We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harp at Letterston
Ranked #1 of 3 Letterston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Amidst the rolling fog and driving rain of a summer's holiday in Wales we stumbled in to the Harp at the end of a long day of driving. And what a find it was. The rooms here are absolutely great - as good as any I've stayed in before. The owners have paid attention to every detail and I can assure you it will be the one of the most comfortable places you will have stayed in. The rooms are les than 20m away from the pub but enough distance that patron noise won't bother you. The pub itself is very good and I was amazed how busy the restaurant got on a Tuesday night. The only reason this place doesn't get a full 5 stars is that there isn't much to do in the immediate vicinity but it is a brilliant base for travel throughout south Wales, or if you're taking the ferry the next day. In many ways, the place's isolation is another of it's many assets. Top place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    26
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
41
70
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a beautiful hotel - the rooms are to a very high standard and very comfortable. The only thing it misses is some nice comfy sofas in the bar/lounge for pre and post supper conversation.

Room Tip: All rooms are to a very high standard - you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshlady05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

This accommodation was a great find being under 10 minutes from the Ferry in Fishguard. It has a good Restaurant Menu and the mixed grill was excellent. The accommodation is self-contained, very clean and comfortable.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kandlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Sandy and I booked at The Harp for a few days so we could enjoy the Pembrokeshire countryside where I used to scuba dive with West Wales Divers back in 1988/94..what a super place to stay...cosy, very clean and bang up to date with furnishings etc, comfortable beds, cracking breakfast,evening menu was really exciting with loads of variety, and a really excellent choice of wine and beers should one partake...we would recommend this hostelry to everyone...Rebecca and Giles the owners were friendly and courteous and made the stay worthwhile even when the weather did not....

Room Tip: room away from the front is slightly quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is my first ever review on TripAdvisor, and is prompted by a couple of fantastic stays at The Harp in Letterston.

On business at Withybush Hospital, my colleagues and I had struggled to find a decent hotel within a 15 minute drive of the hospital – a couple of us had stayed in a few other notable hotels nearby and could report little more than average (at best) feedback. Thankfully we tried out The Harp and it felt like we had hit the metaphorical jackpot! Run by Giles and Rebecca (with dad Jack looking after wireless internet connectivity), the Harp excelled in just about all areas, and at astonishing value.

The rooms – I think there are 7 ground floor rooms, all fitted out magnificently in contemporary fashion. All the usual hotel mod cons were on hand – hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, posh shower, etc. Rebecca takes great pride in servicing the rooms, as is reinforced by the shoe tray by the front door!

The food – Giles is the head chef and his menu does not disappoint in choice, quality or volume! Everything is home made, and tastes just fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble, and breakfasts in particular are cooked to personal choice.

Front of house – Back to Rebecca and the girls who serve the tables – they are all exceptionally friendly, chatty, and helpful. In fact it is this welcoming, sociable approach that really shines out and makes an evening at The Harp so enjoyable; both Giles and Rebecca are keen to sit down and engage with the guests. An evening here and you certainly know you’ve stumbled across somewhere quite special.

One of my colleagues is from Greece and needed to stay over a weekend – he didn’t have time to be bored as our hosts looked after him over the weekend and even arranged for a local guy to provide a guided tour of the local surroundings. You don’t get that attentiveness to customer satisfaction at 5* hotel chain in the City!

I noticed that wheelchair access is available throughout the restaurant, rooms, toilets and bar areas.

When you are a frequent traveller, particularly outside of the big cities/big hotel chains, you generally steel yourself to endure some pretty shoddy accommodation, food and service; not at The Harp, I can assure you!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the A40 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterston
1.7 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
10.8 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
5.2 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harp at Letterston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp at Letterston

Property: The Harp at Letterston
Address: 31 Haverfordwest Road, Letterston SA62 5UA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Letterston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Letterston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harp at Letterston 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Harp at Letterston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harp At Letterston Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing