We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay”

Wern Ganol Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wern Ganol Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Nelson B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Wern Ganol is the ideal guesthouse for anyone wishing to explore South Wales; there are many interesting places to visit in the vicinity, including the Big Tip Mining Museum, St Fagan's National History Museum and, of course, the city of Cardiff. Andrew and Carolyn are excellent hosts, and provided us with information about the area whenever we needed it, as well as allowing us to use their fridge to store our lunches! Our room was spacious and clean, with a good sized shower room plus a hospitality tray which was topped up regularly. The breakfasts were delicious (a variety of choice provided) and, despite the fact that the guesthouse is near a main road, we experienced absolutely no noise from passing traffic. Off road parking is provided, as is the use of wi-fi. There is also a super pub virtually opposite, which serves very good food at a most reasonable price, and has beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed our stay there enormously. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
15
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having stayed here before we were delighted to be able to visit Wern Ganol again. We will be there next time we visit our relatives in Wales. We were able to visit the beautiful Gower from here and Caerphilly is always worth a visit, and the castell should not be missed!

Room Tip: they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at Wern Ganol, and enjoyed out stay. We had a double and a single room, and while compact, both were really nicely decorated with contemporary colours and finishing touches. The beds were very comfortable too.

The full Welsh breakfast was probably the best we've had in a b and b anywhere, and the hosts friendly and helpful about the local area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_F_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just spent two nights at Wern Ganol, it was a return visit. Wern Ganol is a superb bed and breakfast in every way. Andrew and Carolyn are the perfect hosts and their home the perfect bed and breakfast. Rooms are spotlessly clean, all the equipment is 'up to the minute', beds comfy, good hospitality tray, and the breakfast second to none. We always use Wern Ganol when we are visiting relations in the valleys, but it is ideally placed for whatever your reason to be in South Wales! We will be back again soon.
L & M Carter, Sheffield

Room Tip: Room 6 has a lovely view of the valleys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My mum and i stayed in this lovely guest house over weekend, she had stayed here 20 yrs ago and the character and charm of the place hadnt changed one bit!.It was delightful, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!!
Would definately recommend so friendly with a warm welcome see you again sometime but shant wait 20yrs!

Sandra&Christine

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

WOW, What a lovely place! Came across this B and B on the internet we booked in for a two night stay to attend a friends wedding, after travelling 3 and 1/2 hours we were given a warm welcome! Taken to our room which was not only spotlessly clean but, had superb views over the valleys. The breakfast was excellent too, freshly cooked to order.

This really is a fabulous place and could show some of the top hotels a thing or two!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muppet09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I recently stayed at this guest house and found it to be very clean, very comfortable and received a warm welcome when I arrived. I payed £45 for 1 night in a single room and this also included breakfast. The breakfast menu was varied and included options for a full cooked breakfast, cereals, toast and lots of other alternatives, I had scrambled egg on toast which was very good indeed.
I would definitely stay at Wern Ganol again and would also recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson
1.6 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
403 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gellihaf House B&B
Gellihaf House B&B
#1 of 6 in Blackwood
135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Brewers Lodge
Brewers Lodge
#4 of 6 in Blackwood
30 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blueberry Inn
Blueberry Inn
#2 of 3 in Pontypridd
171 reviews
4.5 mi away
Central House Guest House
Central House Guest House
#2 of 5 in Pontypridd
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wern Ganol Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wern Ganol Guest House

Property: Wern Ganol Guest House
Address: Wern Ganol Guest House Caerphilly Road, Nelson CF46 6PS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wern Ganol Provides Accommodation within Caerphilly, South Wales. Set in its own grounds in the heart of the Welsh valleys and enjoying panoramic views of open countryside. Centrally located near Caerphilly, Pontypridd, Merthyr Tydfil, Cardiff and the Brecon Beacons, Wern Ganol is an ideal location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wern Ganol Guest House Nelson, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing