We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Druidstone(Haverfordwest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Haverfordwest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mariners(Haverfordwest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Haze Hotel(St Davids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Grove Hotel(St Davids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
315
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun roomsister hotelhonesty barthe wow factorst davidshuge bathpure luxuryother guestsunique experiencesky tvnooks and crannieshighest standardvery special placeincredible viewson arrivalwelsh breakfastpublic areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were amazed by Roch Castle as soon as we arrived here. We were greeted by the housekeeper who was lovely and polite and gave us a tour of the hotel before showing us our gorgeous room with stunning views of Pembrokeshire. The hotel was very clean and had the same modern and stylish decor throughout. Everything about this hotel was very relaxing and luxurious in a peaceful and quiet area. The castle was about 20 mins drive to St Davids and a 45 min drive to Tenby, both places recommended by the staff as we hadn't visited the area before. We were truly impressed by this castle, the only thing we could fault was there was no Air conditioning in the rooms and when we stayed it was very nice and hot weather but this usually wouldn't be a problem with the cold weather UK usually has! Overall we had a fantastic stay loved the little touches like Sky Tv in the rooms, big comfy bathrobes and a sun view with panoramic views of Pembrokeshire. Would definitely recommend and would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

We too hope you will return. Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

You cannot help to be grabbed by the look of the outside, and the inside does not disappoint either. It is immaculately presented, with highest quality refurbishment and fittings throughout. There are lounges to relax, and aside from the usual room facilities, there is a kitchen area to store/make snacks, picnics, teas and coffees etc. The views are stunning - they have to be the best view in the area - it can't fail when you are in a castle that can be seen from any direction you arrive from! Very quiet and peaceful - not a place I would take children. The staff were really helpful and ensured every dietary request was met. Some small touches are nice, such as the Sky TV - never had a package, including sports provided free of charge. A truly unique experience.

Room Tip: Every where is quiet. Did not see other rooms, but cant believe any would disappoint.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve_westcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank you. You are correct that due to the historic nature of this 12th century building, we accept children 12 years and over. We do hope you can return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a truly special experience. Stay in a 12 century castle that has been sympathetically updated to provide luxury accommodaion in a beautiful setting. Service was first class and atmosphere unrivalled. Would love to make a return visit.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

We would love you to make a return visit too. Thank you for your great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Incredible views and location. Tastefully fitted out to the highest standards. Where else can you stay in an actual castle rather than a manor house or stately home. Good food and service. Ap griffid is probably the best room for size and views.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Yes, Ap Gruffydd is one of our best rooms as it has a bath and seperate shower. Other rooms have a shower, but all have the same facilities including Nespresso coffee maker, TV, DVD player, Radio with Ipod docking station, Robes, Slippers and laundry service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A group of 6 couples spent 5 nights in Mid-May at Roch castle. The setting is spectacular, the rooms comfortable and well-appointed, the breakfast delicious, and the staff warm and helpful. Our stay was delightful, and we plan to return next year (already reserved). There is a beautiful lounge for all to use. A few caveats--the stairway to the highest rooms is narrow. It rains frequently in Wales--even during the least rainy month of May, so bring a book or two.

Room Tip: Largest bedroom (up 1/2 flight from lounge) is spacious and very comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Yes, with just 6 bedrooms, Roch Castle is the perfect getaway for a group of friends. If you forget your book, we have an extensive collection in our Study, plus jigsaws and board games in the Court Room Lounge to keep you busy. Lets hope we have better weather when you return to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews