We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would definitely stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harp at Letterston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harp at Letterston
Ranked #1 of 3 Letterston B&B and Inns
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would definitely stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Beautiful rooms, excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was delicious as was the meal we had in the restaurant in the evening. All food was locally sourced and the eggs are collected fresh for The Harps own chickens.
Small mix up with payment but that was all sorted quickly and Rebecca was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit pembrokshire
Thanks again
Kelly :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_D_James888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    25
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
40
67
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay at The Harp at Letterston. This is an excellent location and I can only echo other people's positive comments.

An excellent welcoming reception by Rhys who showed my mother and I to our room - room 6 "Abermawr". This is one of the 6 rooms located in a former farm building across the patio from the Inn. Each room, named after locations in the area, has its own front door. Useful for those who might want to return late.

The room was exceptionally well presented exceptionally clean, modern, bright and spacious. Room 6 can sleep up to 3 adult guests with three full size single beds. There is a built in wardrobe and a superb spacious wet room. The wet room is equipped for disabled guests fitted with toilet grab rails and a shower seat.

Despite being fairly close to a busy main road, there is little traffic at night and there was no problem having a good night's sleep even with one of the windows open.

Outside the rooms is a patio area which in nice weather makes a good place to sit and watch the world go by.

The Inn itself offers an excellent and varied menu there is something there to suit everyone's taste. The choice is large, and there are daily specials as well. The problem is you might find it difficult to choose, significantly more than I have seen offered at some large hotels that I have stayed at.

The Harp is recommended for those who like real ales. When I was there they had a local brew Gower Gold, plus Abbot Ale and Tetley.

My mother and I really enjoyed our stay and can wholeheartedly recommend The Harp to anyone. You won't be disappointed the staff who were led be Rhys and Rebecca during our stay were friendly and welcoming.

Thank you for a great stay I hope to return again next year and explore further this fascinating area of Pembrokeshire.

It should be noted that the location of The Harp is very handy for those using the Stena Line ferry to Rosslare as Fishguard is only a few miles away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Luxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Warm welcome, good service,clean, up to date room. Good food in the restaurant. Friendly, inobtrusive, helpful staff. Very good parking and rooms on one level with doors onto a patio of which we had mostly sole use. Furniture in room looked fresh, bedding and towels of v.good standard. Shower room modern, clean and an effective shower. Worth eating in the restaurant as plentiful plates of food and at reasonable prices. All most pleasing. Sleep quality effected by the recent heat and not wanting to leave the window open at night, although others did, as windows overlooking a quiet, out of the way area.

Room Tip: One room has a bathroom and others a shower. One room suitable for those less ambient folk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Where to start. The welcome by Rhys (I hope I've spelled that right), outstanding. The room, immaculately clean (I think it was Rebecca later admitted to OCD about cleanliness, fine by me). Later that night, the beds, sooo comfortable. The food delicious, the breakfast spot on.
IMHO the secret of the Harp is that it doesn't try to be what it isn't. Its a pub, that serves meals, with overnight accommodation. But it does this brilliantly. In the restaurant there isn't a jus or a coulis or a foam in sight, just honest to goodness straightforward good food. So many places like this seem to have overdosed on Masterchef, and failed. Not the Harp, no triangular, slate or wooden platters, just straightforward, value for money, delicious, fresh food.
Same at breakfast.. Fresh fruit salad then their own eggs either in a breakfast or with smoked salmon etc.
Any downsides? The poached egg at breakfast was probably 30secs overcooked for me (I'm struggling now as you can see), probably perfect for anyone else but I like my egg really runny. The coffee was served in those really annoying stainless steel pots that spill more on the table than in the cup. But to compensate for this the black pudding was probably the best black pudding I have ever tasted.
Would I stay there again, I have every intention of doing so.
Would I recommend it, hell yeah!
P.S. Don't worry about it being near to the main road.. The walls are so thick you don't hear a thing.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a bit isolated being at the back of the others, but some people may prefer this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

i would like to say a `big` thank you to Rebbecca and Giles for a really lovely stay at your accomodation. the rooms are sooo comfortable and very tastefully decorated , well done Beccy. the food was the best i have tasted in a long while, breakfasts cooked to order so always hot and the eggs are from their own chickens so yummy, well done Giles, you can have a holiday soon. local info on all the rooms as they were named after local attractions , very interesting. as it said on one of the plaques on the wall, "you arrive as a stranger but not as one" i think thats what it said but so true as felt we were leaving friends. so again thankyou Beccy & Giles from four very satisfied travellers. The Haywards, oh p.s. Beccy dad thought you were amazing. silly old duffer he is. :-) see you again soon i hope.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissieah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed 28 May 2013 for 3 nights and can only say that everything was excellent about the Harp Inn. We were made very welcome from the word go. Rooms are clean and the fittings excellent quality especially the bathroom, extremely comfortable bed. We eat in the restaurant every evening and the choice and quality of food again excellent. In fact could not fault anything and will certainly stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and i have just returned from a weeks holiday in Pembrokeshire. It was our first visit to the area. The accomodation was booked on line, which could sometimes gloss over the finer points of the accomodation, but not this one. From the moment we entered the hotel the owner made us very welcome. The hospitality throughout our stay continued as it began, in fact by the end of the week we felt that we had known the owners for years. The food was of the highest quality, cooked by the husband, and served with home made sauces. The on site chickens supplied the fresh eggs which were to die for. Nothing was to much trouble for the owners who went that extra mile to ensure your stay with them was a memorable one. We would certainly return to this Inn and restaurant. Bryan and Val. Cheshire

Room Tip: All the rooms are furnished to a high standard, with comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterston
1.7 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harp at Letterston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp at Letterston

Property: The Harp at Letterston
Address: 31 Haverfordwest Road, Letterston SA62 5UA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Letterston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Letterston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harp at Letterston 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Harp at Letterston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harp At Letterston Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing