We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tranquil oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“A tranquil oasis”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Luna Azul is a beautiful, tranquil oasis on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The place is tidy and nicely landscaped. The infinity pool and the bungalow rooms with open-air showers are really lovely. The hosts and their staff are equally delightful. It’s wonderful dining out on the open veranda with all the sultry sights and sounds of the tropics surrounding you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here this past April. We found Rolf and Andreas to be exceptional hosts and excellent guides to the Playa Ostional region. They have a wealth of knowledge of the local flora and fauna, and they have plenty of great ideas on what to do and see here during your stay. For example, they recommended a trip where we swam with turtles and sailed alongside humpback whales! I can’t recommend Luna Azul enough. You will not regret staying here. Enjoy living la pura vida! I’m already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    11
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
110
202
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel.
Rolf and Andreas were great and gave us a lot of information about the area.
The hotel is quiet, great facilities and wonderful rooms !
The breakfast was great!
We will surely recommend this hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I recently completed a two-week stay at Luna Azul. It was our third trip to Costa Rica and our first time in Ostional. And we were not disappointed. Luna Azul is a beautiful, tranquil hotel located on a hillside, surrounded by lush gardens with a view of the ocean. The cottages are beautifully appointed, comfortable and very well maintained. We ate many meals at the hotel over the course of two weeks. The food, service and atmosphere were consistently exceptional.

There are beautiful beaches within a few kilometers of the hotel. Venture a little further and you will find more beautiful beaches and in Playa Guiones and Playa Carillo (our favorite). There are so many wonderful choices, your toughest decision will be deciding where to spend your day.

You will find your hosts, Rolf and Andreas, cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. They provided recommendations on what to see and do and gave us detailed instructions on how to navigate to the various towns. They obviously have a very genuine interest in ensuring their guests enjoy their stay at the hotel as well as all the unique and breathtaking sights Costa Rica has to offer.

We cannot recall a vacation that was as relaxing and peaceful as this one. It was the perfect way to re-charge our batteries after a long, cold Canadian winter. We are already talking about when we can return to Luna Azul and hoping we can take a few friends with us! Thank you Rolf, Andreas (and Fino) for making us feel so welcome and special during our stay. And thank you to your terrific and friendly staff (Roberto, your gardeners/chefs/housecleaners). It is the combined effort of everyone that makes Luna Azul a standout destination.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMR_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toerring, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

In the middle of Costa Rica's heavenly nature I found this spot where you can enjoy exquisite food on the wonderful patio overlooking the ocean and the well-tended gardens around the swimming pool. The two gentlemen who owns the place are perfectionists when it comes to using local produce in their restaurant and bringing it up to European standards of variety and surprise. The plentiful and elegant breakfast is the best start on a day of trips to the beach or reading and working on the fast internet. As a translator and author this was the perfect place for me to spend concentrated days in Guanacaste. The proprietors are most helpful and very, very knowledgeable.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 'Monkey Lodge', but all rooms are equally well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

For the third time our family has now visited Hotel Luna Azul at the OStional Beach in Costa Rica. Luna Acul is Paradise in Costa Rica. It is a small resort in the hills behind the coast with beautiful cottages with big verandas looking over the valley into the rain forest where the monkeys play and the hummingbirds eat from the the many beautiful flowers. The garden with the many tropical plants, the pool area facing sun down and the magic restaurant with fantastic mediterranian/costarican food is just the place to spend some relaxing days. The owners create an atmosphere, so you feel at home, they know so much abort the area, the wild life (especially the turtles at Ostional Beach) so you leave with a lot of information. We already plan our next visit!

Room Tip: All 6 cottages are perfectly situated. The rooms are big enough to host a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_Skov2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We ended our fabulous Costa Rican vacation at Luna Azul, a perfect way to end a wonderful trip. We loved the property, our room was amazing and romantic. The outdoor shower was the BEST! Our view was spectacular. The breakfast was so yummy and the dinners were delicious! Rolf and Andreas were incredibly friendly and helpful hosts. Thank you for everything! The information about the turtles was such a bonus and we are grateful we got to see them! We can not wait to come back and relax at Luna Azul. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_and_Jamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Straight from Switzerland, or straight from Heaven?  We think Rolf and Andreas are both!  Their private boutique resort is beautiful, tranquil, classy and more. As I sat down to review my latest visit to this little piece of paradise, I first read some of the other reviews and thought how wonderful it is that so many people have had the same great experiences that we have had at Luna Azul.  If you are considering a stay there, I highly encourage you to read the many excellent reviews posted here, as so many guests have described this place so accurately and so beautifully!  Reading these reviews took me right back there again.
 
Getting there is part of the adventure, and I personally think the bumpy road through the jungle is a fun part of the Costa Rican experience…..this famous bumpy road is in fact the main state coastal highway along the pacific coast of Costa Rica ("la costanera"), connecting the tourist towns of Tamarindo, Nosara and Samara.  Before you know it, you have arrived at paradise in the jungle!  The moment you walk into the open air lobby, you instantly relax and get a craving for a freshly made pina colada (at least I certainly did.)  The main building is beautiful and inviting, and the gorgeous grounds are impeccable. The private bungalows are absolutely wonderful. Nothing beats the view from your private deck, the leather rocking chairs are the best, and I absolutely love the outdoor shower.  Don’t worry, no one can see you showering but the monkeys and the birds and maybe some iguanas, and they really don’t care, as they are very busy doing their own thing!  Also don’t worry about the rustling you may hear in the trees and bushes.  It might be a monkey, it might be an iguana, it might even be one of the nice gardeners on site.  Either way, they are all just doing what they do, so just wave and say “Hola!”
 
Since we had stayed there before, we knew we were going to get a beautiful spacious bungalow with a gorgeous view, wonderful meals and impeccable service from our hosts and their wonderful staff….what we did not expect was the personalized touches that we received on my birthday.  The pretty flowers on my table at breakfast, the wonderful heart-shaped towel decoration on our bed that spelled out “Feliz cumple ano” (happy birthday) written with flower stems, (see photo)……the wonderful birthday dessert after an incredible gourmet meal, and “happy birthday” sung to me by everyone there at dinner in both English and Spanish!  It was so touching!  Spending my birthday at Luna Azul made it the best birthday I have ever had.   If you are celebrating something special, this is the place to be. 
  
There are so many things to do and see near the resort, and if you need help figuring out what to do or how to get there, just ask Rolf or Andreas.  They are incredibly knowledgeable, attentive and helpful, not to mention quite witty and charming!  We very much enjoyed our chats with them. We have stayed at other boutique resorts in Costa Rica but this one is hands down our absolute favorite.  We are already planning to return again this fall to see one of the famous turtle arribadas at the nearby Playa Ostional.  We cannot wait to see this natural phenomenon with our own eyes!  
 
My only “dislike” about this place was having to leave it….it was not easy...but we shall return!

 

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostional
3.3 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
245 reviews
4.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
7.0 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
815 reviews
16.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
706 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Property: Hotel Luna Azul
Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing