We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience...”
Review of Roch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Roch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We don't have real castles down-under so when the opportunity to experience one that is a functioning hotel which has been given an amazing renewed lease of life, we jumped at the chance! The significant effort & capital investment is reflected in the quality of the restoration, complimented by the quality of the fit-out and furnishing. As we moved around the castle, we really got to appreciate the solidness of the thick walls of the parapets and the considerable protection they afforded its inhabitants - now and in the past.

Breakfast is very good, with the standard Welsh / English fare as well as fresh fruit & cereals. The hotel generally doesn't provide dinners, which is understandable given the numerous restaurants, Welsh pubs and cafés within 15 minutes drive. However, if prior arrangements are made, dinner can be provided.

The Staff are enthusiastic and justifiably proud of their workplace and this is reflected in how they interact with their guests. They have a very broad knowledge of the region, and are very happy to provide assistance on where to go, what to see & do in the area.

Our stay at Roch Castle rounded off a fantastic holiday in the county...we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kieron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

We very much look forward to welcoming you back from down-under. If it is historical buildings that appeal to you, next time, you may like to try a stay in one of our sister venues, both located in St Davids. Penrhiw is a former 19th century Priory set in 12 acres of landscaped gardens, yet only a few minutes walk from the famous Cathedral Close. Twr y Felin Hotel which opens from September 2015, is a windmill built in 1806. It will be a 21 bedroom art hotel with bar and restaurant for our resident guests from Roch Castle and Penrhiw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just a wonderful property. We also stayed at the sister hotel in St Davids and were thrilled to find it completely different to the castle, but beautiful.
Lovely afternoon tea, good breakfast! Can't fault either but loved the walk to St Davids and the Cathedral.

Room Tip: Stayed in De Rupe - small picture windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Our sister hotel in St Davids is Penrhiw which is a short walk from the Cathedral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We went en famille to Roch Castle for one week. We had a wonderful time. The castle is exquisitly restored and incredibly comfortable and the staff could not have been more welcoming. It is a very special place! The ony drawback was the very mediocre restaurants in the vicinity. But we did have one amazing dinner in the castle which we arranged in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chickiepoos74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed Roch Castle and thank you for choosing to stay for the week. It was a pleasure having you. For future guests, restaurants are available in the small fishing harbour village of Solva which is just a 10 minute drive away or in St Davids which is a 20 minute drive. We are delighted to make table and taxi reservations for our guests. Alternatively, there is a pub within walking distance from Roch Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place is simply amazing, quiet with character. Inside is very modern but you can still feel the medieval atmosphere of the castle. There's only six rooms so it's never crowded and massive lounge is great for sipping the wine whilst watching the sunset. Collette is the manager and she is looking after the guest to a standard you would expect from Claridges. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

We are so pleased that you are returning to Roch Castle. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

After a long drive from London we were greeted by this lovely castle with wonderful views and wonderful peace and quiet. The warm and friendly greeting continued when we me the lovely Collette at reception.. Collette showed us to our room which was large, well furnished with lovely sleek, modern furnishings.

The hotel has a fabulous communal area which a kitchenette where you can serve yourself drinks which are very reasonably priced.

The staff are so friendly and helpful. The manager happily booked a taxi for us to attend our event (be sure to book a taxi as early as possible as there aren't many taxi firms in the area).

Breakfast was a lovely selection of fresh pastries, bread, fruit salad, yoghurts and an excellent selection of cooked choices. Also tea, coffee and herbal infusions. Breakfast was leisurely and we were not rushed at all.

Newgale Beach is about a 2 minute drive away but you could easily walk.

If you are travelling to this area I highly recommend you stay at Roch Castle. I doubt you'll find a better hotel or a warmer welcome anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenninell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank you for your recommendation. Two other venues worth trying are Penrhiw, and from September 2015, Twr y Felin Hotel, both located in St Davids. We do hope you can join us again there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

It was just magical After half a week sleeping rough in the hedgerows and dunes of South Wales, Glamwolf and I felt that our adventuring had earned us a night off, so I phoned up and the wonderfully charming Colette answered, who offered us the one bedroom left in the bedroom named after the legendary princess of seduction, Nest. The spell of the castle is woven well and we spent a hallowed night in absolute luxury.

The linen thread count is 300, the pillows and all the sheets are the ones that don't upset people's allergies, there is a nespresso maker in the bedroom and in the lounge, there is a study with a wealth of books about the myths and legends of pembrokeshire. I made myself a cup of coffee early in the morning while the wolf rested her bones and with it I took a turn about the battlements, the view commands the whole bay from Skomer to Ramsey and inland to the hills that kept out the March Lords. Nasty fat Norman invaders.

This was a very special place to stay. Stay here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Great feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A wonderful venue for our reunion. The castle, which has been beautifully restored, is full of character and the rooms are spacious and comfortable, especially the Court Room and Sun Room. The castle has a magnificent situation and can be seen from miles around. The coast walk from Solva to Newgale Beach is one of our favourites. Well done Retreats Group.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retreats_Group, General Manager at Roch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

We agree, Roch Castle is a great base from which to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park which has over 200 web-walks which are free to download on their website. We do hope you can explore more of this special landscape should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roch
8 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
234 reviews
10.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
20.1 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roch Castle Hotel

Address: Roch, Roch, Haverfordwest SA62 6AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Roch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roch
Price Range: £151 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roch Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roch Castle, dating back to the 12th century, is a unique heritage property with an intriguing history. Built on a granite outcrop high above the incredible landscape of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, this Norman Castle has stunning panoramic views over St Brides Bay and the Preseli Hills. Set in 10 acres of beautiful grounds and only a few minutes drive to the nearest Blue Flag beach Newgale, where you can stroll the vast expanse of sandy beach for almost two miles, Roch Castle is ideally located for your Pembrokeshire adventure. The Castle offers luxury accommodation, with six characteristic en-suite bedrooms. The Court Room lounge is furnished with comfortable sofas where you can truly relax with a little Chapel and Cloisters hideaways. Adjacent to the Court Room is the jewel of the castle, the Sun Room, located on the fourth floor, it has floor to ceiling glass walls and an alfresco viewing platform within the battlements of the castle, offering panoramic sea and countryside views. Private dining is available on request in advance for groups of eight or more guests. Alternatively, for individual stays, we will be delighted to reserve a table at local restaurants on your behalf. Rates include breakfast, VAT, parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Roch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roch Castle Hotel Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing