We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Johnston B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here with the hubby and friends over the bank holiday for a christening. Staff were lovely and kept us entertained in the evening and at breakfast time. Room was basic but clean and comfortable. Nice garden view.

Some of the reviews here are a bit harsh. Yes there are not many amenities etc... but for the price it is to be expected. We have paid triple the rate elsewhere for a room that is three times as bad.

Travelling on a budget, i would highly recommended you stay here. No WiFi in the room though. You can get WiFI in the bar and breakfast room but is a bit slow.

Room Tip: Room 7 lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucymoore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
27
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in Silverdale Inn for the bank holiday weekend with my partner and another couple and I have to say that our experience was terrible.
Our room had carpet on the bathroom and the carpet was clearly dirty. For the £55 that I've paid (whithout breakfast included) didn't really worth it.
The other couple's room smeled like someone have been smoking there.
I wouldn't stay there or advice it to anyone.
Very poor experience. To avoid.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank catarina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchs007, Reception at Silverdale Inn & Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

As you were aware our check-in times are between 1500 - 2230. This is stated on all online sales channels. You and you friends as well as your other acquaintances that were staying with us to attend the same function arrived between 1100 - 1200.

If you had given us prior notice we could of arranged something but bearing in mind our check-out time is until 1200 hardly any of our bedrooms had been cleaned.

You hastily mentioned that you needed your room to get changed before your function. We informed you that is was not ready but we would try our utmost to get the room ready as soon as possible. You then stated that as long as we quickly change the bedding, you were happy to have immediate access to your room even though it had not been cleaned.

Reluctantly we obliged as you were forceful and now you leave a negative review?! We were going to clean and re-strip your bedroom after you had left for the function yet you informed us that you do not want anyone to enter your room during your stay. I do not know what you expected from insisting on staying in a room that had not been cleaned, and refusing us entry to clean your room.

In regards to your other comments about the rooms, we have a strict non-smoking policy in place which is adhered to. Some guests ignore this, rarely but it does happen. If it does occur the room is blocked of until it has been thoroughly cleaned and the smell eradicated.

£55.00 is incredibly reasonable for what we offer. There are a number of other hotels within a 15 mile area that charge almost double yet are not even en-suite. We are priced accordingly to the service provided and are good value. Good time to point out to possible bookers that if you book directly with ourselves, you can save around 15%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were left without somewhere to stay on very short notice halfway through our holiday in Wales, and this was the only thing available, so I am glad we found them but if you have other options I'd look elsewhere. We are very seasoned world travelers who have encountered every variety of accommodation, and dated, quirky rooms are nothing new but I do need to feel that the room is clean. These were not, at all. Dusty, grimy, and the kind of carpet you do not want to step on with bare feet. Cigarette burns on the duvets, etc. Beds were very uncomfortable as well. Wifi in lodge only and glacially slow, to the point that we usually just gave up after half an hour of trying to check emails. There are so many other options nearby, don't get stuck here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80diapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchs007, Manager at Silverdale Inn & Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and i am glad that we could give you accommodation at a time when you were stranded.

I apologise that you thought that our rooms were not clean. The fully trained housekeeping staff have a strict cleaning schedule that is adhered to and enforced. All work is double checked.

It is frustrating that you did not raise any concerns with us at the time of your stay. We bend over backwards to resolve any issues but this is not possible if the problems are not known about until a lovely review pops up on this site.

All of your apparent issues would of been resolved quickly and efficiently if we had known about them. If deemed to be a fault of our own you would of received a refund or at the least a percentage of your bill / complimentary food and drinks / alternative room offered.

I do sincerely apologise if the room was as you described yet i have no way of knowing if it was at this time. The housekeepers have been informed about your concerns and have insisted that it was not the case yet they are going to take extra care in the future, just incase.

Future guests please raise any concerns at the time they occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rooms are quite basic but very clean, lovely view of the garden. Breakfast waiter made our stay he was so funny.

Rooms are a little dated but we find it more quirky which is fine. For the price you cant go wrong. Couldnt check in till 3pm which was a let down. Bar closed at 11pm on friday which is a bit early.

Rooms are cheaper if you call the hotel compared to booking.com.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidAdvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchs007, Manager at Silverdale Inn & Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and i am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

We get a lot of positive remarks about Werner, the gentleman who served you at breakfast time. He is a character and is an absolute pleasure to work with!

I appreciate that you find the rooms dated. Majority have been softly refurbished, there are a few left to do. We are planning a complete overhaul of the bedrooms in the near future. We do price accordingly and i am happy that you agree.

Our bar does close at 11pm on Friday. We will stay open later on the weekend when we are very busy.

Thank you once again for booking and i look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Family (14 of us including 5 children)returned to Silverdale 2 1/2 months after first visit because it's just a great place to stay. This is great accommodation for families or anyone wanting a place to stay that's within easy reach of many good places to visit. Friendly with excellent service, rooms are chalet style with good parking directly outside each one. Clean with all facilities you would expect, kettle, tea/coffee etc. Food very good using local produce home cooked. Rooms are slightly dated but value for money this can be overlooked. The bed linen has definitely seen better days, but it's clean so despite this and the great time we had with friendly service I feel it deserves an excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchs007, Manager at Silverdale Inn & Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time out of your day to leave us a review.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are a truly lovely family and it is always a pleasure to have guests such as yourselves staying. It really is the reason why i enjoy this industry.

Thank you for your kind words about the facilities. I have also taken note about the bed linen and have started to order in new sets of bedding including covers, pillows and duvets.

I appreciate that you feel that some of the rooms are dated and am glad that you agree that we are priced accordingly. I firmly believe that you should get what you pay for and that is what we aim to achieve. We offer some of the best rates for what we offer in the county. As long as you book direct of course.

We are also planning an overhaul for all of the bedrooms in the near future.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Reminds the motels in the US even though the furniture is classic and old fashion.
If you are looking for cleanliness this is not the place to stay.
You better bring along with you your soap, shampoo and what-have-you since none is provided (I had to beg for it in order to get some soap for the shower...).
Well over an hour to wait until you are served at dinner time...
Breakfast served by very friendly couple but limited in choice and quantity.

Room Tip: Try to find another place....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchs007, Reception at Silverdale Inn & Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to leave us a review.

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as good as it should of been.

Cleanliness is our number one priority and the housekeepers are well trained and adhere to a strict cleaning schedule which is inspected. If you did not feel that this was the case you should of mentioned it at the time of your stay and we would of done our utmost to rectify the problems.

We provide soap in all of our bedrooms. The housekeepers may of made an honest mistake and forgot to provide you with soap in your room but you did not beg for it. You asked at reception for soap and it was provided along with an apology. An ongoing survey states that 95% of our guests bring their own toiletries and would rather we do not provide shampoo in order to keep the room prices as low as possible. If caught short we can always arrange to provide you with necessary items.

The evening that you dined with us was a very busy one. We were fully booked but agreed to serve you and you were also informed that there would be a wait. This should be expected in a busy restaurant and is the same all over the world in every establishment. We give priority to guests who book which is why people book in the first place, surely this is understandable? The wait was not an hour maybe 30 - 40 minutes.

Our breakfast consists of a variety of tea, coffee and orange juice. Wide array of cereals along with toast and jams. Topped off with a cooked breakfast of your choosing. We offer a traditional full English breakfast as this is the most popular but you are able to request any variation or most British breakfast staples when speaking to your server. This is not only a good variety yet also excellent value at only £7.50.

Thank you again for staying and for the helpful room tip that you provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar area was quite nice and the food was home cooked pub food that was pretty good too.

The overall layout is individual lodges rather than rooms and reminds me a bit of a holiday village. The rooms have clearly seen little decor attention in a long time, the carpets, curtains, furniture and bathroom were all quite dated and well worn. Tea and coffee is provided, there is also a TV in the room but no shampoo was provided, and the towels were very small.

I would have been happy to overlook the poor decor if the rooms had been clean. My room had cobwebs all over it, dust on the shelves, toothpaste on the bathroom windowsil, and left over plastic bags in the bedroom drawers. On top of this my bathroom light was not working. I spoke to the staff who offered me another room on my second night, at first glance this looked better but was just as dirty with even more cobwebs than my previous room!

I have stayed in many hotels in the area and there are much nicer, cleaner places in the surrounding area for the same price.

The only redeeming features are the staff, food and bar otherwise this place feels like it has seen much better days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchs007, Manager at Silverdale Inn & Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review.

I apologise for your poor experience with us and have passed on your comments to all of the relevant staff members.

Our housekeepers are well trained and follow a strict cleaning schedule which is inspected. Unfortunately i was not on shift when you stayed and am sorry that your complaint was not handled in a better manner.

The problems you encountered are certainly incredibly rare and i am shocked to hear about the details in your review. I can assure you that the cleanliness of the rooms are up to standard and certainly not how you describe.

Thank you for your kinds words about the restaurant and our cuisine. We highly value our staff members and have a friendly team who are always a pleasure to be around.

Our room prices for the quality are some of the best in Pembrokeshire. I assume you booked via an online agent, we have to mark up our prices drastically to account for commission charges. This may be why you feel that there are better places to stay for the same price.

Always try and book direct with ourselves for the best possible rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
6.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.2 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 6 in Haverfordwest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverdale Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverdale Inn & Lodge

Property: Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Address: Vine Road, Johnston, Haverfordwest SA62 3NZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Johnston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverdale Inn & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverdale Inn & Lodge is a family run establishment set in the heart of Pembrokeshire. Featuring 21 fully en-suite bedrooms, large grounds and ample private parking. We also have a newly refurbished restaurant serving exceptional, home-made, modern british cuisine to the public and hotel guests alike! We have also been included in the 2013 Good Food Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Silverdale Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverdale Inn & Lodge Johnston, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing