We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem found atop a rock :)”
Review of Roch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Roch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Roch Castle deserves its consistent exceptional rating and accolades from guests. We stayed there for one night after traveling quite a distance from Bath as a night stopover before our day trip to Skomer Island departing from Martin's Haven. The setting is simply liberating, being set on top of a hill with a panoramic view of the surrounds. The castle itself has been renovated interiorly with contemporary furniture and fittings to a high luxurious standard. We travelled with 2 teenagers. The bedroom we had 1 level above the common sun-lounge was extremely spacious. Our kids had a room at the lower level that was smaller but still roomy, Staff attention to the needs of the guests was impeccable. We had dinner at a modern Welsh restaurant at St Davids called Cwtch at the recommendation of the staff at Roch Castle - highly recommended as well as the food served was truly fresh and flavorful. Kudos to the management for coming up such a unique and memorable accommodation concept!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyHonChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank you. We are so pleased that your family enjoyed staying at Roch Castle. Please do return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Roch Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This stay was a Christmas gift from my children as top of my bucket list was a stay in a castle and it did not disappoint It was everything I had hoed for and more Tucked away at the end of a road as you approach the castle was just stunning The location perfect Rooms outstanding and nothing was to much trouble for the fabulous staff . Simply one of the best weekends of my life I will be back

Room Tip: If unable to climb stairs request lower level room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollygHighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

What a lovely Christmas gift. We really do hope you will come back to stay with us. Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Roch Castle is a truly amazing location for that special event/occasion when the ordinary will simply not do. The 12c castle has been sympathetically restored with a 21c interior. The decor, furnishings and fittings are of the highest standard thereby creating a unique ambience not found in other 5* hotels. For our wedding we could not have wished for a more romantic setting. A wedding lunch of our choosing was prepared by an outstanding chef and served by delightful staff. The sun room, adjoining lounge and small ante-rooms were perfect for a small, intimate wedding. Music during the lunch and wedding ceremony was provided by a local harpist.
As would be expected, excellence is only achieved by excellent, well trained and committed staff. The Team, led by Samuel Dyer, not only provided first class service but delivered it with charm, sensitivity, tact and competence.
Well done Retreats Group. You have a winning formula. Geoffrey and Sue, Powys.

Room Tip: There are many stairs and some guests may prefer a room on a lower level to avoid too many stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Congratulations and thank you for choosing Roch Castle for your intimate wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Previous posts said about Roch Castle are 100% true; clean and modern and maintained to an excellent standard. Believe the posts previously posted and you will not be disappointed by booking a stay.

2 night stay, Partner’s Birthday treat. The Retreat Group, Julie & Samuel, were exceptionally helpful by allowing a special event to take place in the grounds of the Castle, birds of Prey display, provided by Pembrokeshire Falconry. Thank you Retreat Group for a fantastic couple of days! Indeed, A truly fantastic Castle and stay!

Room Tip: St Brides, nice room, no refresments provided in the room, all types of refreshments available in th...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank to your valuable feedback, We do now have tea and coffee making facilities in all of rooms including St Brides. We also have a Nespresso coffee machine in the Sun Room Lounge along with our honesty bar, available 24/7.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We also only stayed one night, but wow…Like other people have said, its just truly beautiful. The amount of money spent on restoration is beyond belief !. Quite an experience. The rooms are stunning, everything is….There is no restaurant or bar, but we didn't let that stop us, there are great restaurants nearby however as it was the start of wimbledon, my wife and i picked up some cheese and wine and chilled in the beautiful lounge watched wimbledon on TV and then enjoyed a glass or two of wine looking out from the middle level of the castle over the land of the peasants haha…great night. Breakfast is served and is very nice as is the Nespresso machines in your room and common lounge areas. An experienced not to be missed. Also the area around Roch is beautiful and plenty to explore. Well recommended. One point, there are lots of stairs to get to the higher rooms…we were on the top floor, must have being 5 flights of narrow stairs, which we loved, but others may want to request a lower floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a low level room if stairs are a problem…if not…all are probably amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason_Chauval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank you for your positive review. We do now have an honesty bar in the Sun Room Lounge which is available 24/7. We also offer dining when you stay as part of a group of eight or more guests. We just need a week's notice to prepare a menu for you featuring fresh, locally sourced ingredients. From September 2015, our sister venue Twr y Felin Hotel will be open offering a bar and restaurant alongside 21 luxury bedrooms. This contemporary art hotel is located in St Davids, just a 20 minute drive away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Roch Castle for one night on Friday. It was excellent. The castle sits dramatically on a hill and affords great views at 360 degrees. Loved it! The rooms are great size and the bathrooms are brilliantly designed with nice fittings by Phillipe Starck. Nespresso machine is a great touch that was much appreciated. The public areas are really comfy and spacious too! The breakfast was delicious with quality ingredients and served in a light and spotlessly clean dining room with design cutlery that I loved. Particularly loved the attention to detail, incl. the super crockery designed for the castle with symbols. We liked it so much, we went into St Davids, to the little Goat Street Gallery who made it and ended up buying some fab pieces of pottery to take home.
"Get the 'wine' ready in the 'fridge'!!!!!!!! " ;)
We will be back soon. Thanks!

Room Tip: The whole place is amazing
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel only has 6 rooms and until recently they only let out all 6 at the same time, now you can rent just one room. The quality of every single thing in this hotel is of high quality, driveway, gardens, lounge area, bedrooms, bathrooms etc etc, i expected something nice but not this good. They provide breakfast but they do not provide dinner, however, this is very close to Newgale, Solva, St Davids so you have plenty of places to eat at night, i would recommend fish because 99% of it would have been caught locally.

You also pay a little extra and get champagne, strawberries and chocs in your room for when you arrive which is what i did. If you want to spoil or impress someone then this is the place to do it BUT as it only has 6 rooms you need to book well in advance.

Room Tip: I would recommend a view of the sea, don't expect a big window in your room though, remember thi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thanks for your great review. Some of the rooms set up in the tower of the castle do have smaller windows. The elevated views from though are spectacular. The rooms located on the lower floors have larger windows. You might also be interested to know that we can offer dinner when you stay as a group of eight guests or more. From September 2015, we will also offer dining in our sister venue Twr Y Felin Hotel which is located in St David's. This contemporary 21 bedroom art hotel, which was originally a windmill built in 1806 has a bar, restaurant and lounge to offer a warm welsh welcome to non resident and resident guests alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roch
8.0 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
212 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,203 reviews
10.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
234 reviews
19.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
5.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roch Castle Hotel

Address: Roch, Roch, Haverfordwest SA62 6AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Roch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roch
Price Range: £171 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roch Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roch Castle, dating back to the 12th century, is a unique heritage property with an intriguing history. Built on a granite outcrop high above the incredible landscape of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, this Norman Castle has stunning panoramic views over St Brides Bay and the Preseli Hills. Set in 10 acres of beautiful grounds and only a few minutes drive to the nearest Blue Flag beach Newgale, where you can stroll the vast expanse of sandy beach for almost two miles, Roch Castle is ideally located for your Pembrokeshire adventure. The Castle offers luxury accommodation, with six characteristic en-suite bedrooms. The Court Room lounge is furnished with comfortable sofas where you can truly relax with a little Chapel and Cloisters hideaways. Adjacent to the Court Room is the jewel of the castle, the Sun Room, located on the fourth floor, it has floor to ceiling glass walls and an alfresco viewing platform within the battlements of the castle, offering panoramic sea and countryside views. Private dining is available on request in advance for groups of eight or more guests. Alternatively, for individual stays, we will be delighted to reserve a table at local restaurants on your behalf. Rates include breakfast, VAT, parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Roch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roch Castle Hotel Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing