We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels ever !!!”
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel.
Rolf and Andreas were great and gave us a lot of information about the area.
The hotel is quiet, great facilities and wonderful rooms !
The breakfast was great!
We will surely recommend this hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I recently completed a two-week stay at Luna Azul. It was our third trip to Costa Rica and our first time in Ostional. And we were not disappointed. Luna Azul is a beautiful, tranquil hotel located on a hillside, surrounded by lush gardens with a view of the ocean. The cottages are beautifully appointed, comfortable and very well maintained. We ate many meals at the hotel over the course of two weeks. The food, service and atmosphere were consistently exceptional.

There are beautiful beaches within a few kilometers of the hotel. Venture a little further and you will find more beautiful beaches and in Playa Guiones and Playa Carillo (our favorite). There are so many wonderful choices, your toughest decision will be deciding where to spend your day.

You will find your hosts, Rolf and Andreas, cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. They provided recommendations on what to see and do and gave us detailed instructions on how to navigate to the various towns. They obviously have a very genuine interest in ensuring their guests enjoy their stay at the hotel as well as all the unique and breathtaking sights Costa Rica has to offer.

We cannot recall a vacation that was as relaxing and peaceful as this one. It was the perfect way to re-charge our batteries after a long, cold Canadian winter. We are already talking about when we can return to Luna Azul and hoping we can take a few friends with us! Thank you Rolf, Andreas (and Fino) for making us feel so welcome and special during our stay. And thank you to your terrific and friendly staff (Roberto, your gardeners/chefs/housecleaners). It is the combined effort of everyone that makes Luna Azul a standout destination.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMR_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

In the middle of Costa Rica's heavenly nature I found this spot where you can enjoy exquisite food on the wonderful patio overlooking the ocean and the well-tended gardens around the swimming pool. The two gentlemen who owns the place are perfectionists when it comes to using local produce in their restaurant and bringing it up to European standards of variety and surprise. The plentiful and elegant breakfast is the best start on a day of trips to the beach or reading and working on the fast internet. As a translator and author this was the perfect place for me to spend concentrated days in Guanacaste. The proprietors are most helpful and very, very knowledgeable.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 'Monkey Lodge', but all rooms are equally well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

For the third time our family has now visited Hotel Luna Azul at the OStional Beach in Costa Rica. Luna Acul is Paradise in Costa Rica. It is a small resort in the hills behind the coast with beautiful cottages with big verandas looking over the valley into the rain forest where the monkeys play and the hummingbirds eat from the the many beautiful flowers. The garden with the many tropical plants, the pool area facing sun down and the magic restaurant with fantastic mediterranian/costarican food is just the place to spend some relaxing days. The owners create an atmosphere, so you feel at home, they know so much abort the area, the wild life (especially the turtles at Ostional Beach) so you leave with a lot of information. We already plan our next visit!

Room Tip: All 6 cottages are perfectly situated. The rooms are big enough to host a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K_Skov2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We ended our fabulous Costa Rican vacation at Luna Azul, a perfect way to end a wonderful trip. We loved the property, our room was amazing and romantic. The outdoor shower was the BEST! Our view was spectacular. The breakfast was so yummy and the dinners were delicious! Rolf and Andreas were incredibly friendly and helpful hosts. Thank you for everything! The information about the turtles was such a bonus and we are grateful we got to see them! We can not wait to come back and relax at Luna Azul. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_and_Jamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Straight from Switzerland, or straight from Heaven?  We think Rolf and Andreas are both!  Their private boutique resort is beautiful, tranquil, classy and more. As I sat down to review my latest visit to this little piece of paradise, I first read some of the other reviews and thought how wonderful it is that so many people have had the same great experiences that we have had at Luna Azul.  If you are considering a stay there, I highly encourage you to read the many excellent reviews posted here, as so many guests have described this place so accurately and so beautifully!  Reading these reviews took me right back there again.
 
Getting there is part of the adventure, and I personally think the bumpy road through the jungle is a fun part of the Costa Rican experience…..this famous bumpy road is in fact the main state coastal highway along the pacific coast of Costa Rica ("la costanera"), connecting the tourist towns of Tamarindo, Nosara and Samara.  Before you know it, you have arrived at paradise in the jungle!  The moment you walk into the open air lobby, you instantly relax and get a craving for a freshly made pina colada (at least I certainly did.)  The main building is beautiful and inviting, and the gorgeous grounds are impeccable. The private bungalows are absolutely wonderful. Nothing beats the view from your private deck, the leather rocking chairs are the best, and I absolutely love the outdoor shower.  Don’t worry, no one can see you showering but the monkeys and the birds and maybe some iguanas, and they really don’t care, as they are very busy doing their own thing!  Also don’t worry about the rustling you may hear in the trees and bushes.  It might be a monkey, it might be an iguana, it might even be one of the nice gardeners on site.  Either way, they are all just doing what they do, so just wave and say “Hola!”
 
Since we had stayed there before, we knew we were going to get a beautiful spacious bungalow with a gorgeous view, wonderful meals and impeccable service from our hosts and their wonderful staff….what we did not expect was the personalized touches that we received on my birthday.  The pretty flowers on my table at breakfast, the wonderful heart-shaped towel decoration on our bed that spelled out “Feliz cumple ano” (happy birthday) written with flower stems, (see photo)……the wonderful birthday dessert after an incredible gourmet meal, and “happy birthday” sung to me by everyone there at dinner in both English and Spanish!  It was so touching!  Spending my birthday at Luna Azul made it the best birthday I have ever had.   If you are celebrating something special, this is the place to be. 
  
There are so many things to do and see near the resort, and if you need help figuring out what to do or how to get there, just ask Rolf or Andreas.  They are incredibly knowledgeable, attentive and helpful, not to mention quite witty and charming!  We very much enjoyed our chats with them. We have stayed at other boutique resorts in Costa Rica but this one is hands down our absolute favorite.  We are already planning to return again this fall to see one of the famous turtle arribadas at the nearby Playa Ostional.  We cannot wait to see this natural phenomenon with our own eyes!  
 
My only “dislike” about this place was having to leave it….it was not easy...but we shall return!

 

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

On the end of our travels to Costa Rica for three weeks, we finished with five days at Luna Azul. I don't know if I can adequately explain how wonderful this resort and experience was. Each day was easy, tranquil, fulfilling, and the adjectives keep on from there.

Our room was the Tropical room (no room numbers here) and had the best view of the ocean and sunsets. Very spacious and the outside deck was were we spent a good part of our time overlooking the jungle and the ocean in the distance from our Costa Rican rocking chairs on the deck. King size bed was comfortable with a view to the ocean and sunset and the semi-outside shower and bath was really an experience and novelty. Showering with the view of the ocean and the sounds of monkeys in the valley below was so cool.

This was our 35th anniversary trip and Rolf and Adreas went out of their way to make it special in every way….from flowers in the room and the well thought out towel animals. On our anniversary night we had a special private table with flowers and very special service.

The food was one the best parts of this resort and we woke up every day wondering what we haven't eaten there yet and what to try. Great service, great flavor and fresh down to the bread, fish, and fruit. This was what really made this resort a five star resort in my opinion. When the fisherman caught fish we would have fresh snapper, the pasta was alway perfect, the creme brûlée was the best I have ever had, and the salads were enough to make you stop eating……but you couldn't. Rolf, Andreas and Roberto made the dinning experience one to remember every night…….not to mention breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was not buffet but made to order every morning……fresh fruit with yogurt, eggs to order with choice of meat and great bread with homemade jam.

Top notch very small private resort with all you could need. The ocean (beach) is near by but you need a car to get there…..or even catch a ride with your hosts or another guest to the beach. We got to see a surfing competition during our trip and was surprised by the the sleepy little beach town that was thriving for this event.

Cant wait to get back to Costa Rica and most especially to stay at Luna Azul again. If you get near the area don't miss out on this gem of a hotel/resort………believe all the reviews you see on Tripadvisor…..I was skeptical that it couldn't be as good as the reviews….IT'S BETTER!


Our three weeks in Costa was made very easy by our personnel driver Julio. He was always ready to take us to the next stop. We couldn't have covered the ground we did in three weeks without him. If you need a personnel driver I would recommend him especially if you are up north.

Julio Flores 506 8910-1516
Juliofg08@yahoo.com

Room Tip: The two bottom bungalows at the bottom of the hill have the best views. Our room name was Tropical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostional
4.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
3.4 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
260 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
16.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: | 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range: £105 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing