendly people who welcome you warmly into their beautiful home. We stayed in the double room with views over the Welsh countryside and the sea. There was every comfort in the room - the bed was luxurious, the bathroom large with a walk in shower and all the toiletries you could need. There was even a choice of four different teas as well as good coffee and hot chocolate and of course delicious biscuits. The decor and furnishings were tasteful and extra special - better than any hotel! The breakfast the next day was a lovely surprise in a lovely bright room with patio doors leading onto the terrace. Good choice of cereals, tasty yogurts, fresh fruit salad and a wonderful cooked breakfast. We stayed the previous two nights in a four star hotel and this B&B was far superior in every way. We will certainly return and would not hesitate to recommend it to all our friends. It is in an ideal spot, close to beautiful beaches and lovely countryside. Loved it!

Room Tip: There are two rooms - choose the double - you can even have a bath with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshireoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hosts were absolutely great from the moment we arrived, friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Gave some great advice on things to see while we were there. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean with lovely bathrooms. Breakfasts were great too, probably the best B&B I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Having stayed in many, many excellent Bed and Breakfasts around the country, it's rare that I find one that raises the bar. Pen Llyn does that - not just in its thoughtful touches (selection of tea bags, fresh milk and decent coffees in room), but in its large, stylish bedrooms and luxurious bathrooms and (most importantly) attentive, genuinely welcoming hosts. Breakfasts seal the deal, offering a fitting end to a memorable stay. Oh, and if you're into astronomy, the skies are as black as any dark sky park.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A great place to stay for both the Lleyn and Snowdonia. An immaculate old terraced house in the fascinating Welsh village of Trefor. Best neighbours in the world and one of the quietest places, unless you object to the swifts, martins and swallows. Front garden faces onto the river and the gardens and terraces opposite, a delight. You can walk from the house along the brilliant coast or into the hills to ancient hill forts and spectacular quarries. Relaxing and away from the tourist mayhem. Highly recommended with the hospitality and helpfulness of the owners thrown in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just spent a weekend there last week. The hosts saved us from where we were up and down on the same road for over an hour. Received a very warm welcome to a lovely house. Loved the house and the room was big. The room we stayed in was definitely better than 5* hotels, it was very tidy and clean. My daughter liked Bryan a lot, even gave him a kiss on the cheek, normally she is very shy with strangers. Loved the breakfast, and really appreciate that they gave me the eggs for my daughter. One suggestion for the visitors to go there for the first time is to listen to Bryan's suggestions, it won't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ying Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pen Llyn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Llyn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Gwel Yr Ynys, Dinas LL53 8SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dinas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is situated in stunning countryside with views of surrounding mountains and seascape. We provide luxury modern 5* Bed and Breakfast accommodation, as assessed by the Welsh Tourist Board (Visit Wales)in two large airy double/twin bedrooms with stunning views, a private bathroom or large en-suite shower room. Both rooms have luxury beds, digital 32" TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers etc. and in addition there is a large comfortable lounge. Breakfast is included and can be a "set you up for the day" full breakfast or a healthy fruit salad, yoghourt, toast and coffee or anything in between. On fine days start your day with breakfast on the patio and enjoy the lovely views that surround you. We have been called a "boutique B & B" and that is exactly what we are aiming to provide; we aim to be flexible and provide you with bespoke accommodation on the very beautiful Llyn Peninsula. We also provide self catering accommodation in a beautifully renovated quarryman’s cottage in the village of Trefor with one double and one twin bedroom with a wood burner in the living room and a stream at the bottom of the garden.Come and enjoy a well deserved break and feel really refreshed; you're worth it and you will not want to leave!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pen Llyn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing