We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all-around OUTSTANDING experience”
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have traveled throughout the world and Hotel Luna Azul is one of my favorite places I've ever stayed. The owners are staff are accommodating, friendly and you can tell they know and love Ostional. This place is a true gem and a must-stay when you're in Ostional. From breathtaking views to delicious foods and amazing outdoor showers for each room, this hotel is proves to be an outstanding experience, one you don't want to miss on your next Costa Rica vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have traveled all over the world and throughout Costa Rica and this hotel is hands down the best place I have stayed. The owners and their staff are fabulous. The food was sublime. The views and ambience are stunning. Accommodations are outstanding. Don't miss the opportunity to spend time here. It is a very special place.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel Luna Azul is a perfect vacation paradise. We have been staying at this hotel during our visits to Costa Rica for years now simply because there is not another like it! The Luna Azul has a mix of boutique hotel charm and luxury that you just can't get at a huge resort. Rolf and Andreas are the kindest, most attentive hosts and truly make you feel at home. The hotel grounds are lush and beautifully maintained, and the casita-style rooms are spacious and comfortable (and all have spectacular views of the ocean and/or jungle). There is nothing quite like sitting on your private deck to watch the sunset amidst a chorus of birds and howler monkeys! The pool is always sparkly-clean and never crowded. In addition to the peaceful setting, the food is absolutely fantastic - the breakfast alone is to die for (fresh tropical fruit, homemade jam, yogurt and granola, eggs cooked to-order, etc.), but dinner is also worthy of a 5-star restaurant review, and the menu changes daily. We always leave the Hotel Luna Azul feeling refreshed and pampered...and ready for our next visit! Simply cannot recommend this place enough.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel Luna Azul was one of the best places we stayed during our recent vacation in Costa Rica. It was the only place that served gourmet dinners cooked by one of the resident owners, Rolf. Rolf also arranged for us to join another couple at the hotel for a late night tour of the turtles nesting on the nearby beach at Ostionol. Thanks to the young guide from the village we were able to see several Olive Ridley Sea Turtles crawling up the beach to dig holes and lay eggs. The new nests were next to older nests which were producing baby turtles that were struggling out of the sand and making their way to the surf. Both Rolf and Andreas made this hotel truly welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_D261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel Luna Azul is the perfect destination. You have no choice but to leave behind your every day concerns and immerse yourself in a picture perfect location in the middle of the Costa Rican nature. Our stay was the ultimate relaxation, the ultimate disconnect from everything and every one. The hosts are fantastic and they maintain a fine eye for every attention to detail. The food was top notch (all the way from the freshest breakfast to top gourmet quality dinner). The rooms are spacious with the particular feature of having the bathroom and shower outside in complete privacy.
The hotel itself is located next to the spectacular Playa Ostional frequented by the Ridley turtles.
Finally, the hotel's small size gives you that special personal feeling that often contrasts with the feeling you have when staying in larger hotels or resorts.
I highly recommend Hotel Luna Azul.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yekshemesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was my second visit to Luna Azul, and it was even better than the first one... Why? Because I visit friends, family...in the middle of paradise! Yes, that is how Rolf and Andreas, as well as Fino, their dog, make us feel... In addition to the beautiful nature surrounding the property, exotic trees, beautiful flowers and gardens, exuberant jungle (where friendly monkeys and beautiful birds can be seen often), Rolf, Andreas and the amazing staff they have also make you feel in heaven....wonderful gourmet dinners, delicious breakfasts, and tasty drinks at the bar. This is place for relaxation, to enjoy a beautiful sunset in communion with nature, to read a book by the pool, and enjoy.... At the same time, the owners are fantastic giving recommendations of what to do and what to visit... We swam with turtles and snorkeled in the beautiful San Juanillo beach close-by. It is always hard to leave Luna Azul... that is why this year my family and I decided to start a tradition, and every time we visit Costa Rica, which we try to do once a year, we will also visit Luna Azul!! This is how much we like it here!! It is definitely a piece of heaven on Earth and can´t´wait to be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had the most wonderful experience while staying at Luna Azul for the second half of our honeymoon. Rolf and Andreas (and Fino) are the most amazing hosts. They have the best views from their bungalows and sitting on the deck at night listening to the monkeys was so relaxing. The food they serve can not be beat, it is definitely the best food we have ever had. We came back to a clean room, clean towels and some special towel and flower arrangements on our bed which were adorable every day we were there. Rolf even came over to our table one evening to tell us there was a Leatherback turtle on the beach and that Andreas would take us to go see it. That was best part of our whole honeymoon! They helped arrange for us to go horseback riding and swim with the turtles too. They gave great directions and are very knowledgeable about the area. They are so friendly and love what they do. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98mel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellunaazul, Owner at Hotel Luna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear guest,

Muchas gracias for your review! It was a pleasure for us to be your hosts during your honeymoon and we were very happy to show you not only the Olive Ridley, but also the wonderful Leatherback turtle. It seems that the number of Leatherbacks coming to nest here in Ostional is slightly increasing and so our guests sometimes have got the chance to make this unforgettable experience, besides seeing the famous big mass arrivals (arribada) of the Olive Ridley turtle. Happy also that you liked our tours, i.e. the swimming with the turtles in the ocean.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostional
4.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
3.4 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
260 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
16.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: | 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range: £105 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing